We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in a Staybridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“First Time in a Staybridge”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

To date I have only used Candlewood Suites in the IHG brands.
We loved having a pool with hot tub.
Another plus is hot breakfast in the morning.
We stayed in a king suite.
Design of the room is very versatile. Table with chairs in kitchen.
Living room with fold out couch and chair with flat screen tv.
A very roomy king bedroom with vanity outside of bathroom and a flat screen tv.
Plenty of electrical outlets throughout room.
Great WiFi!
Staff is wonderful!
Kendall, Brittany, Christine and John at the front desk are professional and warm. They understand your needs.
Staying here on Labor Day weekend the breakfast staff was over worked but managed to keep up! Kudos to the breakfast staff.
The only thing we saw that needed attention was the landscaping in the courtyard. Trees and bushes were overgrown and in need of trimming and weeding . I hope management reads this and gets the land scraping done. It will have a huge impact on feeling of the hotel.
I will stay here on a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powerplant66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeSuitesKzoo, Manager at Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Staybridge Suites in Kalamazoo, MI. We are thrilled that your very first stay at a Staybridge Suites was here in Kalamazoo. We, too, love the feel of the hotel; from the spacious livingroom in our suites, to the indoor pool and hot tub, to the full hot buffet breakfast each morning! We love our stay too and will be certain to pass your positive comments along to them. We look forward to seeing you at the Staybridge Suites the next time you visit Kalamazoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    57
    14
    13
    14
See reviews for
78
39
19
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The staff were pleasant and efficient, the room clean and very comfortable. A very nice small breakfast in the morning. Even free popcorn provided for you! I found it comparable if not superior to many 'luxury' hotels I've stayed at. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick Z, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
196 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I'm in Kzoo for 4-5 weeks of every year, and this is the only place that I stay! The customer service is great, the rooms are clean AND spacious, and there are reasonable food options within a reasonable distance from the hotel (including a supermarket). I generally like to buy groceries and cook in my room to save money and have healthier options for food (most of the food places in area are fast food), but when I want to cheat, the fast food options are definitely there! If you travel closer to the business/downtown district of Kzoo (Westnedge Ave), you'll find more restaurants & shopping options. Not the best hotel for accessibility to restaurants and shopping, but definitely the most comfortable option for extended stays.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casheta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie B, Manager at Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for choosing the Staybridge Suites in Kalamzoo, MI. We love the fact that you had a great stay with us! We love to be your home away from home and are glad that you have chosen to stay with us. I will be sharing your experience with our staff!
We are looking forward to the next time you are in Kalamazoo and stay here at the Staybridge Suites. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Whenever we have to go out of town on a two week job assignment, we prefer to stay at an extended stay or suite hotel because it is more comfortable for two people to have more living space than is available in regular hotel room. The added features of complimentary hot breakfast every morning and a light dinner included three week nights made the Staybridge Suites an excellent choice because it saved us time each work day especially when we had to start the day very early and do "homework" in the evening. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, and took care of a few special service requests immediately and cheerfully. The rooms, dining area, public areas,indoor pool and hot tub are all very clean and well maintained. I was pleased to find an in house lending library when I forgot to bring a book from home. Also, just next door are a supermarket and Gallagher's Eatery and Pub as well as some fast food venues. We will always select the Staybridge Suites whenever we return to work in or visit Kalamazoo.

Room Tip: We worried that our room, facing the street and a McDonald's drive up order area, would be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABLePlymouth_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraser, mi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My son plays travel baseball so we have stayed at a lot of motels and hotels but for the money I have never had a more pleasant stay than with Staybridge Suites in Kalamazoo. There were more amenities than any other chain for less than you would pay for at most of the others, My family and I were very comfortable and the staff were very willing to do whatever it took to make it that way. I would recommend this place to anyone and I will look for it in the future Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lskparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
345 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Still seems a little expensive. Hotel is fairly new and decorated beautifully. We arrived at 1am and checked out at 5:30am, so it was a short visit. It was quiet and the beds were comfortable. Even though the room was large, I didn't care for the layout. We were traveling with our teenage son and he likes some privacy. It was one big room. There is no partial wall separating the sleeping area from from the sleep sofa, like many other chains. The only plus for this hotel is a full kitchen. That's right, it even had a two-burner stove and a 3/4-sized refrigerator. How many people want this?!! Breakfast doesn't start until 7:30. I asked if any fruit or pastries were available earlier, but was told there wasn't anything, other than coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamaralea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Spent 4 nights at the Staybridge Suites while visiting family in Kalamazoo. The suite (top floor) was huge, with a large living room/dining room/kitchenette (approx. 18x18), a big bedroom with a king size bed, a nice vanity area, good size closet and a non-descript bathroom. The kitchenette was fully stocked (frig, microwave, dishwasher, pots, pans, plates, etc. and they even included a potholder). The suite was clean and tastefully furnished. The front room had a large, round dining/conference table and plenty of seating. The Wi-Fi worked great and they appear to even change to password periodically. Plenty of spaces to set up a laptop and work.

The continental breakfast was the best complimentary continental breakfast I have encountered in the last few years (and I've seen a lot of them) with real oatmeal (not instant packets), fruit, eggs (scrambled and hard boiled), sausages, ham or bacon (varied each day), yogurt, breads, waffle maker, muffins, etc. The coffee (and I'm a Decaf drinker) was very good. Everything was fresh and the staff did a good job refilling the serving trays. They also serve a complimentary evening meal Tues, Wed, and Thurs; of which I did not partake.

The atmosphere was generally low-key. Most of the other guests appeared to be business travelers and the few families had well-behaved young children. The staff were reserved, but friendly enough and professional. Of note, the property offers limited housekeeping; so if you bring breakfast to your room, expect to take your dirty dishes back to the communal dining area. If staying 7 nights or less housekeeping consists of clean towels, bed making and trash out. Longer stays get a thorough cleaning once a week. Guest laundry (also complimentary, just bring or buy HE detergent from the on-site store) was clean and all machines in good working order. The fitness room (limited, but ok) connects to the laundry so I was able get some time on the elliptical while my clothes washed. There's a courtyard patio area and an indoor pool and spa.

Overall, the place is a little pricey for Kalamazoo, but it was worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor to avoid the sound of guests above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdtravelertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
3.3 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
5.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo

Property: Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Address: 2001 Seneca Ln, Kalamazoo, MI 49008-1444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#8 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites hotel in Kalamazoo, Michigan is the perfect place to work or relax while in Kalamazoo. Whether you are here because of sales, training, relocation or leisure, our extended stay hotel will satisfy all your needs. Our 95 room all suite hotel consists of 3 distinct room types: choose from our studio suite, 1 bedroom suite, or our fabulous two bedroom, two bath suite. All suites feature flat screen TVs with DVD players, a full pullout sofa, as well as a full kitchen. Each room includes a hot breakfast buffet , 24-hour business center, workout facility, and Bridgemart convenience store, free WiFi, complimentary guest laundry, indoor pool and hot tub, as well as an outdoor courtyard with gas grills and patio tables for grilling out and socializing. We also host an evening Sundowner Reception 3 nights a week where we serve a light dinner. If you are looking for a change of pace, pick up your phone and dial direct to Gallagher's by pushing your pre-programmed button and let them deliver dinner to your room. We are conveniently located close to I-94 and US 131 for easy access on or off the highway. Kalamazoo is a great city half way between Detroit and Chicago. We are home to many large corporations such as Pfizer, Dana Corp, Eaton, and Stryker. We are less than 3 miles from Western Michigan University and Kalamazoo College. Priority Club member? Bring your points we'll give you more. Enjoy all the Comforts of Home when you choose Staybridge Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing