We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay! Way to go Marriott!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We used our Marriott points for a spontaneous roadtrip with our 2 kids. We usually stay at a Residence Inn however, with booking last minute and using our points this was available. We have always had wonderful experiences with Marriott and this trip was no different. Super clean hotel, awesome staff. The pull out sofa bed was really comfortable, the best we have seen yet in a hotel! The bathroom was small in comparision to the very large suite. Although we used reward points...this hotel would of been a steal at the rates it was offered. Location was great only 35 minutes from South Haven. Can't wait to plan our trip back!

Room Tip: If you are a Marriott rewards member they treat you like royalty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puremichiganbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

This was our first TownePlace experience and it was a decent one. The only drawback was that the hideaway bed in our room was in pretty bad shape and I had to take the mattress out in order to sleep on the floor. If we were staying in the area for a long period of time we'd definitely consider it again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roobthetubeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Rooms were huge even for Towneplace Suites. Interent was nice speed. Checkin staff was propmt and helpful. Solid choice. Hotel did not excel but was not presented with the opportunity to do so.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topresorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We stayed at the TownePlace Suites for one night. The hotel was relatively new, kept clean, and had a very courteous and prompt staff. This is a different experience than a Residence Inn, however it was about the same price. This TownePlace Suites hotel did not really have a lobby, only a small desk and an area with snacks for purchase. The breakfast area was very small and did not offer hot food (as was explained on the website). Our room had a hide-a-bed that had broken support pieces which we discovered when we got back to the hotel late at night. The heating/AC unit in the bedroom blew cold air and we had to turn it off in the middle of a chilly night. When we returned from the swimming pool (which was clean and well stocked with towels), our key card would not work in the door. A replacement key card did not work either. After that, a courteous staff member worked hard for 45 minutes to replace the batteries in, and reprogram the lock. This was an inconvenience, but we appreciated how hard this lady worked to resolve our problem.

Overall, our stay was fine, I wrote a review at the request of Marriott, and got a phone call from the manager the next day. He apologized profusely and refunded our entire stay!

If coming back to Kalamazoo, we would use the TownePlace Suites again. All things considered, the main area for improvement this hotel has is the price. It is in the range of a Residence Inn but does not offer the same amenities.

I would recommend if you stay here, to call the hotel directly, and ask them to ensure the functionality of the hide-a-bed, heating/AC, and other items in the room, such as the refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmigodelNorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We were very pleased with our room at TownePlace Suites. It was great having a full size table and kitchen area. Beds were very comfortable and the staff friendly. We appreciated the queen beds and the room was quite spacious except for the bathroom. The sink/vanity area is very small and the bathroom door swings open into the vanity area - it's crowded. The breakfast options are limited and the breakfast area small, but it was sufficient. We got a decent price through Priceline on TripAdvisor. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smoo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Based on the fact that this property was a Marriot property I was a little leery about going in the first place, but decided that the reviews on line warranted giving the place a chance.

First the positives: Easy to find, convenient location, located right off the interstate, and within walking distance of a cracker barrel which is always a positive when traveling with kids. The staff was friendly on check-in. As the evening went on the staff was especially friendly in interacting with myself and especially with my children, treating them well and making them feel special. The suite was exceptionally large and very clean. We asked for a crib and got one quickly, although the clerk tried to tell me that my two kids could easily share the hide-a-bed in the couch. We had to go back and ask again for bedding for the crib. The separate bedroom for the wife and I was a plus and one of the reasons we chose this hotel.

Second: The mixed reviews. The swimming pool was convenient and just the right size for my family. One of the reasons we choose this hotel was the pool. When we entered the pool area the room temperature was just right, warm, but not hot or humid. The pool water temperature was too low however, and shortened our time in the pool considerably.

The negatives: 1 - No wireless internet in the room. There was wired internet, but it was located in the same room where the children would be sleeping and not in the bedroom. 2- Meager breakfast selection at best. Pre-boxed cereals, some bread and bagels. 3 - Despite traveling with two small children we were given a handicap accessible room, with no tub, but rather a walk in shower which led to water all over the floor and a slippery/dangerous environment for children. 4 - The rooms themselves are definitely not soundproof and we had to try and go to sleep while listening to the people in the room next to us carry on their late night conversation, and the people above us walk back and forth across the floor (we had requested a high floor but were not accomodated). 5 - I took the pre-packaged cereals back to our rom and took a spoon out of the drawer in the room to eat with and found as I put it in my mouth that the edges of the spoon were sharp, almost to the point of being serrated. I pulled out a second spoon and it had the same problem.

All in all not worth the huge amount of money it cost, and gets a 3 in my rating system. I rate hotels as follows:

5: Great experience, no issues,excellent staff, everything as advertised and promised, price and quality correspond to expectations and experience. Definite recommendation.
4: Good experience, some issues possible, safe, clean, pretty much as advertised and promised, price and quality correspond to expectations and experience. Would recommend
3: Average experience, may or may not recommend, many issues, price and quality not in line with expectations and experience.
2: Below average. unresolved issues, rude staff, disregard of guess experience, unsafe, unclean, not worth the price paid.
1: Unacceptable. Safety, security issues, poor staffing, not worth considering.

I stay in a number of properties each year, and rely on these reviews when I travel and realized I needed to give back. Hope this review helps someone.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duendeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We got the largest suite for $165/night including continental breakfast. The room was modern and clean with colorful design. Beds were comfy with nice, high-end bedding. It had a microwave, dw, fridge, stove, dishes etc. We put the kids to bed and closed the door and watched TV, which was marvelous! Small but totally functional pool for the kids.

Only thing I'd criticize is that we called down and asked for a crib (we should've reserved it in advance, I know) and they never followed up with us. We made due with a toddler in a big bed and it wasn't a crisis. Perhaps they were understaffed for a busy weekend, as the front desk wasn't always manned.

We will seek out TownePlace Suites in the future. Great value.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
6.2 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
3.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
7.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo

Address: 5683 S 9th St, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-4424
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range: £74 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott offers extended stay travelers a comfortable home away from home, with features like full stainless kitchens, seperate bedrooms, 24 hour exercise facilities , 24 hour convenience mart, the Marriott Bed package, indoor heated pool, and deluxe continental breakfast. We are right on interstate 1-94 at exit 72 on the west side of Kalamazoo and recently opened 10/07. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing