We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"best" for the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2009

The hotel is pretty new, but the floors and wall are SOOO thin that you can hear everything going on around you. (the floors are wood, so its even worse!)

The (free) breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. I've stayed in "downtown" Kallamazoo (Radisson) which was much nicer. But if you want to stay outside of town, it is probably your best bet.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatsDynasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 164 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

We like to stay in Marriott properties and this is our third stay in six months at this motel. The motel is clean, staff is friendly and professional. Breakfast is good and includes make your own waffles.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoliteIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We travel to Kalamazoo every Christmas for our family gathering. In the past we've stayed at the Hampton Inn on the other side of I-94 (same exit) and last year at the Radisson downtown. The Marriott had the cheapest rates this year, so we thought we'd give it a try.

The public areas are not much to speak of, brightly colored with plastic tables, in ways reminiscent of a fast food restaurant. The rooms, however, are very nice. There is a full kitchen with utensils, a flat screen TV, and a decent bathroom. Free wireless internet access. The hotel was very quiet, with elevators at both ends of each floor.

The not so good included uncomfortable beds with un-ironed and thus scratchy sheets; no rubber bath mat for the tub (and it was quite slippery), and most annoying, the free continental breakfast that ends at 9 am sharp. One morning we got down there at 8:30 so it was no problem, but the second morning we missed out -- everything was packed up by 9:05 am. There was a sign showing the hours, but this is the first hotel I can remember that doesn't serve breakfast (free, continental, full, etc.) until 10 am.

All in all, it's a decent place. Room is much better than the Hampton Inn and location is more convenient than the Radisson. We'd probably stay again if the price were right.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Spacrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2008

We reserved a room in this hotel after reading the TripAdvisor reviews. The reviews say it all. This is a fairly new hotel that is very bright and contemporary. We enjoyed the full kitchen and the real table with four chairs to eat a meal. The pool is great but we would have also liked a hot tub. I was surprised that a hotel this new has older styled televisions instead of flat panel TVs in the rooms. Over all a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank The_Madison_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

My husband and I stayed at the TownePlace Suites in Kalamazoo on July 11 while on a visit to friends in Ann Arbor. We had a 2 room suite with 2 queen beds. The suite was bright and beautiful and contemporary - very clean and comfortable. We agreed that these were the most comfortable hotel beds we'd experienced. The most disappointing part of the stay at the hotel was that we were only there for 1 night! The size of the room and the functionality of the design would make for a wonderful long-term stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KDRaknm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

My 7 year old daughter and I stayed here last week. The hotel is only 8 months old and it was fun to stay in a place so new and fresh. The decor is very contemporary, with bright colors and interesting art work. Our room had two queen beds that were exceptionally comfortable - plenty of plumpy pillows and down comforters. An arm chair with a reading light in the corner. Average TV that swivels so that my daughter can watch cartoons while she eats her Easy Mac at the dining table - nice sized table with 4 chairs. Kitchen is really nice, with 3/4 size frig, sink, two burner stove, oven, and microwave. Cabinets stocked with basics. Coffee maker and coffee/tea basket.

The shower/toilet are separated from the sink/vanity by a door - handy with more than one person getting ready in the morning. The TV does not have a very extensive selection of channels - I was hoping for a little HGTV or something, but no such luck.

Plenty of closet space in the room.

The entry door is very heavy and hard to open with suitcases in hand!

The lobby area is nice, with a little shop for food/snacks/other needed items available for purchase. Two computers available for checking e mail, googling, etc. Front desk staff nice and friendly.

Breakfast in the morning - continental with a waffle maker. Pretty standard, yogurt, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, mini muffins, bread/english muffins to toast, juice, milk. Good coffee. Large TV in breakfast room. Nice brick patio outside front lobby with tables/chairs for those who wish to sit outside.

Nice surrounding area. A bit away from the other commercial businesses nearby, a bit more quiet. There are a few restaurants within a mile or so: Culvers, Wendy's, McD's. Gas station nearby. There is a large park with a playground a mile or so away from the hotel right on 9th street.

Hotel was always quiet, no problems with noise.

Small but nice, clean pool. Reasonable temperature. One of the ONLY hotels I've ever gone to that pool temperature has been comfortable. Pool has three steps that span the width of the pool; nice for younger kids to get comfortable with the depth. Opposite end of "deep" end (only 4'3'') also has a "sitting" step - comfy for grown-ups to lounge on. Nice and comfy pool chairs and tables; plenty of towels. Clean. Nicely taken care of. Elevators near pool mean we didn't have to walk through the lobby dripping wet.

Overall, a very nice experience for a 5 night stay!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank louiebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
6.2 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
3.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
7.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
7.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo

Address: 5683 S 9th St, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-4424
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range: £72 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott offers extended stay travelers a comfortable home away from home, with features like full stainless kitchens, seperate bedrooms, 24 hour exercise facilities , 24 hour convenience mart, the Marriott Bed package, indoor heated pool, and deluxe continental breakfast. We are right on interstate 1-94 at exit 72 on the west side of Kalamazoo and recently opened 10/07. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing