We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Basic - remodeling.”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Buffalo, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and Basic - remodeling.”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Breakfast was good and the room was clean. Front desk staff at check in was wonderful however - there was a non-responsive person Mid-Shift. Upon discussion with the manager my issue was resolved. As always better to bring to managements attention for resolution.

Wi-Fi in the rooms seems to need to be re-set often but it always worked in the lobby area. Close to several restaurants.

I always appreciate hotels that are dog friendly and this one certainly was. As a bonus in the pool area was a lift for people with disabilities to access the pool. I didn't need it but it looked to be in order.

Room Tip: Since they are working on remodeling - if some specific amenity is important to you - (hot tub for e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmcarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    38
    27
    31
    28
See reviews for
47
27
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We always choose to stay at BW hotels and until recently we had only experienced a few minor issues with noise. Our latest visit will be our final.

The staff is unprofessional. They are loud. Rude. They should not be in customer service. Our room was missing shampoo and conditioner and several of the other complimentary items.

The pool and hot tub were extremely dirty and filthy. They advertise amenities that are not even available for use.

This hotel is not the place to go if you are looking for leisure. It's just entirely to loud. And it's rigmarole the staff.

The beds are soft and the pillows are great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macygray7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauconda, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

So for us, we needed a place to stay during our soccer tournament. If your looking for just a bed to sleep in, that's really all this hotel is good for. The rooms were ok. I think a good scrubbing would freshen the place up. It's smelled of body odor when we first arrived. The meek air conditioning unit helped to slightly freshen the place after a few hours. The pool area was dirty. Our kids wouldn't even swim (had we let them). That's how obvious it was. The sign on the door said "sap jets" were broke. Never heard of those before. When we saw the spa had visible brown dirty muck resting at the bottom, we realized it was a typo on the sign. Check your spelling please! Plus, if the spa was broke (and filthy), then put the cover on or drain it. The fact that it's dirty doesn't help the overall feel of the place. Also, the pool surface had things floating on it. The color of the pool almost looked more greenish pond like than bluish pool color. I also thought it unusual that our sold out hotel had no one in the pool area at 8pm. The girls at the front desk were nice and helpful. The halls were hot. The wi-fi isn't working on either iPhone or the iPod or the iPad or the nook. No mini fridge. There is a microwave in the room and ice machine in hallway. I'm curious as to what the breakfast will be like in the morning. Overall, I would choose another place to stay. We did get a great rate, so maybe that is what we get for the price. If we had paid the regular rate if $139, I would have been even more disappointed. When we come again next year, we will choose a higher rated hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladybug25614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I have stayed here for corporate for years. I used to enjoy my stay and even looked forward to it. Something however has changed with this place in the last year or so. Most noticable with the staff. Their attitudes are just rotten and they clearly don't strive for customer service. The breakfast has a great selection but it isn't cooked right so everything tastes old and hard. The rooms are going down. The wallpaper is bad and has strange patchwork throughout. Little things in the room are either broken, missing or oddly fixed. There is almost no vending. This place has to be under new owners or management because it wasn't always this way. If you dare express concerns they will shift you to the next person who will ultimately not take care of it anyway. I think the staff would rather you don't stay here so they don't have to do anything! Luckily corporate has decided to switch chains to stay in!!! If this is Best Westen's new standard, I couldn't be more disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgleske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

When you walk in it appears to be wonderful. The lobby has a beautiful staircase a nice "living room" type spot with a big tv, a computer with internet access and a nice little eating area. The level above the beautiful staircase looked new and had cool furniture. There was a girl with a bandana on and a drill in her hand ( Yes I said girl) that stopped what she was doing to apologize for the remodeling process and help me carry my luggage and draw with my kids while I checked in! The front desk girl was happy to be there it seemed and very helpful. Unfortunately that's about where it ends.The doors that are supposed to be secure by key entry are propped open at all hours for some reason.. It looked as if they were busy remodeling rooms but the room I was in was gross. The floor felt sticky, I didn't even want to put my feet on it without shoes. The toilet didn't flush right, the toilet paper holder kept falling off. You could see where some things had been damaged and someone tried to fix it but it was awful. A maintenance man knocked on my door twice to see if someone was smoking pot or if we knew if someone around there was.When we assured him we were not he treated us as if he was CSI. I felt so unwelcome and insulted. The next morning the cleaners knocked a couple times to see if we were still there. Must have been in a hurry. Hot tub wasn't working and I was really looking forward to it. Maybe when the remods are done this hotel will be worth it but as it stands now it is not. Thank you to the girls mentioned above but the rest has me never wanting to visit this place again.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Taryne running the front desk on my arrival was wonderful. Michelle taking the night shift also wonderful.
Rooms are ok. Much older building.
WiFi constantly kept going out. Front desk had to keep resetting. Owners need to provide reliable WiFi!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powerplant66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently on a drive from MN to our home in Canada. We only spent one night, but we were pleased with the hotel. The staff was very welcoming to us as well as to our Sheltie dog. (for a $15 fee). The room was reasonable for the price, everything worked and the beds were pretty comfortable. We had no shampoo in our room, but this was probably a small oversight by the person who cleaned the room. Nothing to get upset about. The breakfast was more complete than many we have had at other hotels in this price range. There are no good restaurants nearby, but we drove a few miles down the road and found a steakhouse where we had dinner. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
#18 of 31 in Kalamazoo
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
#21 of 31 in Kalamazoo
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 3640 E Cork St, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-4645 (Formerly Best Hospitality Inn Kalamazoo)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hospitality Hotel Kalamazoo
Best Western Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing