We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Reviewed 28 July 2013

we really had great stay at best western, kids love the pool.breakfast was really gud, many variety.over all very gud stay.nice place.staff was very help full. at the time of check inn lots of info was given about town and place where you can visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mumtaz280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Very good accommodations, close to venue with lots of dinning options. The hot tub was very relaxing after a full day of lacrosse. Only minor drawback was due to high occupancy we were forced to take a higher priced room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Everett I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights, and the hotel was a big disappointment. When we entered the room, the room was freezing because someone had left the air conditioner on the max cold setting. The TV remote was in a cloth bag which had "fresh remote" printed on the bag. The bag itself was soiled. The TV remote was not clean and did not work - all of the functions worked except the channel up/down buttons and the number keypad. In order to change the channels, we had to change them manually. The complimentary breakfast was terrible! The food was not well stocked, and they were out of a lot of the food items. The milk for the cereal was left out and was at room temperature. The cream cheese for the bagels was frozen solid (both mornings we were there). Tables and the breakfast counter were not wiped off. There was cereal scattered across the counter and the floor. The only redeeming factor was that the beds were very comfortable - not too hard nor soft. The next time we're in town we will go out of our way to stay somewhere else. At $125 per night, it was a rip off!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Breakfast was good and the room was clean. Front desk staff at check in was wonderful however - there was a non-responsive person Mid-Shift. Upon discussion with the manager my issue was resolved. As always better to bring to managements attention for resolution.

Wi-Fi in the rooms seems to need to be re-set often but it always worked in the lobby area. Close to several restaurants.

I always appreciate hotels that are dog friendly and this one certainly was. As a bonus in the pool area was a lift for people with disabilities to access the pool. I didn't need it but it looked to be in order.

Room Tip: Since they are working on remodeling - if some specific amenity is important to you - (hot tub for e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmcarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We always choose to stay at BW hotels and until recently we had only experienced a few minor issues with noise. Our latest visit will be our final.

The staff is unprofessional. They are loud. Rude. They should not be in customer service. Our room was missing shampoo and conditioner and several of the other complimentary items.

The pool and hot tub were extremely dirty and filthy. They advertise amenities that are not even available for use.

This hotel is not the place to go if you are looking for leisure. It's just entirely to loud. And it's rigmarole the staff.

The beds are soft and the pillows are great.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macygray7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

So for us, we needed a place to stay during our soccer tournament. If your looking for just a bed to sleep in, that's really all this hotel is good for. The rooms were ok. I think a good scrubbing would freshen the place up. It's smelled of body odor when we first arrived. The meek air conditioning unit helped to slightly freshen the place after a few hours. The pool area was dirty. Our kids wouldn't even swim (had we let them). That's how obvious it was. The sign on the door said "sap jets" were broke. Never heard of those before. When we saw the spa had visible brown dirty muck resting at the bottom, we realized it was a typo on the sign. Check your spelling please! Plus, if the spa was broke (and filthy), then put the cover on or drain it. The fact that it's dirty doesn't help the overall feel of the place. Also, the pool surface had things floating on it. The color of the pool almost looked more greenish pond like than bluish pool color. I also thought it unusual that our sold out hotel had no one in the pool area at 8pm. The girls at the front desk were nice and helpful. The halls were hot. The wi-fi isn't working on either iPhone or the iPod or the iPad or the nook. No mini fridge. There is a microwave in the room and ice machine in hallway. I'm curious as to what the breakfast will be like in the morning. Overall, I would choose another place to stay. We did get a great rate, so maybe that is what we get for the price. If we had paid the regular rate if $139, I would have been even more disappointed. When we come again next year, we will choose a higher rated hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladybug25614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I have stayed here for corporate for years. I used to enjoy my stay and even looked forward to it. Something however has changed with this place in the last year or so. Most noticable with the staff. Their attitudes are just rotten and they clearly don't strive for customer service. The breakfast has a great selection but it isn't cooked right so everything tastes old and hard. The rooms are going down. The wallpaper is bad and has strange patchwork throughout. Little things in the room are either broken, missing or oddly fixed. There is almost no vending. This place has to be under new owners or management because it wasn't always this way. If you dare express concerns they will shift you to the next person who will ultimately not take care of it anyway. I think the staff would rather you don't stay here so they don't have to do anything! Luckily corporate has decided to switch chains to stay in!!! If this is Best Westen's new standard, I couldn't be more disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgleske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
Days Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
#22 of 31 in Kalamazoo
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
#21 of 31 in Kalamazoo
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 3640 E Cork St, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-4645 (Formerly Best Hospitality Inn Kalamazoo)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range: £47 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hospitality Hotel Kalamazoo
Best Western Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing