We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We ended up leaving - no refund”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knights Inn Kalamazoo
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We booked this hotel on a online booking site. It was the half way stop on our trip to Wisconsin Dells. We are familiar with this town and realize its a college town, however we've always felt safe here. Our expectations were not high, based on the reviews we had read, the price we paid and the brand name of the hotel, however it was only for a few hours to get some sleep before getting back on the road so we didnt really need much. This was a Saturday night and we did notice a jazz festival or something going on right down the street. The people walking the streets seemed like average people out for the night enjoying the local music. However by the time we got to the hotel, the atmosphere of the neighborhood seemed to changed a bit for the worse and it seemed a little more seedy here. There was an abondoned house right next door. While checking in a woman with bare feet come into the lobby and handed something in a bag to the desk clerk. They didnt speak. We also noticed a lot of people just roaming around the parking lot or walking through. The rooms have exterior doors so these people are literally roaming right outside your door/window. There was a sign in the lobby that said if you decide not to stay here and want a refund you must contact the front desk within 15 minutes. That is the first time I've seen a sign like that in the lobby. Im wondering if this happens alot. We parked the car and feel like people are watching us. There are the people wondering the parking lot, the people standing outside their rooms smoking, and the couple fighting outside their hotel room just above us. We all felt a bit uneasy. When we got into the room we noticed the light fixture in the bathroom was falling out, there was some missing paint on the walls and things like that but nothing completly horrible that would make us leave. What made us the most uncomfortable was the roaming poeple in the parking lot and past our window every 3 minutes. My 12 yr old daughter was VERY uncomfortable. We decided noone was going to get a good night sleep here so my husband went to the front desk to tell them we would be checking out. Our refund was refused for various lame reasons such as it was too late to get a credit on our credit card, he doenst have a key to the cash register past 6pm, etc etc. And he made matters worse by confronting the couple that is arguing while my husband was still standing there - making it obvious that we had complained. So we left and never got a refund. For $40 more dollars than we paid here it was money well spent to drive a bit further and get a room where we all felt safer and slept better.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griswolds198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2008

New owners are very nice. Bedrooms and bathrooms are fine. Great for the money. Near stores.

Breakfast is not breakfast. Exterior is shabby. Not downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nodens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Seems to have very interesting clientel staying there. Room was adequate, bathroom was clean but needed alot of TLC. Continental breakfast was hilarious. Not much. But at least they had it.

Very affordable. Neighbourhood seemed okay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank merquisez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2007

I arrived at the property around 6 pm to check in. I discovered the hotel had been closed down for a week and would be closed down for at least another three weeks. The manager of the property would only say that he was sorry (contacted him by phone) and left me on my own to find some place else to stay. Knights Inn will not refund me the difference of the extra charges that I incurred by staying at another hotel.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank poordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
365
Reviewed 23 March 2004

My wife and I stayed at the Knights in on March 19, 2004 because of its closeness to Western Michigan University. We found a pretty good deal on Orbitz and booked the room for about $44 with tax. We were also encouraged due to the AAA aproval it apparently received.

The hotel is a little hard to find since Westnedge turns into a one-way street (southbound) and the only way to get to it if you are headed north is to go toward the center of town, and then head back south again. It is located in what seemed to be a lower part of town, but the hotel itself seems adequately lit by outside lights. Security still seemed a bit of a concern. When we checked in the desk clerk found our reservation okay, but then overcharged us by $10. When I pointed out the price we had on our reservation, he argued with me until I pointed out that I had all the written documentation of the correct rate. He eventually charged us the correct amount, but we felt that we would not be given any "consideration" if we needed to contact the front desk again.

Our room was 126 which was on an inside hallway. Our first attempt to gain access to the building near our room was not successful due to the outside door closest to our room being locked. Instead we had to carry our luggage around to the other end of the building where our room key got us in the hallway, then all the way back to the other end to our room.

The room itself was cozy. Although we had reserved a king size bed, because we enjoy the extra space, the room we were given had two queens. The beds were nice, however, with one matress being firm, and the other, soft and plush. The room also contained a small refrigerator and a microwave which was nice. The floor around the beds appeared not to have been cleaned in while. There were remnants of peanuts, papers, and lots of dirt in plain view if you lifted the bedspreads. This room definitely needed some major cleaning!

The bathroom was also filthy. My wife refused to use the shower pointing out rolled up pieces of toilet paper and hair on the shower floor. There was also long black hair all over the shower walls which told us that the shower had not even been rinsed out let alone cleaned since its prior use. I eventually got down on my hands and knees, and washed the shower myself so that it was usable the next morning. The huge amounts of hair that I washed out either went down the drain, or stayed on the towel I used to wash it out with (which I left on the bathroom floor)

Probably the most shocking part of our stay was the TV. While flipping channels we discovered that the Playboy channel was part of the normal available channels. No, this wasn't pay-per-view. This was explicit sexual acts shown on the normal programed television channels ! Good thing we didn't bring our kids, I would have hated for them to accidentally stumble on this channel while cruising with the remote control.

Knights Inn's slogan is "clean comfortable rooms" this room was definitely NOT clean. The shocking tv made it even more UNCOMFORTABLE.
AAA and the Knights Inn Corp. need to take a closer look at who they allow to use their name. Take my advice, get a room someplace else!

46  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
Thank LalliV1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Elije otro destino. En serio!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mpenziwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#19 of 31 in Kalamazoo
111 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
Days Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
#22 of 31 in Kalamazoo
341 reviews
3.1 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#24 of 31 in Kalamazoo
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center
3.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Kalamazoo

Address: 1211 S Westnedge Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49008-1349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range: £38 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Kalamazoo 1.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Knights Inn Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalamazoo Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing