We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi in Kalamazoo (better than most in the country)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sushi Ya - CLOSED

Sushi Ya
Price range: US$12 - US$20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Kalamazoo (better than most in the country)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Sushi Ya has great sushi. They make their own soy sauce. Service is always good. The edamame is great. Try the Harry Potter Roll, the mango tango, or the Kalamazoo. All Fantastic.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott5820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mattawan, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun Place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have a tradition in our family...for your birthday dinner you get to pick where you want to eat. Four of our five kids pick Sushi Ya. They have some of the best sushi in Kalamazoo. It is a great place for a lagre group. Most of the time we are able to get the large room in the back (but you have to remove your shoes)because our group is so large. It is just a great time of food and fun. The staff is very helpful and very friendly.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank damiller96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Finally! Great sushi in Kalamazoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Sushi Ya was a welcome addition to Kalamazoo's cuisine scene. Finally, a great sushi restaurant! If you want a good deal, come for lunch and get a bento box.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank tabannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best and only place for Sushi in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

One of only two places for Sushi in town and they have excellent Sushi. If you like Sushi I would highly recommend this place

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patdog123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I like it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

I would suggest this location to friends. It is a good date spot and has good Asian inspired cuisine. I have had good food everytime I have been there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rumpilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Ya also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing