We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“older version well maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Kalamazoo East
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“older version well maintained”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Has more of an apartment feel than newer versions. No elevators. Spread out in building blocks. Some apartments are quite a walk from the pool and breakfast room. Tight parking. Clean,spacious and in good repair. Nice bed,full stove , fridge a d dishwasher. Nice breakfast bar in room and nice sofa. Very quiet. Super friendly, helpful staff. Pool has a jacuzzi and pool towels. Nice visit with family and I expect other inlaws to stay there in the future

Room Tip: Gatehouse is most convenient. Above the pool and breakfast room, yet quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie O, General Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for the kind words. It is a bit of a hike from the buildings at the further end of the property, however when you and your family return keep in mind at the time of the reservation you can make remarks or give us a call and let us know you would like to be as close as possible to the pool or gatehouse area and we will do our best to accommodate your request. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    69
    27
    10
    12
See reviews for
84
31
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We used this site as our family reunion residence. Our family ranged from under 2 - 86 years old. We checked in all through the day and late into the night. The front desk staff was marvelous! The great service did not end at the front desk; housekeeping was really responsive also! We had planned to have an outside celebration on Saturday; however, thunderstorms threatened. The staff quickly accommodated us by letting us use the breakfast area.

My family asked that we be sure to send a rating review AND that we make Residence Inn our FIRST choice for future reunions! Thank you for a memorable stay. My Dad is 86. Every reunion is more precious. Thank you for helping us provide him with a great memory.

Room Tip: Family members had rooms on various floors and buildings. All members were satisfied with their roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfcfopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie O, General Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Your family was a treat to have here at the Residence Inn and we all enjoyed your time here. I hope that your reunion brings you back to Kalamazoo again soon and we look forward to seeing all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The rooms are very large and very tastefully decorated. Super comfortable bed, full kitchen, and clean relatively updated bathroom. The staff is friendly and helpful and the grounds are quite nice. Easy on and off the expressway. Also enjoyed the outdoor pool and whirlpool which was kept clean and the perfect temperature. The breakfast is a nice bonus, and it's nice to have a kitchen to do your own cooking if you want to save $. Very enjoyable overall.

Room Tip: We were located in the last building. It was nice to be away from the pool/lobby noise, but we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel5760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie O, Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn Kalamazoo. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate your comments on Trip Advisor. I hope you will return to Kalamazoo again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My family and I recently stayed in this hotel for one night while on the road for our vacation. While the staff were friendly and did their best to accommodate our needs, we were very disappointed. The exterior of the property was not well maintained (including rusted staircases throughout), and the neighborhood was poor. The sheets for the sofa bed were paper thin and torn; the bath towels smelled stale, likely due to the water, which smelled bad; the thermostat could not be adjusted higher than 71 degrees; and the toilet had not been cleaned properly. If we had not been driving all day with another to follow, we would have left immediately. I rely on TripAdvisor for making travel plans and never have been so misled by the reviews. I can't recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenGirl9597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie O, Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
I can only imagine the dissatisfaction you experienced at our property. I would like to apologize that our hotel did not meet the standards that are expected from a Marriott Property. Thank you for your feedback it is comments like yours that continuously allow us to improve the product and services we deliver to our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I am a big fan of the Marriott Brand, and I stay here quite a bit for work. The rooms are very clean and spacious! If you are going to be here for a while, you really feel like you get your own apartment, even in the studio rooms.

Room Tip: While the location is great, it can be in a pretty busy area. You can ask for a room where you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie O, General Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
I am delighted that you were able to enjoy your stay at the Residence Inn Kalamazoo. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I truly appreciate the time you have taken to do this. I hope to see you in Kalamazoo again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My family reunion was held here during the 4th of July weekend. The staff was very accommodating, exceptionally nice and helpful. The grounds were very clean and the rooms were great. Usually when one goes to a hotel, they expect to find something to complain about. Not this trip. Best hotel stay ever!

Room Tip: We had relatives on every floor and everyone enjoyed their stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clearpicture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie O, General Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
It was such a pleasure to have your family stay with us over the 4th of July weekend this year. I am pleased to see such wonderful comments from everyone and I want to express my gratitude for the time you have spent to put this experience on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the wonderful remarks and we hope to see your family again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Biscayne, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A residence Inn with a particularly nice, attentive, friendly staff that can't do enough for you. The hotel has separate buildings--like townhouses--as opposed to having rooms in a main structure. WE stayed in the main structure, though, and could not have been happier. Wonderful room, clean ,comfortable, large, great kitchen and Wi-Fi works like a dream. The best feature, however, is the staff. They are so hospitable and helpful. I am a fan of Residence Inns, but this one deserves a shout-out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimiviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie O, General Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for the beautiful comments here on Trip Advisor. We appreciate that you took time from your day to let everyone know about your experience at Residence Inn Kalamazoo and I truly hope you will return to Kalamazoo and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
213 reviews
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
3.4 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
4.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Kalamazoo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kalamazoo East

Property: Residence Inn Kalamazoo East
Address: 1500 E Kilgore Rd, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-5538
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
#6 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kalamazoo East 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the “NEWLY RENOVATED” Residence Inn Kalamazoo, your home away from home. The newly renovated guest rooms achieve an extraordinary balance of comfort and function with the fully equipped Kitchen areas and complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Ideal for families or VIPs, these newly restyled guest rooms offer the space and amenities you require when traveling for a long period of time or just a short trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Kalamazoo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kalamazoo East Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing