We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Kalamazoo East
Nearby Hotels
US$103
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$60
US$57
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Kalamazoo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
100
74
29
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
74
29
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenbasketball courtmain buildingfire pitnice kitchenking bedroom was cleanclose to the airportbreakfast staffseparate bedroomfree breakfastmorning breakfastdefinitely stay here againbreakfast barthe entire staffa great stayfresh fruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2008

My wife and I stayed at this Residence Inn for four weeks the summer of 2007 and seven weeks the summer of 2008.

Our entire stay was both positive and pleasurable. The entire staff, from general manager to housekeepers, was cordial and hospitable.

The suites and beds are comfortable.

The location is convenient to the Interstate and to both downtown Kalamazoo and downtown Portage and only one mile from the Kalamazoo airport.

The seven day a week breakfast buffet was varied and generous. The Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday evening receptions, on the other hand, were very modest.

We would certainly choose to stay at this Residence Inn again whenever we are in Kalamazoo.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LouBobHarborSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

My five year old son and I stayed at this hotel for two nights, and it couldn't have been a better experience. The staff is friendly and pleasant. The entire hotel is non-smoking, and the rooms were clean, fresh smelling, and well-maintained. The location of the rooms was a little bit of a surprise, since we did receive a room that was at the far end of the property, and located behind a staircase. After I drove by it twice, I realized where it was, though. It was a very quiet room, and although the location was not what I expected, it didn't feel unsafe. There was a lot of lighting, and it was only a short walk from the parking lot.

The room itself had a couch, a desk, a comfortable bed, a sliding glass door closet with lots of space in it, a ceiling fan, a mini-kitchen with a microwave, full refrigerator, stove, sink, and counter with two tall chairs for seating at the counter. There were pots and pans in the cupboards, as well as forks, spoons, knives, plates, etc. (One warning to anyone travelling with a small child, there is a knife drawer with large, sharp knives. Make sure to put them up as soon as you arrive.) There is an outdoor pool, and it was well-maintained.

The breakfast is free, and it is served from 6:30-9:30 on weekdays, and 7:00-10:00 on weekends. Make sure to get there well before the end of the serving time. We are late risers, so we rushed in at about 9:15 the first morning, and many of the items were gone and what was left looked unappetizing. I ended up with no breakfast, and just a cup of coffee while my son got some cereal, with no milk. The second morning, we got there with an hour to spare, and there was plenty of food, and the woman in charge of the buffet did a great job of keeping things replenished. There were scrambled eggs, sausage, English muffins, cereal, oatmeal, bread, bagels, fresh fruit, and freshly made waffels. The coffee was fresh and delicious, and there were also two juices to choose from, as well as milk and hot water for tea. There was a nice area in which to sit, too.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. If you plan to go to the Airzoo, or the Kalamazoo Nature Center, the location is ideal. We went to the Airzoo in the morning on Saturday, then went back to the hotel to swim and rest in the early afternoon, and then back to the Airzoo until it closed. (It is only a couple of miles away, so it was very easy to take this refreshing mid-day break.) There is also a lot of shopping, a nice little park, and plenty of restaurants within a few miles driving distance.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Skye9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2008

Stay there for 2 weeks for business. Nothing special. Nothing special with the breakfast serve there. But clean, spacious room. Good for business traveller but not for family vacation. Long walk to nearest restaurant but close by with Kalamazoo airport.

  • Stayed: September 2004, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank azrin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2008

Due to some negative reviews on this site, I almost changed my reservation to stay at the Hampton Inn (which is immediately adjacent to the Residence Inn). I decided to stay at the Residence Inn. It has all the comforts that a Residence Inn does. What stood out to me most was the exceptional friendliness of the staff, from front desk to the breakfast staff to housekeeping. They were very welcoming. I checked in at 11:30 a.m., and a room was ready. Regarding the noise, the rooms/buidings nearest to the Gatehouse/front desk are the closed to the highway. The ones on the other side (by the Hampton) are quieter. I like the free internet access in the room. The outdoor pool looked nice, and there is a 24 hour fitness center with the basics. Room was more than adequate. The breakfast was not as good as some other Residence Inn locations I've stayed at in the past. The food (sausage, eggs, potatoes) was cold, and so was the coffee. But it was very clean. The inn is not as "updated" as other Residence Inns, but I did not think it was filthy or a bad experience. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for its location very near the Kalamazoo airport and I-94, especially for a short stay. It's not too far from downtown either, and the area feels safe. It's not far from residential neighborhoods and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank girlluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2008

We enjoyed our stay here. The bed and the rollout sofabed were comfortable, the free breakfast was above average for this type of hotel, including frresh cooked eggs, oatmeal, sausage, and a variety of cereals, bagels and muffins (not freshly baked,but certainly above average). The room was quiet and the staff was quite helpful. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MountainLakeTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews