We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming, treated like family....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Kalamazoo East
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Titusville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming, treated like family....”
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We were welcomed like family here and treated with the highest respect.
Our motorhome was totaled by a young man on the interstate near this location. After going to 3 different hotels, this was the only one that welcomed us. And in fact though fully booked, was able to find room for us.
The manager, Carrie, and all her staff were very nice to us. Everyone from the all the wonderful people at the front desk, to the maids and the maintenance men went out of thier way to accomodate us. They even allowed us to come in with our 2 terrified cats, for a fee of course, but was very appreciated as we had suddenly become without our home on wheels and no where to go with them.
Was more of an apartment than a hotel room, which was extremely clean with a brand new kitchen including new granite countertops, and cabinets. Could use some handles on the cabinets, however.
Laundry room machines were inexpensive, clean and conveniently located. Pool area inviting, with a nice added surprise of a gas barbeque area.
Terrific hot breakfast, with a lot of choices on the buffet.
I would defiinitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nautifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    68
    26
    10
    12
See reviews for
84
29
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2010

I originally planned to stay at the nearby candlewood suites. After the first night I checked out due to their sullen staff, dirty rooms, and the lack of a free breakfast. Let me say this hotel is 100x better. The gentleman at the front desk in the main office/eating building was warm and personable. The room was like an apartment, not a hotel. It was amazingly clean and the bed was heavenly. They have free breakfast and it is one of the better ones I have had. Gotta love free breakfast. I will he back soon.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterski6987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence KY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This Residence Inn exceeded my expectations for a place to stay for a long weekend. It was spotless, well-appointed and had a great breakfast. We were SO pleased!

The staff was WONDERFUL! Everyone with whom we spoke went beyond what many other places would even consider doing for their guests. Absolutely awesome.

The pool was small, but VERY clean. That's a biggie. No fear getting into this pool.

The only things I would change: breakfast until 11 on weekends, 10 on holiday weekdays, and skim milk on the breakfast selections. Otherwise, everything was perfect.

There was a king bed in the room with a nice, light comforter that was still toasty, a hide-a-bed that was comfortable as far as hide-a-beds go, a full kitchen and a restroom that was nothing fancy, but met all my needs. It was truly a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartblnde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlchurch, Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, 7 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Residence Inn Kalamazoo. We appreciate the feedback and will relay your comments with the entire staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Even though we had a paid and confirmed reservation for a 1-night stay at the Residence Inn, upon Check-in we were told there were no rooms available. The Front Desk agent informed us on check-in that due to construction, our room was unexpectedly not available. He then informed us that we would be staying at a comparable hotel nearby - Country Inn - that is a dump. I returned to inform the Front Desk agent that the Country Inn was a dump and asked for some type of compensation - perhaps credit on my Marriott Rewards account? I was again informed this was not possible, but was given a hotel card that allowed us to eat their free breakfast if I cared to travel from my non-comparable hotel dump to their fine establishment. Extremely poor customer service from a Marriott. You might want to call this Inn minutes before you try to check-in in case they unexpectedly don't have a room for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peebz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

I must say, this was one great Residence Inn. Though it looks a bit outdated, it is really clean and modern. The breakfast was remarkable! I could not have asked for a better staff. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Stayed here over christmas. Room clean, young man at the front desk exceptionally helpful and courteous. Great staff and spacious room. Our stay could not have been better. Our family will come to the residence inn next time we are in Kzoo!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamfols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traverse city, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

The hotel is nothing special. My kingsize bed was lumpy and very worn. The room was clean. After checking out, I received an email with a charge of $12.99 for a movie that I did not order. When I called the hotel and talked with the manager, she informed me that there was nothing that they could do, since an outside company was responsible for the television service. She also would not provide a phone number for the television service. What is up with that?

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bstriewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
3.4 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
206 reviews
5.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
4.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Kalamazoo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kalamazoo East

Property: Residence Inn Kalamazoo East
Address: 1500 E Kilgore Rd, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-5538
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#6 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kalamazoo East 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the “NEWLY RENOVATED” Residence Inn Kalamazoo, your home away from home. The newly renovated guest rooms achieve an extraordinary balance of comfort and function with the fully equipped Kitchen areas and complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Ideal for families or VIPs, these newly restyled guest rooms offer the space and amenities you require when traveling for a long period of time or just a short trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Kalamazoo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kalamazoo East Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing