We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One month cozy stay in Michigan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Kalamazoo East
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Noida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One month cozy stay in Michigan”
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Big rooms with all facilities is the USP of Marriot Residence Inn Kalamazoo. No smoking rooms available. Breakfast and evening buffet (free on Tue to Thurs) were awesome...

Friendly staff & they entertain everything you ask them for. It is a real nice place to stay. I loved my stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etisha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    70
    28
    10
    12
See reviews for
84
32
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed here for two nights (Friday and Saturday) on a recent visit to see our son. The hotel itself is located immediately off the highway, and is convenient to a number of restaurants. Upon arriving, I checked int--the clerk at the front desk was cheerful, friendly, provided us with some dinner suggestions, and directions to the restaurants--very nice start. The hotel proprty is made up of 12-15 individual townhouse style buildings, with (I think four units in each building--four up and four down). I thought the exterior of the property could have been kept up a bit better---it was not rundown, but nor was it "fresh". I would also mention that, for some reason, there must have been 10+ ATT service trucks in the parking lot while we were there. The trucks were rather large, and made maneuvering into and out of parking spaces a bit difficult. The interior of the room was very nice---looked like it had been redone recently---clean carpet, draperies were new, nice kitchen, lots of space. I thought the bed was on the too soft side, but obviosuly that is a matter of persoanl taste. Our first night there was fine---no issues, enjoyed our stay thorougly. The second nite, however, was less satisfactory. We were on teh second floor of one of the townhouse units, and the folks in a nearby unit were being pretty loud--talking loudly, going in and out of their suite a lot/letting the door slam--nothing none of us have not encountered. This all started about 11PM--I finally fell asleep, and at 12:30PM, the phone rings--it was the front desk asking us if we had called a cab. My wife pciked up the phone and said, "No", and at that point mentioned maybe it was the people keeping us up. The clerk asked my wife if she knew which room number they were in, and she replied "No". We thought it was (1) totally inappropriate for them to be calling us as 12:30AM and disturbing us; and (2) pretty odd for them to ask us if we knew the room number fo the people who may have made the request. To their credit, upon checking out the next morning, when they asked how my stay was, I told them about the phone call and noise; they did apologize for the intrusion. Overall the place was ok, but calling us that late reflected poor judgment of the part of the hotel staff--hence the overall poor rating.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Went to WMU homecoming weekend and everyone ended up in our room. Great amenities, Only problem they didn't have dishwashing detergent for dishwasher. Rooms were comfortable, clean and big.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrybaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We were welcomed like family here and treated with the highest respect.
Our motorhome was totaled by a young man on the interstate near this location. After going to 3 different hotels, this was the only one that welcomed us. And in fact though fully booked, was able to find room for us.
The manager, Carrie, and all her staff were very nice to us. Everyone from the all the wonderful people at the front desk, to the maids and the maintenance men went out of thier way to accomodate us. They even allowed us to come in with our 2 terrified cats, for a fee of course, but was very appreciated as we had suddenly become without our home on wheels and no where to go with them.
Was more of an apartment than a hotel room, which was extremely clean with a brand new kitchen including new granite countertops, and cabinets. Could use some handles on the cabinets, however.
Laundry room machines were inexpensive, clean and conveniently located. Pool area inviting, with a nice added surprise of a gas barbeque area.
Terrific hot breakfast, with a lot of choices on the buffet.
I would defiinitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nautifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2010

I originally planned to stay at the nearby candlewood suites. After the first night I checked out due to their sullen staff, dirty rooms, and the lack of a free breakfast. Let me say this hotel is 100x better. The gentleman at the front desk in the main office/eating building was warm and personable. The room was like an apartment, not a hotel. It was amazingly clean and the bed was heavenly. They have free breakfast and it is one of the better ones I have had. Gotta love free breakfast. I will he back soon.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterski6987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence KY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This Residence Inn exceeded my expectations for a place to stay for a long weekend. It was spotless, well-appointed and had a great breakfast. We were SO pleased!

The staff was WONDERFUL! Everyone with whom we spoke went beyond what many other places would even consider doing for their guests. Absolutely awesome.

The pool was small, but VERY clean. That's a biggie. No fear getting into this pool.

The only things I would change: breakfast until 11 on weekends, 10 on holiday weekdays, and skim milk on the breakfast selections. Otherwise, everything was perfect.

There was a king bed in the room with a nice, light comforter that was still toasty, a hide-a-bed that was comfortable as far as hide-a-beds go, a full kitchen and a restroom that was nothing fancy, but met all my needs. It was truly a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartblnde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlchurch, Manager at Residence Inn Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, 7 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Residence Inn Kalamazoo. We appreciate the feedback and will relay your comments with the entire staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Even though we had a paid and confirmed reservation for a 1-night stay at the Residence Inn, upon Check-in we were told there were no rooms available. The Front Desk agent informed us on check-in that due to construction, our room was unexpectedly not available. He then informed us that we would be staying at a comparable hotel nearby - Country Inn - that is a dump. I returned to inform the Front Desk agent that the Country Inn was a dump and asked for some type of compensation - perhaps credit on my Marriott Rewards account? I was again informed this was not possible, but was given a hotel card that allowed us to eat their free breakfast if I cared to travel from my non-comparable hotel dump to their fine establishment. Extremely poor customer service from a Marriott. You might want to call this Inn minutes before you try to check-in in case they unexpectedly don't have a room for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peebz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
216 reviews
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
3.4 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
4.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Kalamazoo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kalamazoo East

Property: Residence Inn Kalamazoo East
Address: 1500 E Kilgore Rd, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-5538
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#6 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kalamazoo East 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the “NEWLY RENOVATED” Residence Inn Kalamazoo, your home away from home. The newly renovated guest rooms achieve an extraordinary balance of comfort and function with the fully equipped Kitchen areas and complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Ideal for families or VIPs, these newly restyled guest rooms offer the space and amenities you require when traveling for a long period of time or just a short trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Kalamazoo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kalamazoo East Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing