We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$122
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$98
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$171
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
87
66
24
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
66
24
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubthe breakfast areawafflesparking lotchecking outroom was cleancontinental breakfastfirst floornice place to staya great staywould definitely stay here againwestern michigan universityamericinnhighwaycereallaptopbedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

On a recent trip we needed to stay in Kalamazoo one night. All of the hotels we had stayed at in the past were booked so we checked Trip-Advisor and found this hotel. It looked like it would be fine for one night so we checked the price and booked it. I was a little concerned because the price was about two-thirds of what other hotels in the area were charging. There was no reason to be concerned. It is a very nice hotel. As others have noted finding the driveway is a little challenging. The Entrance for the Residence Inn is the same entrance for this hotel. The Residence Inn sign is larger so just look for that and you will be fine. The room was clean and we had no problems during our stay. The only thing we missed is that there was not a mini-fridge in the room. The breakfast was average with enough variety for everyone to find something to eat. If you are looking for a clean, reasonably priced place to stay this works great.

Room Tip: We asked for a room not facing the highway as recomended by other reviews. It was quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Madison_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnHotel, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Good to know you finally gave us a chance and it was a success. Yes, AmericInn of Kalamazoo is great in value and the updated property is in great shape

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This place is your typical bad hotel but the price suggested that it was a little nicer. I was disappointed about the noise, old smoke smell, and rude staff. However, I will say that the bathroom was big! There are lots of places in Kalamazoo and I regret not staying somewhere else. Oh well!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnHotel, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

We are sorry that your experience was not satisfactory and yes there are many hotels in Kalamazoo that you can stayat. However, many do not offer a great value with an updated/clean property like that of the AmericInn Hotel or what many have raved about within their TripAdvisor reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I checked into this damp hotel late and left early, I didn't eat, smoke, or drink in the room -- I just slept. However when I came home I discovered a $100 charge to my bill. When I called to discuss the extra charge with the manager, Ash Patel hung up on me!

It was both a strange and a very frustrating experience. I'd suggest staying at any one of the many other inexpensive options in Kalamazoo!

Room Tip: The first floor smelled like mold from pool.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjang108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnHotel, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

We are sad to hear that your experience was disappointing. We do not understand the meaning behind "damp hotel," as this a newly renovated property. We would assume this is a comment of frustration as the reference to a "mold" smell on the first floor. We have a delightful smell compliment of Febreze. AmericInn Hotel is not in the business of cheating our guests. What you were referring to was the hold of a $100 incidental fee that is required of all guests and it is immediately released upon check out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

A little tricky to find driveway at first, but easy after that. Reasonably priced and easy access to expressway, shops and restaurants. Clean room with hairdryer, iron, coffee pot and toiletries....staff willing to supply you with forgotten items, e.g. deodorant. Pool open until midnight for late night swims after daily activities. Beds a little high off ground for little ones, or those not as able-bodied. Our exhaust in the bathroom didn't seem to work all that well, making for a slippery attempt at times getting out of the shower. First key the clerk gave us ended up opening to a room already occupied....glad the person didn't seem to be in at the time! She quickly rectified the situation! The hot breakfast is very nice with fresh fruit, juices, yogurt, and much more! Overall, a very pleasant two-night stay and we will be back again when visiting in Kalamazoo!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnHotel, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Great to know you enjoyed your stay. While we are not perfect, we are quick to acknowledge it and fix the problems in order to make our guests happy. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Finding the building was a little difficult (you enter through the Residence Inn driveway and keep driving left), but it was well worth finding! The room was very clean (my gold standard is no mold at all in the bathroom), the mattress was comfy, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The pool and hot tub were clean and refreshing. The breakfast was typical, but perfectly edible. I would stay here again and again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnHotel, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Happy that you walked away with a great experience. We have heard so many comments about the entrance of hotel. Trust us, we are working hard with the city to figure out a much better solution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews