We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Family Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Nice Family Stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2008

We recently returned from a stay here. All and all we enjoyed our tip. We stayed in a room on the first floor connected to the atrium area. The rooms were very clean with modern bedding and a flat screen TV's.

The pool area was nice. Only issue being that the buckets that dump water on the kids were not working. We enjoyed the hot tub.

There is a decent sized game room available as well as two pool tables. They also have a pop a shot basketball and a foosball table available for FREE. We thought that was a nice touch.

The restaurant/bar area was nice as well. Reasonable drink prices for a hotel (probably due to being in a college town). The kids eat free deal is great! Especially for their breakfast buffet.

Overall no real issues other than the water buckets not working to dump on the kids. I'd have no issues with staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank btcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    76
    40
    32
    25
See reviews for
94
38
16
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

This hotel went through a rocky period during renovations, but now they're completed it's back up to full standard. Very pleasant, helpful young staff, comfortable rooms, and surprisingly good food. They provide helpful shuttle service for guests without cars, too. The standard of comfort and service provided for the money is really remarkable.

  • Liked — Comfort, service, good food.
  • Disliked — Like so many places now, pretty much in the middle of nowhere--but nice nowhere
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Quavvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zmj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2008

My family of three loved it! The rooms have just been renovated. Dad loved the LG Flat Screen in the rooms and the beds are super comfortable. We have been staying at this HI over the past five years and we just love the new look. The Holidome is a great place for our group to visit and the adults can play cards when the kids retire for the evening.

Great freindly staff and love that kids eat free!

  • Liked — beds and LCD TV
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2007

My family celebrated Christmas at this hotel, and we had a terrific time! The hotel (or most of it) has been completely redone and it looks great. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and granted our request for adjoining rooms poolside. There was free pop-a-shot right outside our room. The only downside to being poolside was it was really loud until about 11pm (but we didn't care!). There was a buffett breakfast for $8.50 and kids eat free with a paid adult. We will go back next year!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank olive1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

The Hotel is now done with renovations with a few exceptions. The first floor is still being worked on however is closed off by pad locked doors so there are no disturbances to incoming guest and there are a few minor touches still left for the front desk area. However the lobby is brand new the restaurant is brand new and the holidome is brand new.. not to mention all of the rentable rooms are brand new as well... this hotel has definitely done a 180. And to top it all off, the service is OUTSTANDING! I mean these people go above and beyond everyday to make every guest stay a memorable experience. This hotel is awesome. I would highly recommend that if you did stay here during the remodel that you come back and give them another chance. I am serious when I say this hotel is almost right up there with the Radisson.... UNBELIEVABLE!!

  • Liked — Brand New
  • Disliked — Set back away from downtown
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank spidybake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

As stated before this hotel is under MAJOR renovations and should be closed to the public until it is complete. I am surprised the city or other gov't agency hasnt intervened yet. The carpet is tore up in the halls and you cannot roll you bags or even walk safely for that matter as plastic sheets are spread everywhere. Most of the rooms are totally empty including no walls and no doors (plenty of places for vagrants to hide) only half the hallway has lights and when there are lights its construction type lights taped to the wall. Also in the hallway blocking any type of emergency escape path are all the doors on their sides, mirrors, chairs, garbage. My co-worker tripped on a door hinge in the hallway in the part with no lights - It is absolutely disgusting and clearly a major safety and security issue.

There are no signs anywhere advising you of the current condition of the hotel. The pool is closed, the exercise room is closed, only maybe a 1/4 of the rooms are useable and they are at the very end of the hallway.

I understand renovations are necessary, but they should just close the place for a month and get the work done rather than possibly injuring and creating security issues for the few guests they were able to deceive in to staying here.

As a side note, their official website makes no mention of the chaos either. So in short - you have been warned more than once by members on this website - STAY CLEAR of this SAFETY and SECURITY HAZARD dump (at least for the next few months if not forever)!

The owners/managers who placed people into this horrible situation should be fined and forbidden from endangering peoples lives again in the future. What may be fine for hardhat wearing construction guys is not for the general public.

  • Liked — Leaving for good
  • Disliked — where do I begin?
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 36000ft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, IN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2007

I am staying here for this week for my job and my company booked these rooms! Very tired looking lobby and hallways, doors to rooms are scuffed awfully, bathroom looks well worn down, ALL Holidome including indoor pool and workout facilities are closed until the middle of June 2007 due to renovations which are agreeably sorely needed BUT wish it was not now. They also made us move all of our cars to the very far end of the parking lot which is not lit and does not look very secure as they're tearing up the entire main parking lot this week! Maybe when complete it will be a nice place but for now do yourself a favor and stay away!

  • Liked — location and that's about it (restuarant is not bad either)
  • Disliked — In the midst of renovations and everything is either tore up or dirty
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaRz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
4.1 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Property: Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Address: 2747 S 11th St, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-2177
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn West, the best in personalized guest experiences. We’re here to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing