We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My daughters birthday party” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
“My daughters birthday party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

It was an amazing stAy . We felt like royalty . Warm welcome very attentive to us. The only thing I found challenging is that in the bunk bed suite the tv only played a video game. So I had everyone in my bed to watch tv.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Patti K-
We appreciate you taking the time out to let us know how great your daughter's party was. We hope that you come back to visit and stay at our hotel again. If there is anything that you need, please contact the hotel.
Justin W
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    74
    38
    30
    24
See reviews for
92
35
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coloma, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I was here for the Farm Women's Symposium. We had a great experience. The room was neat and clean and the food they served was delicious. The staff was also very kind and helpful and the pool area was clean and fun!

Room Tip: There are rooms that face the pool and those that face outside. We had a room facing the pool and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alysa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Alysa M-
We are very excited that you had such a great time at our hotel for the conference. We hope that you are our guest when you visit Kalamazoo in the future.
Justin W
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I am a local resident of this hotel and absolutely love staying there! We have 5 kids and have stayed many times, sometimes for pleasure, a few times because we lost power. In the Spring of 2013 my niece graduated from University of Michigan and we rented the Holidome behind the pool area. The food was so delicious, there was alot of it, and the staff was great - they accomodated our every need to ensure we were happy. We had relatives from 3 different states fly in and they took care of us. The other really neat thing is that they have kids eat free for every meal! This is literally a Godsend for a family with 5 children. They have a lovely pool with hot tub, they have an arcade, ping pong, fushball, a work-out room and more. I just found out in our stay there on 3/12/14 that they have bunk bed rooms for families! There is a queen size bed with 2 bunk beds, they are in an alcove of their own and have their own TV and Play Station! The kids loved it. I have to say the Justin and Mark at the front desk were so great and helpful with everything. I have never had such a pleasant experience with any staff at any hotel. Our family can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: the first floor rooms are great for kids and easy access to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Amy J-
It is great to know how much you enjoyed being a guest at our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time out to let us know how your stay was because it means alot. If there is anything else we can do for you, please let us know. We hope that you continue to stay with us in the future.
Justin W
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We took a trip with friends for a quick getaway and break the winter blues. Overall this hotel is not a bad spot for such an activity. The pool and dome area as it is called is nice change in pace from standard pools. The only issue I have is the fact that you have "squatters" that take over many of the seating and table options throughout the pool and dome area making the place look like a scene from a trailer park. Families will have birthday parties and turn many of the table, chairs and lounging areas into personal nests for an entire weekend. Staff does not enforce any cleaning or up keep in these locations so many tables have food being left all over and pizza boxes etc. It takes away from the sharing concept. I get the first come first serve but getting squatters rights because you leave your junk and crock pots out and spread around for the weekend to me is a bit extreme.

On the positive the hotel is a very nice traveling option. Hotel rooms are adequate nd spacious beds comfy. The restaurant that's Inside Hotel has a very nice selection of food options. A little pricy but good nonetheless.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Tony G-
We apologize that you didn't have the best experience while staying at our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we are always striving to improve our hotel amenities and service. We thank you for your review and will make sure that we do a better job of making sure all of our guests are important. If you would to contact the hotel directly and speak with me that will be great at 269-375-6000, I will be more than happy to make this right with you.
Justin W
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Awesome. I'm not sure if negative reviewers were expecting a ritzy hotel, but it's a Holiday Inn. We came for a slumber party, and they changed our rooms so we could be adjoining. The tables outside of the rooms aren't exclusive to those staying. At 10:30, the pool closes for anyone under 18. Also, when you check in, you are given the option of having a poolside room or not. And, you also get informed that there is a price difference. I'm here with a young group of girls, I will recommend coming to everyone.

And really, it's a hotel pool, if you expect it to be empty in the winter, you are fooling yourself.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Montora H-
We are very excited to hear that you had such a great experience at our hotel. it was our pleasure being able to provide you with great guest service and that you enjoyed using our hotel amenities. We hope that you continue to be our guest in the future, and if there is anything that we can do to continue your business let us know.
Justin W
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Past trip was my 4th stay in the past 6 months on business. Overall decent stay.... Mostly clean room, on site decent restaurant, and close to my office. I've gotten a good quiet night's sleep which was most important. Both hotel staff and restaurant staff have been pleasant which a plus. Only minus is the bed skirts are filthy... I don't want to know what's on them. Ewww please inspect and change if visible stains. I've shared through customer survey feedback as well.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daphne418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Daphne418-
Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay was with our hotel. Your feedback will assist us in improving our hotel services and making sure guests are leaving with a better experience. If you would like to contact the hotel at 269-375-6000 to let us know how we can make this right for you it will be greatly appreciated.
Justin W
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a pretty bad experience here. I have two young kids (5 and 3). The hotel pool was very overcrowded. In addition to hotel guests at the pool, they had multiple birthday parties there. The kids in the pool were BIG and rambunctious/wrestling. There was no room in the pool for beginning swimmers. It just wasn't safe. There were also about 10 kids in there (no older than 8) without supervision and were pretty aggressive. Not cool.

There were no towels at the pool (we had to walk to the front desk soaking wet to get towels both days). The pool deck was slippery- we saw 3 people fall while we were there.

And, worst of all- our $200 hotel room was right near the pool. The pool was LOUD all hours of the night. It took hours to get toddlers to sleep with all the noise. So, fine for teenage kids- BAD for toddlers. Also, my mom and I were going to hang out at the picnic table outside of our room after the kids were finally asleep. Someone took our table. Hotel staff should be on that.

Overall- totally disappointing experience!

Room Tip: We got a room with a bunk bed. Great in theory. Poor in execution. The bunk bed did not have shee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jill g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
jill g-
On behalf of our hotel we apologize for not making your stay with us a better one. We really appreciate you taking the time out to let us know how we missed the mark and we take responsibility for it. I wanted to reach out to you personally and have you contact the hotel directly to speak to myself so that we can make this right with you. You can contact myself at 269-375-6000 and please know that your review will help us in finding ways to better serve our guests.

Justin W
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
4.1 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Property: Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Address: 2747 S 11th St, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-2177
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn West, the best in personalized guest experiences. We’re here to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing