We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
OSKALOOSA
Level Contributor
317 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Okay...”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Overnight stay while traveling was okay. Nothing special. Nothing bad. Room a bit tight BUT appreciated the large stuffed chair, refrigerator, etc. room numbering system a little different. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kansasrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    40
    34
    14
    10
See reviews for
54
22
7
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Hotel is closeby to the freeway, fast food and restaurants. Clean and renovated. Good selection of hot and cold foods for breakfast. Staff was helpful and friendly. Good value. Internet was fast and there is a computer in the lobby to use if you need to print. Coupons for pizza and delivery places. I walked over to the Cracker Barrel next door but not far from other restaurants.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank peacepax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

This appears to be a very new hotel. If it's not it sure has been kept up very well. From the moment you walk into the lobby there is a bit of "wow" - this is a Fairfield? The decor is a in tans, blues, and browns - very soothing after being on the road. The front desk was very helpful and efficient.

The rooms are nicely appointed - mine was 2 queens - with a nice flat screen TV, dresser, and workspace. There is a small chair with a light in the corner by one of the beds. Nice - you didn't have to sit on the bed to watch TV.

The vanity is separate from the bathroom area which is convenient if two are trying to get ready at the same time. There is shampoo, conditioner, and lotion for your use. They even provide a makeup remover for the ladies.

And when you do turn in, be prepared to zonk out immediately. The beds are unbelievably comfortable.

This is truly a nice hotel. The only reason I couldn't give it a "5" all the way down is because of the truck noise on I-94. Not the hotel's fault but would have been nice if they had built this a bit further off the interstate.

I can't rate the free breakfast - I had a very early flight and the breakfast area wasn't open before I left.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sloopie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times prior to this, and my other experiences have been adequate. However, after my last visit I will go elsewhere next time I'm in the area.

Check-in was easy and efficient and the employees I dealt with were friendly and helpful. The hotel has recently been renovated and has a typical Fairfield Inn feel and look. That's where the positives end.

Upon my return to the hotel in the evening from working 7 hours I was greeted with a large group of adults sitting on the lounge / breakfast area, mini coolers loaded with beer and snacks. Not a problem with me, but it didn't look good to other guests. As I turned into the hall toward the elevator there was another group, about six or so, drinking and partying.

When I got to my second floor room (about 9:00 pm), I immediately had to deal with very loud noise directly above mine, as well as in he hall outside my room. Above me were obviously several children (and possibly adults - my feeling is the adults were involved with the partiers elsewhere in the hotel). Between the loud voices and constant stomping / running back and forth, I started to develop a headache. At about 10:30 I had had enough and went to the front desk to see if I could be moved to a quieter location. At the desk was a sign stating they were helping another customer and would be back soon. Not wanting to wait - or call the cell phone number given - I returned to my room to the same noise. It did, however, end at about 11:00 pm, again starting about 6:30 the next morning. Because of such a large number of people in the area in the morning I didn't want to discuss this with the desk clerk, choosing to contact the management at a later date.

I travel often, and sleeping in a hotel room is rarely a relaxing experience. This was the worst I've ever had in a hotel. Having had conversations with others who have stayed here, this seems to be a consistent theme. Often large groups stay here with their kids, commonly leaving the kids to have fun while the parents are elsewhere in the hotel. There are other options and I recommend pursuing those.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, request a top floor room at the end for a potentially more quiet experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Hotel is showing its wear. Check-in was painless, and the front desk clerk was friendly. The lobby was your traditional, nothing fancy Fairfield lobby. The hallways appeared worn, and the elevator did as well.
The room was a double bed room, and again, straightforward with no bells and whistles. My problems began when I tried changing the channel on the t.v. Someone had placed a "parental lock" on the t.v., which only allowed me to view one channel. When I walked into the room, the room was freezing. I adjusted the thermostat and called the front desk. The clerk showed up about ten minutes later and couldn't fix the t.v. He also tried the thermostat and that didn't warm the room any. The room was still freezing!
Keep in mind that it was 1am at this point. First, he offered to discount the room for me. When I advised him that this wouldn't work, he offered to change my room. I appreciated the gesture, but did not feel like switching at 1am. I requested reward points instead and he obliged. Long story short, the heater not working was the real downer of the night. I can't really complain about anything else, and when the GM was contacted, she did accommodate my request(albeit a week late after contacting her and the main Marriott website).
If possible, try a nicer hotel. This one has seen its better days.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank zapataii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

very average.... nothing really stand out on the positive or negative side of the ledger.

A decent place for a overnight stay. The breakfast is pathetic... but there is a cracker barrel restaurant virtually in the parking lot.

Rooms are clean. Lobby is seemingly under construction or remodeling or something. Front desk personnel are nice and try to be helpful... but they are really not engaged in their efforts to make this an exceptional place to stay. They do their job... nicely... but thats about as far as it goes. not bad... just "average"

Best aspect... location is easy on and off the freeway and easy access to the kalamazoo area. Frankly; if I go to this area again I will try a different place... just because there is nothing there to make it worth going back too.... then again I would not be afraid to stay there again... just knowing all you are getting is a clean room, and good location....

Room Tip: If you stay... skip their breakfast and go to the cracker barrel restaurant in the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I expected more from the Fairfield/Marriott chain. This one is disappointing. We stayed here for an overnight on our way elsewhere. Checkin was quick and the front desk staff person was courteous. I was told that they had recently had an act of vandalism in the hotel which resulted in half of their rooms being flooded out and rendered unusable. They were still in the act of cleanup. Because of this, the hotel wasn't up to it's usual standards. There was plastic hanging in the hallway and fans blowing. As this was an act outside the scope of their control, I don't hold this against them. I was also told that their rooms were newly renovated. The smell of newness was evident in the place

The beds that we collapsed into were very comfortable and we slept well despite being able to hear the person in the adjoining room snore quite loudly.

In the morning, I was dismayed to observe some cleanliness issues despite a renovation that was completed mere weeks ago. I'm thinking the renovation in the rooms entailed new carpeting, paint, and other decor issues. There was something brown smeared on the control cover of the HVAC unit in the room. In the bathroom, the flush handle was not attached to the toilet tank and was just hanging there, and there was black fuzzy mold growing in the corner of the bathtub. YUCK! Maintenance and housekeeping apparently aren't high on the renovation list. These things are unacceptable and show a lack of attention to detail.

They do have a breakfast which we did not avail ourselves of and a swimming pool which was also closed due to the flooding.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
6.1 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
#16 of 31 in Kalamazoo
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West

Property: Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West
Address: 6420 Cracker Barrel Blvd, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-7443
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Fairfield Inn you can count on a friendly welcome, a clean and comfortable room, great features, amenities and service that will make you want to return. And we'll help you get started each day with a free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo West Hotel Kalamazoo
Fairfield Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing