We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect meal on the road”

Shirley's In the Woods Cafe'
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Kalkaska
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect meal on the road”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stopped at Shirley's while on the road. The staff was friendly. The menu has just enough variety- sandwiches and soup and breakfast all day! ( my personal favorite) The most impressive feature here is almost very thing is house made. I had corned beef hash and eggs. My cinnamon toast was really good. And the hash was some of the best I have had- nice and crispy. My friend had a sandwich with turkey, apple butter and cheese. Really good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbo369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    24
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyandotte, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Clean!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Tasty gem in the middle of nowhere. Clean restaurant, which can be hard to find... Food served hot. Pleasant wait staff.

Helpful?
Thank Denise_D07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A tasty breakfast served anytime.”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We dine here often when at the family cottage, very clean, nice staff and good food! We continue to return and always a good restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Place”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Went to breakfast yesterday at Shirley's In the Woods. We've passed it many times and finally stopped. I have to say I now know the reason why they are so crowded during meal times. The place is wonderful with great food. We arrived while they were packed. We had our 15 month old grandson with us. They were super friendly and actually took our order before we were seated so that once we were seated it would take less time to get our food. The food was fantastic, and their home made bread was the greatest. The staff, including Shirley, were super friendly. This is truly a gem in the woods. If you are travelling between Grayling and Traverse City Michigan on M72, stop at this one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PRF569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Just right!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

This is a really popular place, as it should be. Four of us stopped in for breakfast this morning and I had the corned beef hash omelette, with hash browns and sourdough bread. It was excellent! The food was a wee bit slow, but that was because of volume, so no worries. The young lady who attended to us, was bright, smart and with a good sense of humour (which she probably needed with this merry band of miscreants!). Thoroughly recommend his for a nice breakfast. It is also, easy off easy on for RVs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shirley's In the Woods Cafe' also viewed

Kalkaska, Kalkaska County
 
Kalkaska, Kalkaska County
 
Kalkaska, Kalkaska County
Kalkaska, Kalkaska County
 

Been to Shirley's In the Woods Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing