We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Homespun Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shirley's In the Woods Cafe'

Shirley's In the Woods Cafe'
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Kalkaska
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
327 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Fine Homespun Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Popped into Shirley's one Sunday morning en route from Traverse to Toledo. We'd driven by this place many times, and noticed its popularity based on the number of cars in the lot surrounding it.

It was busy...not overly hectic, but there was a short wait for a table...ten minutes or so. The food was very well prepared. My wife's pot roast hash was quite tasty, while my "Cajun Sledder" an odd amalgam of fried potatoes, "Cajun" sausage, breaded-and-deep-fried jalapenoes, cheddar cheese and onions all topped with two eggs was ample though slightly lacking in spiciness. We also opted for two of the homemade bread options for toast: carrot wheat and potato-rosemary. Both were nicely done.

The only complaints are one that go with a mom-and-pop joint when its busy. Food was slow to arrive (our coffee cups were refilled three times while we waited for our food). And after waiting a short while for our check to arrive we simply went up to the counter and paid for it up there. We figured it best to do that to help them free up a table for others waiting to be seated.

Still, the staff is friendly and amiable, so no complaints there. If there is a remaining quibble it is that it would be nice if Shirley's paved their parking lot. Otherwise, be careful to avoid the numerous mud-potholes as you drive in!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    21
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Our family eats here often, fresh food, delicious at a fair price, best bread in the north! Convenient location off hwy 72. I would recommend this place to locals and tourists.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This small café was packed when we arrived, so we waited approximately 20 minutes for a table. The ladies that run/work here have quite the system for running this place....everyone helped and worked to make our dining experience pleasant. A full menu is available all day, so whatever you saw, you could get any time of day. We were there for breakfast and the food was EXCELLENT! We had biscuits and gravy, an omelet, and plain eggs....but the best was the homemade sourdough toast. Seriously the best I have had in my life! Pricing was average and with tip, I would consider it underpriced for the quality and service!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jamaicajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalkaska, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great home style food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Shirley's is a small cafe in the middle of no where - a little gem. The food and the service are wonderful. Breakfast is fantastic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank basketchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

A nice place to stop in for breakfast featuring home cooking along with some exceptional bread selections, and friendly service. I prefer locally owed businesses particularly when they offer up a good product.

There were four in our group and this opinion reflects each one of our inputs.

Remember the breakfast is good home cooking at a fair value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shirley's In the Woods Cafe' also viewed

Kalkaska, Kalkaska County
Kalkaska, Kalkaska County
 
Kalkaska, Kalkaska County
 

Been to Shirley's In the Woods Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing