We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basically a Clean Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Kalkaska

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge Kalkaska
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kalkaska
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basically a Clean Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my family in a room with 3 Beds. The room was huge and accomodating to 6 member of my family. The room was very clean and had everything that we needed for our stay. The breakfast area was small but had enough food to start our day. The staff was polite and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    3
    6
    7
    21
See reviews for
13
9
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Rooms are dirty, fingerprints on the wall, I felt dirtier after having a shower than before, but that was not the worst of it. The guy running the place is a rude, unreasonable, cranky little hostile man. Upon check out, he would not allow me to pay cash for the room, stating it HAD to stay on my credit card! WHAT? After I get home, I find $1284 worth of FRAUDULENT charges on my card! VISA is investigating and they will be looking hard at the Kalkaska Econo Lodge operation. BEWARE......you have been warned! STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kalkaska hotels

Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Attempted to book a room at the All Seasons resort down the street, however they neglected to return 3 of my phone calls to book a room, so I decided to get the points and try the Econo Lodge. And really it wasn't that bad. The owners and staff are very nice and do the best they can with the property-- it is what it is.

A couple of suggestions would be breakfast, try the Trout Town Cafe, 1 block east of "main" street, good grubs and Great wait staff! Also, if you need to workout, the "Kaliseum" has it all.. nice weight room, lap pool, etc..opens at 6am, $5 guest fee.

Anyway, I survived a week in Kalkaska at the Econo Lodge, great little town and no problems with the lodging.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drinkwater11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

This hotel was AWFUL! The gentleman running the hotel was extremely rude and hostile. He did not want to give us our discounted rate, and only did so as I was on hold with the Choice Hotels customer service line. The room was even worse! Although there were "no smoking" signs plastered everywhere, the room reeked of cigarette smoke. The room was very outdated and run down. The bedsheets were not clean, nor was anything in the bathroom. The bed was not comfortable either. The stairs to get to the second floor were very steep and what I would consider unsafe. When we went to check out the next morning (1 day before our reservation was up), the gentleman at the front desk threw a huge fit and tried to charge us for more than one night. My husband and I were trying to celebrate our honeymoon on the way to Traverse City, and our one night at this hotel almost ruined it for us. It was so bad that we ended up going out on the town as late as we could so we didn't have to be there for long. This was the absolute worst hotel experience I have ever had, and I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone, even if it was a last resort.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganSpanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawas City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

not a clean place-dirty hand prints around doors and on walls. toilet was not cleaned-you couldn't tell by looking, but when i went to wipe the seat off as a precaution the toilet paper "caught" on something......not cool! especially since we asked to check in early and they said we couldn't because they had to clean. there was only one skimpy spider as far as bugs go. although i didn't think to check for signs of bed bugs. i didn't get any bites that i know of. i'm hoping there weren't any that i brought home! we stayed one night and i skipped the shower experience cuz where the no skid tub mat edge met the tub there was unkown black cruddy crack. i'll pass! let's just say should NOT have the econolodge name! : ( the beds were decently comfortable-but again, i didn't check for signs of bed bugs so good luck.....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

Old looking in side, smelled old. Very worn carpet. Not a floor you (at least I did not) walk on with bare feet. Room was shabby looking.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob48198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

To be honest, the room was gross. Those ear wiggie things were in the bathroom, cigarette holes in both the blanket and the bedspread. It was late, thought the name econo lodge would be clean, but I will never, nor will my husband who goes Up North quite a bit for Snowmobiling. The free breakfast was was just that free. No fruits at all and the Danishes were still very cold. Coffee was ok. But of course had to bring back to your room and no trays for that either. So , he I was juggling 3 danishes a muffin and 2 coffees, had to make another trip for Juice for the kids. Definitely the place needs CLEANING and painting. pd 100 bucks, The would not take our discounts, we could have, should have driven to Traverse City, but had a toddler who needed to wind down and it was late. Do Not stay with a Family.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sreneeKalamazoo_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalkaska
18.1 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
16.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
20.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#1 of 4 in Kalkaska
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Granada Inn Motel
Granada Inn Motel
#2 of 4 in Kalkaska
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
19.7 mi away
Traverse City MI Travelodge
Traverse City MI Travelodge
#19 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Kalkaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Kalkaska

Property: Econo Lodge Kalkaska
Address: 703 N Cedar St, Kalkaska, MI 49646-8485
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalkaska County > Kalkaska
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kalkaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Kalkaska 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Kalkaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalkaska Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing