We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privately Operated Econo Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Kalkaska
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kalkaska
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Privately Operated Econo Lodge”
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Ok, not a place Id take the family. This is a fisherman/hunter/area worker motel. Not degrading this crowd because Im one of them, but most of us stay on the corporate tab and they want to get by as cheap as possible. Foreign operated. Rooms are dated, but fairly clean. Rooms include a hair dryer, fridge, micro, etc. I believe breakfast is included but did not check it out. From my experience these privately owned properties always seem to have old worn out rooms, sheets, towels etc. Bottom line is its a foreign operated Econo Lodge, not to stereotype, but for those of us that travel frequently that about sums it up.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Driverjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    3
    7
    7
    21
See reviews for
13
10
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croswell, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here one night over Memorial Day weekend, This hotel was less than half the price of those in Traverse City. This was an old, not an updated property but was clean and comfortable for a night. The biggest complaint was that the shower head was very low and if you are tall, that was a little problem. It was quite cramped in the room but again for the price, it was fine. There is no elevator at this property and they were not really able to accomodate handicap travelers. I ride a mobility scooter but am able to walk plus there was not room in our room for my scooter anyway. We parked right in front of our room and I was able to walk into the room.

Room Tip: Not a good choice for handicap travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Had to step over the toilet to close the bathroom door and to get to the shower that was maybe 3'x3'. Dead bugs under the bed, Wiskers left around the sink and a BAD oder. Internet problems, Breakfast was a joke. If this is the only motel with rooms left in kalkaska I will sleep in my car.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nadabite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kalkaska hotels

Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This Hotel shouldn't be operating as a bussiness. It has bugs & it smell horrible. Avoid this hotel at all cost.I stayed one night and it was the worst experience ever.Trust me stay far away from this place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larue92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Couldn't find a room in Traverse City so I thought this might be OK. It was extremely overpriced ($95+); hotel has a bad smell; room was tight; stairs were steep; a sweet roll and coffee were the only things offered for breakfast; wireless internet didn't reach the upstairs room; bed was uncomfortable; couldn't wait to leave!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The internet has a strange set up (you have to go to the office to get a User Name and password everyday)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Landdsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This hotel was very affordable. The room was clean and had wired high speed Internet. I was able to park right in front of my room. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalkaska
16.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
18.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
23.7 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
367 reviews
20.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
340 reviews
20.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Kalkaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Kalkaska

Property: Econo Lodge Kalkaska
Address: 703 N Cedar Street, Kalkaska, MI 49646
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalkaska County > Kalkaska
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kalkaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Kalkaska 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Kalkaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalkaska Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing