We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gross” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Kalkaska

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge Kalkaska
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kalkaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gross”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

To be honest, the room was gross. Those ear wiggie things were in the bathroom, cigarette holes in both the blanket and the bedspread. It was late, thought the name econo lodge would be clean, but I will never, nor will my husband who goes Up North quite a bit for Snowmobiling. The free breakfast was was just that free. No fruits at all and the Danishes were still very cold. Coffee was ok. But of course had to bring back to your room and no trays for that either. So , he I was juggling 3 danishes a muffin and 2 coffees, had to make another trip for Juice for the kids. Definitely the place needs CLEANING and painting. pd 100 bucks, The would not take our discounts, we could have, should have driven to Traverse City, but had a toddler who needed to wind down and it was late. Do Not stay with a Family.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sreneeKalamazoo_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    3
    6
    7
    21
See reviews for
13
9
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

This motel is old. Nothing is modern. My room did have a refrigerator and microwave and offered WiFi. There was no tub; just a shower. I didn't use it, although it looked clean. The free breakfast was minimal and there was no place to sit, so you had to take your food back to the room. The redeeming feature was the price, which was much cheaper than the better hotels in nearby Traverse City. Still, the price was a lot for so little.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bltzflk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kalkaska hotels

Illinois
Level Contributor
402 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

I stayed here one night on July 10, 2009. The Econo Lodge is located right on US 131 in the town of Kalkaska. It's a two story motel with no elevator only stairs. It's an L- shaped place with plenty of parking for cars and big vehicles. Check in was fast and simple. My room was on the second floor and was a corner room. The stairs to the second floor were very steep. The room was huge with two beds. It also had a mini fridge and microwave. The room was clean and the beds were decent. The pillows however were terrible, super hard. The bathroom was very clean but the colors were outdated on the toilet and shower. Think Fiestaware colors. There was also a so called free breakfast which consisted of assorted breads and coffee and oj. It's better to eat elsewhere for breakfast.
Overall my stay was fine. No smells in the room, tv worked, shower was fine, etc. I wouldn't have a problem staying here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aerowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

I recently made a reservation to stay a this Econo Lodge through Travelocity. Upon arriving to the hotel I learned that it catered to transient and weekly renters. Upon getting my room key I learned that I was not done with the surprises! The bed had visible stains on the mattress pad and comfortor. There were little dead bugs in the bathroom around the perimeter of the sink and the toilet. To top things off the entire motel smelled strongly of moth balls and my individual room had a strong odor that burned my eyes.

I went to the front desk and requested a refund and was told they would not issue one as I purchased through Travelocity. Travelocity refused to refund my money as they stated that the Econo Lodge did not have a written copy of my complaint to them and that the room was cleaned the next day....not sure how this was supposed to resolve my problem.

I ended up driving the twenty minutes to Traverse City to find a room - I would recommend you do the same!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadwarrior88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

Please do not waste your money at this hotel. It was old, lacked maintenance, and smelled like mothballs. The walls and furniture in our room were filthy. There was nowhere else to stay in the general area so we endured it.
Do not stay here.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whodathunkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalkaska
16.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
20.1 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
18.1 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
20.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.4 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#1 of 4 in Kalkaska
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Kalkaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Kalkaska

Property: Econo Lodge Kalkaska
Address: 703 N Cedar St, Kalkaska, MI 49646-8485
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalkaska County > Kalkaska
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kalkaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Kalkaska 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Econo Lodge Kalkaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalkaska Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing