We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now a summer staple”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Leelanau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fountain Point Resort
GreenLeadersSilver level
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Now a summer staple”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Wholesome, relaxing, fairly quiet, clean, has a good support staff. If you're into TV and electronic games, this is not your kind of place. If silence disturbs you, you might be unnerved. But if you like the outdoors, relaxing chairs and good books to read, this is just fine. Terrific beach, too.

Room Tip: Late August is best: Warm sunny days, few biting insects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank r p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights with our two young children. We had a great time and will definitely be back. It is spartan, at best, but that was expected given the price. We stayed in the main house. We ended up switching rooms our second night. If we go back, I will request a room on the 2nd floor with a sink (which is what we had on the second night). The grounds are nice, breakfast is good. It would be a great place to get a few young families together for a weekend.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank june20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Fountain Point has a rustic resort vibe and friendly staff. My friend and I stayed in the main hotel, which was a great value for the location. We would wake up and then go for a morning swim in the lovely lake RIGHT THERE. The stars at night were breathtaking. Feels like a family place with lots of young folks running around, but it still provides a relaxing vacation. Easy 15-minute drive into Traverse City. Clean, comfy, no complaints. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My wife & I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We stayed in the main building (hotel) part of the resort. Upon check in we walked into an uncleaned room which was disappointing but the staff quickly cleaned it & profusely apologized. They were very pleasant and nice to interact with. The facilities are certainly old but what do you expect from a 100 year old house? The charm of the house makes up for any creaks or cracks. We stayed one of the rooms that had it's own bathroom which was nice. For the rate we got & the area it was a very nice value. We didn't stick around much during our stay but when we did we thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful porch overlooking the lake. We also enjoyed swimming at the beach in front of the hotel. What a great place for us to spend time together. We would definitely come back & are consindering bringing our family back to stay in one of the cottages.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank danbuhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The hotel and cottages are very nice great atmosphere worth a good price to saty here and enjoy. However, 4,000 a week for the most expensive and 2,400 at the most inexpensive it just isn't worth the stay. If there was A/C in the hotel ...that would help but even then extremely expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank race1car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

When my family goes this summer, this'll be our eighth or ninth summer! I've lost track... There's great things to do just a few miles away. You get there, cry and greet all your friends you haven't seen in a year and tell them everything you've done. You throw your luggage in the cottage and get your swimming suit on and go to the beach for the next 4 hours. Play in the sand, go boating, go out to the raft. Then you go eat lunch on the porch of your cottage and go into town. You never knew raw fish could smell so good. The small town of Leland/Fishtown is just so friendly and small. There's no way to get bored here and endless amounts of things to do. You go back to grill hotdogs and eat with your friends. Then, once it's dark, you roast marshmellows and stargaze. If you're lucky, you'll see a shooting star. Then, when you finally turn in at about midnight, you fall asleep to the sound of the drip of the fountain and the chirping of the crickets. This place is perfect. You have to love it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grimreeper98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Spent three days in the hotel. The room was simple and had that old-style charm. No bathroom in the room just like in the old days. Had to share the bathrooms with several other rooms, but never was an issue. The grounds are spacious and lot's of things to do for children.

The water in Lake Leelanau felt good on the hot summer days.

Easy access to Leland and Sutton's Bay.

This is a excellent place for a family getaway.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JorgeCurioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Leelanau
4.5 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leland
74 reviews
14.8 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
15.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Korner Kottage Bed & Breakfast
20.3 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#1 of 3 in Empire
261 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Point Resort

Property: Fountain Point Resort
Address: 990 S Lake Leelanau Dr, PO Box 175, Lake Leelanau, MI 49653-9658
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Lake Leelanau
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Leelanau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1889, this National Historic Site with 19 Cottages of all different sizes and 14-room bed & breakfast style hotel is located on the shores of Lake Leelanau, in the middle of beautiful Leelanau County. Open May-October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fountain Point Hotel Lake Leelanau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing