We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable option in the Leelanau Peninsula”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Leelanau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fountain Point Resort
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Pros: Quiet location in Lake Leelanau but not far from the more expensive destinations of Glen Arbor and Suttons Bay. Close to a grocery store in the village of Lake Leelanau. Affordable prices. Hotel rooms & private cottage options. Private beach. Fireplace, books & reading area on the first floor. Tennis courts & outdoor games. Free wifi. Very family-friendly.

Cons: The hotel rooms do not have a tv, a phone, or a bathroom (toilets & showers are shared by the entire floor). The shared restrooms were not cleaned frequently enough. The breakfast room is open only very briefly in the early morning (8-9am on Sundays). The rooms are dated (think 1920's).

Overall, if you're going for a no-frills spot to crash after a day of Leelanau Peninsula activities, this place is a good bargain.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Scott Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

Fountain Veiw was the best part of out trip to traverse city, I actually think we would of had more fun if we would have skipped Traverse all together and just stayed here all weekend. The boats are a perfect way to start your day, followed by a great breakfast inside the hotel. There are so many things to do not to far away that it is perfect. Suttons Bay was a great spot to go for dinner, not to mention all the tasting spots we found... Our favorite stop... Tandum Ciders

Room Tip: Wake up early and take a boating vessel of your choice out on the lake, I'm so glad we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RonniWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

In the heart of gorgeous NW lower Michigan Fountain Point Resort has both cottages and an old inn (circa 1890's) for accommodation. We stayed in the Inn during the Leelanau Peninsula Birding Festival and loved the atmosphere. The weather was not fine during the weekend (rainy and cool) but when we returned from outside there were several rooms with a warm fire going in the fireplace and comfortable places to sit and read and work on our computer (wifi available but seemed a bit slow).

Staff were excellent and very helpful for anything we asked about. The only negatives may be due to the time of year (start of the season up north). The morning breakfast was a bit sparse and my wife ate later than I did and said they had run out of milk. Hopefully that will not be a problem over the summer. As this is an old in the rooms had two available shared bathrooms down the hall that were clean and modern. Bathrobes were provided for the down the hall ventures. It was cool and we needed heat in the room (probably not necessary most of the summer season) and had to turn on the old electric heater which was a bit difficult to read the temperature gauge but worked well.

We both loved staying here regardless of the minor issues and are planning to return next year with hopes of sunny warm weather so we can enjoy the beach, kayaks and bicycles at the inn. One more thing, this inn is only about a half mile out of the village of Lake Leelanau with an excellent bakery and wine tasting store. Only about ten minutes to the west is Leeland and to the east Sutton's Bay with more shops and restaurants for those inclined. For me the location was best as the inn is near the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore with miles of trails and the best beaches and views in the Great Lakes.

Room Tip: no elevator! remember that when you pack and choose the second floor if you have too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Wholesome, relaxing, fairly quiet, clean, has a good support staff. If you're into TV and electronic games, this is not your kind of place. If silence disturbs you, you might be unnerved. But if you like the outdoors, relaxing chairs and good books to read, this is just fine. Terrific beach, too.

Room Tip: Late August is best: Warm sunny days, few biting insects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank r p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights with our two young children. We had a great time and will definitely be back. It is spartan, at best, but that was expected given the price. We stayed in the main house. We ended up switching rooms our second night. If we go back, I will request a room on the 2nd floor with a sink (which is what we had on the second night). The grounds are nice, breakfast is good. It would be a great place to get a few young families together for a weekend.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank june20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Fountain Point has a rustic resort vibe and friendly staff. My friend and I stayed in the main hotel, which was a great value for the location. We would wake up and then go for a morning swim in the lovely lake RIGHT THERE. The stars at night were breathtaking. Feels like a family place with lots of young folks running around, but it still provides a relaxing vacation. Easy 15-minute drive into Traverse City. Clean, comfy, no complaints. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My wife & I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We stayed in the main building (hotel) part of the resort. Upon check in we walked into an uncleaned room which was disappointing but the staff quickly cleaned it & profusely apologized. They were very pleasant and nice to interact with. The facilities are certainly old but what do you expect from a 100 year old house? The charm of the house makes up for any creaks or cracks. We stayed one of the rooms that had it's own bathroom which was nice. For the rate we got & the area it was a very nice value. We didn't stick around much during our stay but when we did we thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful porch overlooking the lake. We also enjoyed swimming at the beach in front of the hotel. What a great place for us to spend time together. We would definitely come back & are consindering bringing our family back to stay in one of the cottages.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank danbuhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Leelanau
4.5 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
80 reviews
15.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
14.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
3,346 reviews
3.0 mi away
Korner Kottage Bed & Breakfast
20.3 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#1 of 3 in Empire
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Point Resort

Address: 990 S Lake Leelanau Dr, PO Box 175, Lake Leelanau, MI 49653-9658
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Lake Leelanau
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Leelanau
Price Range: £61 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1889, this National Historic Site with 19 Cottages of all different sizes and 14-room bed & breakfast style hotel is located on the shores of Lake Leelanau, in the middle of beautiful Leelanau County. Open May-October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fountain Point Hotel Lake Leelanau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing