We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced under delivers”
Review of Wild Cherry Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Leelanau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Cherry Resort
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The website claims they have 4 acre lake. It is more like a small pond overgrown with scum, weeds,bugs, and goose turds. There is nothing for kids here. No playground,no pool,no store,no bathrooms,no cable,bad WiFi. They charge way too much,$59.00 per night. The owner complains about your dogs if they do there business on your site,even if you clean up after them.
They seem to cater to seniors and big rigs. There is a much better campground a few miles away on Lake Leelanau.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ed t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Owner at Wild Cherry Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Appreciate your coments.

We do not cater to children but most find lots to do. The lake ( pond ) is not a swimming lake which it sounds you were looking for. Bugs have never been a problem yet you are camping so one needs to consider that. Weeds in the lake are "cat tails" this is nature at it's finest.

All in all I hope your site at LL was what you were looking for. No Bugs, Pool, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

I'm reviewing this site for its yurt rental facility only, not as an RV site because those are two very different experiences. Instead of the usual tent site I found that the Wild Cherry also has one yurt for rent. The location of the resort itself is very handy for exploring both the Lake Michigan side near Sleeping Bear Dunes and the bayside area of Suttons Bay. It is walking distance to a nice winery called 45 North. The yurt was spacious and clean, you have to bring your own linen. The yurt is in a secluded area of the tent sites. The main drawback could be the shower tent is shared and a short walk away, also the portable toilet is nearby and shared with one other tent campsite; both clean though. However, if you are looking for more space than a tent and know to expect shared basic facilities then you will enjoy this rental. Also, the price was reasonable for the area and time of year (high season). The staff were friendly too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

There are NO bathrooms or laundry facilities. There is no pool or facilities for kids. There is a nice club house area but you need to drive your car to get to it and even at the clubhouse there are no bathrooms. The "lake" is really just a pond and the place is charging top dollar - like $59 per night if you want a groomed site near the pond otherwise it is still $45. Pretty expensive for what you get.

We travel in a fifth wheel - just 2 people.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank jamesardito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Owner at Wild Cherry Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

The month of July is always high priced in a resort area.

Also no bathrooms are provided because all guests are required to have a self contained unit.

Laundry can be done at the local laundromat which is only 2 miles. Also all of our sites are groomed including the $45 ones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was a great place to stay. We did tent camping and loved it. Port a John coil have been emptied more but other than that it was great. Definitly great and lots of great wineries near by.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank AdamB626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wild Cherry Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Cherry Resort

Address: 8653 E Horn Rd, Lake Leelanau, MI 49653
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Lake Leelanau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lake Leelanau
Number of rooms: 76

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing