We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Man's Frankenmuth”
Review of Canterbury Village

Canterbury Village
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Lake Orion
Attraction details
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Poor Man's Frankenmuth”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

In appearance, that is. This place is cute but really needs some work.
There are many empty "shops". The window displays are so old and worn that they are deteriorating/green-palored/very creepy.
The food used to be a lot better than it is now. Like A LOT better.
Some shops seem thrown together and incredibly random in their selections
The ambiance of the village, itself, is cute/quaint. I only wish that the people that own it would come up with a more cohesive plan for it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    10
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Iowa, United States
1 review
“I was impressed with the fairy shop and the christmas shop. Just wish some of the other shopswould have been open. I was”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I wish more of the shops would have been open. the Christmas shop an the fairy shop were the only ones open. I was there until 11:25 a.m. waiting for the shops to open. Very disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wedding Venue plus!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I will comment in a totally different manner. I attended two weddings at Canterbury. One in the winter and the other in July. The chapel was beautifully decorated with a permanent stained glass backdrop. The bride and groom looked fantastic in erson and in their pictures. After the ceremony the carrousel was availabe for pictures. It was a romantic setting and the guests enjoyed walking the grounds until the reception. The banquet room was elegant and roomy. I truly was impressed. The food was very good and the service was attentive to detail. The facilities and grounds were well kept. Although I didn't visit the shops, we did stop into the pub to enjoy a drink and a small plate. A great experience. And yes.... The Christmas store was filled with beautiful and classy items. I will return.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineinTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
194 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wasn't what I Expected”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I don't plan to return. This place reminded me of a cross between a Carnival and the Renaissance Festival, gone wild. Some of the shops were just jammed with "stuff" while others not so much.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique Stores!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Canterbury Village is a favorite place to visit on the weekends for my family. The castle is gorgeous, the pub's food is excellent (I recommend the Dragon Chicken Sandwich), and the shops in the cottages at the back have the cutest merchandise.

There is Celtic Connection and Highland Fling for Irish and Scottish themed merchandise, the Enchanted Cottage for a mix of "enchanting" product including fairy decor, the Tea Boutique for tea and fine china, Breads and Threads for handmade items such as blankets and soap, and Uniquely Yours for all locally made-in-Michigan product ranging from stained glass and jewelry to children's toys.

The Christmas store is gorgeous, but don't view Canterbury as a Christmas location. Take the time to walk around in nice weather and see the other shops or eat at the pub.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Canterbury Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing