We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Lansing West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This Red Roof Inn has definitely been the best I have stayed in. It is surrounded by trees with in private street, close to a variety of restaurants, nice clean remodeled rooms, and a front desk staff that always greet you with a smile and take the time to make the stay a pleasant experience. Thanks to the staff I now have a RediCard rewards membership that racks up points every time I stay, On my way to free stay

Room Tip: Front rooms on the second floor have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you so much for your review on our location. We loved having you stay with us and wish you all the best. I will be sure to share this with the rest of the team. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    78
    23
    13
    10
See reviews for
69
41
48
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeWitt, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hotel was very clean and modernized. The newly renovated rooms were a welcome surprise. All the rooms now have brand new beds and flat screen tv's. The staff was amazing. They were very knowledgeable about the area and very pleasant to talk with. Everyone was really friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrjisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lansing West location. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed the new upgrades in the room. I will be sure to share your thoughts with the team. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Nice place, remodeled and very decent for the price. It was clean and maid staff was very nice along with front desk. I will stay there again when I return for Michigan State University trips. I got their best room, all was clean and nice. I forgot my power cord for a medical device of mine I had left in my room. Didn't discover it until later Saturday night when I returned to the Chicago Area. Maid staff had found it, turned it into front desk and they mailed it back to me at my home address. Now that was great!! Thank you very, very much!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Lansing West location. I'm so happy to hear your stay was good and your room was clean. I'm also glad to hear you recieved your cord, it was my pleasure to mail that to you! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I was worried after booking this hotel from the negative reviews. I wasn't expecting anything special when I checked-in but was pleasantly surprised at the room. It was clean and the tv was pretty good. My only negative was that online the check-in time states 1pm but when I tried checking in at 4:15pm I was told my room was not ready and to come back in an hour or so. That's not acceptable due to me having a set time schedule that I was on, I had an hour to kill and had to waste my gas driving around trying to waste time. but overall for the price I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigsam83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Lansing West location. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, I am also very sorry you had to wait past official check in time. We have been very busy during our peak season, and some times run behind our cleaning schedule. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owosso, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

learned my lesson. no more stays at motel 6. it might have been an isolated incodent. from here on in i will stay at red roof inn. the room was immaculant. microwave and refrig. big screen tv. free wi-fi and the service was excellent. and i found no excessive amount of flies. i don't care about these other reviews which are negative, for red roof inn. all i can say, i enjoyed my stay there at the red roof inn,

Room Tip: red roof inn ur the bomb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Lansing West location. Your kind response is what keeps us motivated to provide quality service and rooms. I'm very glad you enjoyed our new updated rooms. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, mi
Level Contributor
1,134 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

The location of this Red Roof is good because of it's close proximity to the expressway, an excellant gourmet farm market/ grocery store, shopping and restaurants.

The location of this Red Roof is bad, because it seems to be a magnet for bad, unruley people.

The room was very good and was recently remodeled. The bed was comfortable and the flatscreen tv was very good. The only room downside I could find was that the toilet tank had a small leak, and the carpet was so new, it still had the strong "new carpet" smell.

There were many disturbances at this location.

Shortly after checking in, there were police sirens in the parking lot. The police made an arrest of one of the hotel guests.

The balconies are constructed poorly, as anyone walking past the room is loudly heard. Any conversations outside on the balcony are easily heard.

Late at night, around 3:30am to 4:30am there were many dogs barking. A disturbed guest a few rooms down started yelling out "shut up". A little while later, the barking stopped.

The next morning, an intoxicated person was found in the ice machine area. Funny, how the hotel staff didn't think that it was worth the effort to contact the police.

While eating breakfast, one hotel staff member said to the desk clerk "check this out, I can't believe someone made such a mess in their room for staying only one night". Both left to investigate, leaving the desk unattended for about four minutes.

The free breakfast here was very minimal... a few apples, granola bars, instant oatmeal, and danish-style pastries in plastic wrap. No microwave oven. Seating only for two in the breakfast area.

If you enjoy sleep...stay elsewhere.



I have no idea where the two traveler photos of the stairway and foyer are located... certainly not here. The photo of the go-carts in the parking lot look like they are somewhere else as well. My photo of police activity was definately taken at this location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lansing West location. I'm very sorry you had to endure the events of the previous weekend. It is certainly not normal for this quiet little inn. The arrest was due to a chase that happened to end in our parking lot, unfortunate for us and our guests. The gentle man in the vending area had suffered a seizure and fell into the wall, emergency was called, and he is now recovering. I wanted to make sure you were aware of the very extenuating circumstances surrounding the weekend’s events. I am very glad you enjoyed our new upgrades and had time to visit Horrock's market next door! Again, thank you for your time and I hope you are willing to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

I booked the Red Roof Inn Lansing West after reading reviews. I am planning to return as service was good, the room was somewhat better than I expected and they have a few good restaurants nearby. Although I did not try the breakfast offer, I doubt that the experience would be great given the tiny size of the facility.

The room was clean and I had a great sleep.

Hotel was easy to get to, loads of conveniences around for gas, some shopping and restaurants. Planning to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing West, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Lansing West location. We have worked very hard in the last few weeks making many new upgrades including new mattresses and bedding, new carpet in all rooms, and flat screen TV's. I will be sure to share your review with the rest of the team. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lansing hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#3 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lansing West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Lansing Hotel And Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lansing
7.8 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#13 of 25 in Lansing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Lansing West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lansing West

Property: Red Roof Inn Lansing West
Address: 7412 W Saginaw Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917-1104
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lansing
#3 Business Hotel in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lansing West 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Red Roof Inn is Newly renovated with all new Flat screen TVs, carpet, beds, and top of the line linens 100% Smoke-Free and conveniently located just 6 miles from Capital City Airport, 10 minutes from downtown Lansing and 7 minutes from Michigan State University. The Inn is located near a wide variety of restaurants and plenty of local shopping and offers free Wifi and a flat screen TV in all guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lansing West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Lansing West Hotel Lansing
Lansing Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing