We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet room good location”
Review of Courtyard Lansing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Lansing
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quiet room good location”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting friends in East Lansing.
We were close to everything we needed to be.
The rooms were quiet and the bed comfortable. Nice flatscreen tv with HBO and BTN.
They serve free coffee in the lobby and have a little bistro for breakfast. Reasonabley priced.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msacks71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtraskos, General Manager at Courtyard Lansing, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hello Msacks71,

Thank you for the great review of our property! We so appreciate your efforts and hope that other travelers to our area will take your review into consideration and stay at our wonderful property! Travel safely!

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    82
    32
    16
    12
See reviews for
63
25
13
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Nice property and modernized bistro and front reception. The property is well maintained and the decor is relaxing. The rooms are a bit older and need some updating. There isn't an elevator in the hotel so if you have heavy stuff request a room on the first floor. The location is a bit cumbersome to get to but is right off the highway. Even on the highway side of the building there is little to no noise in the rooms. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peekie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtraskos, General Manager at Courtyard Lansing, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Hello Peekie45,

We are very thankful that you spent time advising your fellow travelers of the nice stay you had at our Courtyard in Lansing. I am glad that you appreciated the décor and found the building to be well maintained. I am especially glad that you said you would stay with us again and look forward to it!

Sincerely,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Recently stopped in Lansing on our way up to Charlevoix, MI. Excellent service, decent room and price. Room was clean and quite, no problem sleeping. Near several shopping centers with lots of restaurant choices. Close to the highway. No real complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTerpFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtraskos, General Manager at Courtyard Lansing, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Hello Tomterpfan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property! We are pleased that you found our hotel to be comfortable, clean, and convenient. We hope to see you again and, until then, will do our very best to keep up the good work.

Sincerely,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights while getting our son settled for school. Good location for MSU and lots to do around the hotel. Nice shopping center across the street and only a short drive to Grand River and campus. Room was very clean and well stocked, my only complaint is the staff. They were not very welcoming, no acknowledgement of Marriott Gold Status and no little welcome gift. Problem getting the front desk staff to understand using free nights for part of the stay despite the reservation being correct.

While I hate to say this I have had the same problem with staff being competent and friendly at several Courtyards around the Country. I think this might be a brand training issue. This doesn't happen at other Marriott brand even Fairfield Inns are better. If you have a choice stay at one of the other Marriott brands in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtraskos, General Manager at Courtyard Lansing, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hello Roy N,

I am glad that you stayed at our property during the move-in to the university. That can be a challenge and we are glad that you chose our property. I am concerned that you did not feel that our staff was friendly. In fact, we score very well in this area from our other guests, as evidenced by the prior review on this page. I would be very happy to discuss this personally and invite you to contact me at your convenience.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

Sincerely,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is an older building, which I prefer as they seem to transmit less noise. This particular property is very well maintained, it is clean and our room was very nice; clean and up to date. The flat screen TV was fine as was the bed, linens, shower etc. The room had a very slight musty odor which we assumed came out of the air conditioner.

We used the fitness room and the equipment was all in working order except for the small screen TVs on some of the equipment. Not a big deal.

The front desk staff was competent and very friendly. My only issue with Courtyards in general is they do not have a 24 hour free coffee bar. Seems kind of chintzy, given the cost a room at the Courtyard.

This courtyard is across the street from a fairly decent mall with some acceptable restaurants. When leaving the property for some reason known only to the Michigan Department of Transportation you can NOT drive across the street into the mall, but you must turn either right or left. Turn left to get to the mall, using a subsequent right turn to enter the mall. Turn right to return to the expressway. This property is not in a particularly walkable location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtraskos, General Manager at Courtyard Lansing, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hello Dave62,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback to your fellow travelers. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and our great staff. We absolutely love the mall across the street and agree with your opinion of the signage. Travel safely!

Sincerely,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed here for two nights and throughout the time I spent there I was very pleased with the service offered. The staff have been very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious. Free wifi was available throughout all the hotel. The purchased breakfast was quite good too. On a negative side, there is no elevator, and this makes it difficult and tiring to take up your luggage after traveling.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emanazzopardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtraskos, General Manager at Courtyard Lansing, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hello Emenazzopardi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for the kind words about our hotel and staff! I appreciate your willingness to inform your fellow travelers about this hotel and others. We certainly value your feedback!

Sincerely,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here while riding on a bike tour. Staff seemed friendly at check in. Couldn't believe that this hotel didn't have an elevator. After riding over 100 miles that day, wasn't looking forward to carting luggage up stairs. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. We had to be up and out too early to try breakfast. (Another hotel we stayed at the day before had a breakfast specifically for those of us riding-would have been a nice touch.) Had a near hostage situation at the hotel during our stay-had our floor shut down, police surrounding the hotel on our return. We were allowed to walk up to our room and never stopped or denied entrance. There was a note under our door the next morning. Situation resolved peacefully.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innerhousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtraskos, General Manager at Courtyard Lansing, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
I am so glad that you found our staff to be so helpful and I am happy to report that we are in the process of a renovation that includes an elevator. We are thrilled!

I am sorry that we did not provide a complimentary breakfast for your group. Our brand does have a full service restaurant with a variety of breakfast choices which is not typically included but I understand that you felt slighted as you were riding for charity. I hope you will feel a bit more comfortable with us knowing that we did provide a deeply discounted rate to benefit Make A Wish Foundation as we have personal ties with that group.

Thank you for your review and travel safely!

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lansing at Eastwood
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol
1.2 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 25 in Lansing
351 reviews
7.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Lansing

Property: Courtyard Lansing
Address: 2710 Lake Lansing Rd, Lansing, MI 48912-3622
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lansing
#5 Family Hotel in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Lansing 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Lansing is among the best hotels in Lansing, MI and we are pleased to welcome you to Michigan's capital city. We offer guests top amenities at an affordable price. During your stay with us, visit our on-site fitness center or business center and enjoy a swim in our hotel pool. We are one of the most pet friendly Lansing, MI hotels and are happy to welcome your four-legged friends, as our spacious rooms and suites have plenty of room for everyone. Lansing is a bustling college town featuring plenty of dining, shopping and entertainment, and our Marriott hotel is close to all that the city has to offer. We are also just 15 minutes from Capital Region International Airport and near several major companies. Play a round of golf at one of the many nearby courses, such as Forest Akers West Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lansing Hotel Lansing
Lansing Courtyard
Lansing Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing