We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Quality Inn
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Lansing
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

First room: no ac and the bathroom was super small. Second room: ac wasn't much better, offered a box fan, could feel the springs in the bed. Pool: cold and dirty. Last day out of 3: came back after being gone all day to door being wide open. No apologies, no compensation. Staff was nice, but the was the only positive for this hotel. We will never stay here again!! Not worth the three figures we paid for this dump.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Titan314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Sales Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I apologize that your stay was anything less than perfect. I am sorry our air conditioning was out in your first room, but am glad our staff was able to move you and get you a fan. We take security very seriously so I apologize if you did not feel the issue with your door was handled properly; If you would like to further discuss your stay please feel free to contact the hotel as we value your opinion and experience. I'm sorry that you encountered these issues during your stay and hope you will give us another chance during your next visit to Lansing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

It's been a few years since I stayed at this hotel last. On the plus side, the check in was fine and the staff quite friendly and helpful. The room itself was pretty good and the breakfast was good as well. There are plenty of food choices near by as well as shopping if needed. The TV channel choice was pretty good and the internet moved pretty fast, which is always a bonus. On the downside, the property is a bit dated and is definitely showing some wear around the edges. The management does need to sink a little money into some upgrades (the carpet was stained, the wall paper starting to come off.) It wasn't enough to get worked up over, but some work is needed. And getting in and out of the property means having to deal with East Grand River, and that's always a hassle. It was all and all a good stay, and would return in the future.

Room Tip: The pool side rooms are quite on the weekdays, but you might want to stay away from them on the week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbobKalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Sales Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for continuing to stay with the University Quality Inn. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you noticed the hard work of our staff and enjoyed the amenities. We are constantly updating the hotel and hope during your next visit to the Lansing area you’ll get to see our renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed one night. It was perfect for the family. Rooms were clean, pool was nice, complimentary drinks and a hot breakfast. Staff was very helpful. Staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Sales Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review! We are glad your stay was comfortable and pleasant. We do our best to make sure everyone has a great stay and we're happy to see our efforts recognized.
We look forward to having you back next time you visit the Lansing area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We also stayed here for MSU graduation and it was perfect for the family. The hotel is close to campus. Rooms were clean, pool was nice, complimentary drinks and a hot breakfast. Staff was very helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianbo402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Sales Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

I am so glad you and your family had a great stay while visiting MSU. We appreciate your kind words about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our family stayed one night at this hotel and had a pleasant experience. It happened to be the night before MSU's graduation so the hotel was sold out. Even though it was busy, it never seemed over crowded as it has large common space. It is an older, two-story hotel and I didn't see any elevators (which wasn't a problem for us but could be for some). There is a nice pool area with arcade games, pool tables and a bar. Two complimentary drink tickets were included as well as breakfast. Breakfast was typical hotel fare and was fully stocked and not overly busy. The staff was helpful and even allowed us to check out an hour late despite being sold out. The rooms are smaller but everything was clean and they do have safes in the rooms. The location is extremely convenient. It is right off of the expressway and only a few miles from MSU's campus. There are several restaurants nearby as well as drug stores for convenience items. Overall the hotel is nothing fancy but I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Sales Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the hotel’s bar, pool area, and free hot breakfast! We look forward to seeing you during your next trip to Lansing and thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The entrance to the hotel was inviting and the pool area was nicely done. The room was frightening. No ventilation, no air. The temp was 75 degrees and there was no way to fix it. Bed was as hard as the tile floor with worn bedding. Carpet was stained and threadbare.TV remote didn't work. Cheaply maintained at best. Poorly maintained in most ways. Whirlpool tub was also poorly maintained. No noise insulation. It's pretty bad when you can hear the neighbor using the restroom in the morning. The room itself looked more like a place for a cheap rendezvous than a comfortable place for a business traveler to spend the night. I could have gotten the same quality for a lot less at a less expensive hotel.
On the upside I did enjoy free WiFi and a very good breakfast in the morning. The person running the breakfast area did a great job and was about the only member of the staff who acted like they even cared if myself or any other guest was there or not. I'm generally not hard to please but I do know I will not be staying here on my next trip to town. It ranks as one of the worst places I have stayed.

Room Tip: If you want to get a good room I would suggest a different Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Sales Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I apologize that your stay was anything less than satisfactory. Please let us know if you have any issues with your room during your stay and we will do anything within our power to make it better. We do have air conditioning for the rooms, extra remotes, and fans if you need.
I am glad that you enjoyed our public areas and the breakfast attendant. Service is very important to us, so I will be sure to let our staff know.
I'm sorry that you encountered these issues during your stay and hope you will give us another chance during your next stay in Lansing. If you would like to further discuss your stay please feel free to contact the hotel as we value your opinion and experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was a completely adequate hotel for what we needed. Our family of four traveled for two nights to East Lansing for the MSU Science Festival. Two tweens and two adults. The check-in staff was friendly and provided good directions to our room. I didn't quite understand the complimentary drink coupons. I thought it was two per adult per night. We received two total for our two night stay in our check-in packet.

The back entrances were well lit, but worn. The common areas could use some attention. The rooms were tidy, but tiny! One double bed was up against the wall. The spreads were thin and tired looking. The pillows were comfy and we slept well both nights without noise from other rooms. The bathroom had some recent upgrades with a nice vanity, bump out shower curtain, and a gooseneck showerhead. Hot water was never an issue. It was great having a mini-fridge and microwave in the room.

The breakfast was perfect. Eggs, sausage, waffles for the hot items and the typical cold items including hard boiled eggs. The pool area was nice and we loved how the deep end was actually deep! The small slide was even fun for my tweens. We swam once in the afternoon and had the pool to ourselves, but our evening swim on a Friday night was quite busy with most of the deck chairs being taken.

The hotel is within walking distance of the campus. We walked it without an issue. Many eating options are also within walking distance.

If you need a place to lay your head, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. The only thing holding it back from a Very Good in my mind was the size of the room.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the common pool area for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upnorth98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Sales Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback about our hotel. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Our hotel does offer 2 free drink tickets per stay, so I apologize if there was any confusion at check-in or while making your reservation, I will be sure to let the front desk know.
I am also glad you noticed the enhancements we are constantly making to the hotel. I am sorry the room was smaller than expected, but hope you will stay with us during your next trip to Lansing to experience our continuous improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 26 in Lansing
476 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#3 of 26 in Lansing
345 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lansing, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lansing at Eastwood
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites East Lansing
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lansing West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Quality Inn

Address: 3121 E Grand River Ave, Lansing, MI 48912-4779
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range: £61 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Quality Inn is conveniently located right off of US-127, minutes from downtown Lansing, MSU, and within walking distance of 14 restaurants and 70 stores. The University Quality Inn offers rooms that are very spacious, a courtyard where you can enjoy the indoor pool, activity area and fitness center. You’ll find that our hotel is a great place to gather with a group or have a relaxing getaway. We offer rooms with luxurious heart shaped Jacuzzis, and comfortable suites for the entire family. We offer special group rates for corporate events and meetings, weddings, sports functions and various other events. Ask us about our special rates for your event. Whether it is for business or pleasure, we are sure you will find just what you need at the University Quality Inn. We offer the utmost in customer service and satisfaction; we are committed to making sure that your event meets all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your University Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Quality Hotel Lansing
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn Lansing
Lansing Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing