We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Quality Inn
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Lansing
Reviewed 14 August 2006

We stayed at this motel about a year and half ago and it was great so we thought we'd try it again for the one night we were in East Lansing. They were going through some remodeling so that was difficult but understandable I guess. It was during a very hot time in Lansing and we got to our room at about 10pm and it was extremely hot. No air conditioning had been turned on. We turned on the air as high as it would go and it was definately blowing cold air. The room just never cooled down. I'm not sure if it was the way it was vented or the insulation or what. We considered asking to move but the kids had already fallen asleep and we had already begun to unpack. We also just keep thinking - it HAS to cool down eventually. It was a bit cooler in the morning but not much. Maybe the room hadn't been used and it was just SO hot that it took that long to cool down - maybe the air should be on at least slightly before guests arrive. The first time we were in a jacuzzi room that was very clean and updated, this room was old and only reasonably clean.

1  Thank ajsj15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2005

I was the group leader for a group of 40+ people visiting Lansing for a weekend. We stayed as a group in the University Quality Inn and had a great time! The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the facilities were very nice.

Pluses:
** Good food options; free breakfast buffet was nice (waffles, eggs, bacon, mini muffins, pastries, bagels, juice) -- Burger King across the street (along with a sandwich shop, Baskin Robbins, etc.) Kroger less than a block away.
** Indoor pool area, bar, and game room were very nice. Big screen TV with a couple of couches with public restrooms right nearby so you didn't have to go back to your room.
** Wireless Internet throughout; they also had quick-connect kits with an antenna for those who had a laptop but no wireless card. Internet access also available from a public computer in the lobby for a fee.

Minuses:
** Pool area is very noisy (open 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.), so if you have a room by the pool, be prepared! Rooms not by the pool were quieter, but seemed to be more "secluded" (i.e., "Off the beaten path.")
** Few ice machines (2 that I found)
** Pop machines only had Pepsi, Diet Pepsi & Mountain Dew. If you wanted Sprite/Slice, you could get it from the bar (4 p.m. to 11 p.m. on the weekends) or from the gas station across the street.
** We had one person who could get wireless access everywhere except in her room, for some unknown reason.

I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to others, and will have our group stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ImageBldg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank mariapazrivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stéphane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: penceresiz odada kalamam diyorsanız hemen geri dönün
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mgecibesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Primeiro andar evitará subir as escadas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nelson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank spmg1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 26 in Lansing
483 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lansing at Eastwood
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 26 in Lansing
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lansing, MI
7.6 mi away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#3 of 26 in Lansing
349 reviews
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites East Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Quality Inn

Address: 3121 E Grand River Ave, Lansing, MI 48912-4779
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range: £63 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Quality Inn is conveniently located right off of US-127, minutes from downtown Lansing, MSU, and within walking distance of 14 restaurants and 70 stores. The University Quality Inn offers rooms that are very spacious, a courtyard where you can enjoy the indoor pool, activity area and fitness center. You’ll find that our hotel is a great place to gather with a group or have a relaxing getaway. We offer rooms with luxurious heart shaped Jacuzzis, and comfortable suites for the entire family. We offer special group rates for corporate events and meetings, weddings, sports functions and various other events. Ask us about our special rates for your event. Whether it is for business or pleasure, we are sure you will find just what you need at the University Quality Inn. We offer the utmost in customer service and satisfaction; we are committed to making sure that your event meets all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your University Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Quality Hotel Lansing
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn Lansing
Lansing Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing