We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, lobby, breakfast area; pool - not so much”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
672 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, lobby, breakfast area; pool - not so much”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

As apparently did many others, we stayed here one night during spring break so the kids could swim. The rooms are very clean, the beds & pillows were extremely comfortable, the lobby & breakfast areas were clean and well-maintained, the check-in staff were very friendly. The pool, however, was really murky. It kind of makes one understand how kids drown in hotel pools. Once the kids were under water, they were pretty hard to see. It's a relatively small pool in a small enclosed area and is horribly noisy when more than a few people are in there. Kids were still running the halls after midnight and could be clearly heard through the doors; we turned on the bathroom fan to dull the noise a bit. It'd be great for business travel but if you want a swimming night for kids, I'd probably look at other places first.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanagergr, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay! We take guest responses very seriously and I would like to take the time to apologize for not exceeding your expectations in regards to our swimming facility as well as the loud noises coming from the hall. This is not our standard and we have since then done some modifications to our pool to reduce any cloudiness that may have occurred.

However, we are very pleased you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay and we would love for you to give us another chance to exceed your expectations!

Sincerely,

Jessika Royce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    125
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
103
80
30
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Comfort Inn Lansing MI . We stay there for business whenever we are in Lansing. The rooms are comfortable and the staff always friendly and helpful. The business center works well for some of our members. The check in was easy.Sheila at check out helped solve some minor billing issues.

Room Tip: those away from taffic are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanagergr, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you Don for taking the time to review your stay!

We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. I am pleased to hear your enjoy our hotel amenities as well as that Sheila was able to resolve any minor billing issues upon check out!

We can't wait to see you again!


Sincerely,

Jessika Royce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed in Lansing for one evening. The check in was seamless and quick. The room was updated, fresh and very roomy. The gentleman was very informative giving us advise on where to eat and where to find beverages and snacks. We had breakfast which was standard, but the women in charge of it was extremely friendly an very nice to chat with. We also had a very nice chat with one of the cleaning ladies. Very much will return there on our way home!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanagergr, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are very glad you chose our hotel for your stays while traveling through Michigan!

We hope to see you the next time your are in the Lansing area.

Sincerely,

Jessika Royce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stay at the Marriott every chance I get and I travel often. This was the worst stay in decades. The room wreaked of smoke and I could not tell if it was in the drapes or the comforter. The bathroom was partially clean. The room across the hall slammed the door at least 15 times throughout the night (I stopped counting after #15). Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Air freshner
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanagergr, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I appreciate you letting us know about the issues you had during your stay. We take these comments very seriously. We always strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations, but in your case it looks like we failed. I would like to sincerely apologize for not creating a better experience during your stay. I will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

Sincerely,
Scott Smith
General Manager
Comfort Inn Lansing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Rooms clean, pool clean, staff very friendly, I had trouble with my rental car and I think he was the manager, not sure, but he offered me a ride to store because I forgot one of my family members asthma meds, very cool people.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanagergr, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Nothing can be more frustrating than car troubles while out of town. We try to be as accommodating as possible to make your stay a memorable experience!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Jessika Royce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I travel a lot for business and, unfortunately, often experience poor customer service at hotels. However, I was very pleasantly surprised by the staff at the Lansing Comfort Inn. Jessika was exceptional -- so friendly and helpful! PJ at the front desk was great, too. Thank you for such a positive experience!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenae D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanagergr, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you Lanae for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel! I would like to thank you for your kind words and we are continuing our efforts to make sure our hotel has the best customer service representatives available in the Lansing area!

We hope to see you back here in the future!

Sincerely,

Jessika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Service was good.
Room smelled of swet, beds were spotless but floor in the bathroom had hairs on the corners and the carpet needed a good vaccum.
Breakfast was not great, but will get you going if you are in a hurry.
workout room was very small and equipment old, but it worked ok.
Beds were comfortable and overall a had a good night sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcprieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanagergr, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We would like to apologize for the condition of your room. That is not our standard by any means. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff service and were able to take advantage of our workout facility! The next time you are in the Greater Lansing Area, we would like to prove to you that our hotel is an excellent place to stay and that our rooms are very cozy.

Sincerely,

Jessika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lansing hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#4 of 25 in Lansing
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lansing West
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
7.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
251 reviews
7.9 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 25 in Lansing
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 525 N Canal Rd, Lansing, MI 48917-7710 (Formerly Hampton Inn Lansing)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lansing
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lansing
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lansing
#2 Family Hotel in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lansing Hotel Lansing
Lansing Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing