We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After being denied from EG Nicks”
Review of Blind Fish

Blind Fish
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Lapeer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Close to the Holiday Inn Express in Lapeer, MI. Excellent food and reasonable prices.
Lapeer, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“After being denied from EG Nicks”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We had a table of eight, and they got us in pretty quick. I love the bread here, and the potato soup. I don't like seafood, but they have a lot of options that aren't. I had a really good mushroom Swiss burger. My mom got steak, and shrimp. Everybody at our table enjoyed the food. The waitress did okay, but she wasn't good about refilling drinks. Other than that is was a good experience.

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    35
    15
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it, but didn't even like it.”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We ate here the first week at their new location a few months ago and a long while back at the old location. Both times we shared the clam bucket. While we had no complaints, we left unimpressed.
Our most recent visit was the most disappointing. It is a beautiful restaurant, the hostess and wait staff were friendly. Our waitress was ok, few minor issues.
Our biggest complaint was that the food was awful. Most of our dinner and appetizer was covered in a lobster cream sauce. Two of our entrees in the menu didn't even state that in the description. The crab cakes were salty and the lobster tail was overcooked. My husband who usually leaves hungry couldn't eat half of his meal.
Usually, I only write reviews of locations that I feel are outstanding and worth sharing. Unfortunately I felt the need to spare someone else the same disappointment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Busylilmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Clair, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A little extra effort and this could be fabulous”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This place centrally located in Lapeer is on the verge of being a destination. However, like the other Lucky's steakhouse companion establishments it just doesn't quite get there.
The menu is extensive and on first glance could be incredible, but a simple lack of proper seasoning and preparation prevents it from going to the next level. A couple of rude hostesses set the tone for the evening, which always bothers me. This visit I tried the clam bake for two. This dish is more fun than tasty, but you have to know that when ordering a bucket full of steamed seafood. As I said before a bit of seasoning and proper techniques could really put this place over the top..but as is, just your average attempt at upscale/casual dining.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shine1se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapeer, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average at best! not my favorite.. better options in Lapeer!”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Average at best! not my favorite.. better options in Lapeer! nice and fancy place just wish the food was better tasting.. crowded and noisy! will not be back for a while! I didn't like the old blind fish and was hoping this one was better....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILLINGTON
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad Service”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We started with French Onion soup, it was okay but not the best I've had. When our meals came the server was there and gone so fast you couldn't even say anything to her. She came back once...to bring the check. So at that time i asked for a box to take my ribs home so I could heat them in the microwave and eat them hot since they were served warm on the very outside but cold inside. The loaded baked potatoe you could tell by looking at had been hot at one time then got cold because all the toppings were congealed together. It was not even hot enough to melt butter! I thought when she brought the box back she would ask why I didn't eat my meal but since she dropped the box as she was walking by I didn't get a chance to say anything, the box wasn't even big enough for all my food. At this point I didn't think it was worth the hassle so I left a very small tip (shouldn't of even left that) and just left. There was an older gentleman working as a server and I wish we would of had him he seemed very attentive to his tables - he even boxed up their food for them and put the boxes in a bag.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane4219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blind Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing