We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path, but lovely!”
Review of Laurium Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laurium
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurium Manor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Laurium B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had an amazing stay at the Laurium Manor Inn. The owners made us feel like family. The room was pleasant and well maintained. We had a very peaceful rest. The breakfast the next morning was delicious! Enjoyed our stay and will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyandtrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was our first time in a B&B. We loved it. We stayed in room 11 across the street in the Victorian B&B...the Kingston room. This is on the first floor, with its own bath and it's own entrance on the side porch. This is the smaller of the two mansions. Even though these buildings are old...they are clean and comfortable. The staff is very laid back and knowledgable about the area and let's us tour both properties as long as a room was not occupied. Breakfast the next morning was in the main mansion and was homemade, plentiful, and very good. We thought for the price ...we received a good value and an excellent stay. The web page for the Laurium Manor Inn is very helpful, and a phone call with a specific question was handled promptly and accurately. We loved this part of the UP and will be back to spend more time in Calumet at the National Park.

Room Tip: Be aware that a lot of the rooms are on the second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trainfan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We happened upon Laurim Manor while visiting Calumet MI. A random UP exploration. Who knew Calumet is a National Park? This was the first winter the manor stayed open during the winter. We were SO graciously hosted by Ashley and Jake (innkeepers) who bent over backwards to accommodate our every concern. Yes the property is worn, but the underlying history and beauty were part of our adventure. Our linens were of the utmost quality. Our breakfast superb. The bed was wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I've been visiting the Keweenau Peninsula every fall for years, and I knew about the Laurium Manor Inn, but had never stayed here. We decided to book here because we were three sisters traveling together this time, all wanting to stay in the same room, and the Laurium had several options for us. The house itself--long ago the home of a mining executive--is gorgeous, the rooms are spacious, and--unlike some bed and breakfasts--each room has a private bathroom. (Ours had a modern jacuzzi in the form of a claw foot tub plus a separate shower). Breakfast was different each morning, prepared by an on-site cook. Rosemary cream cheese scrambled eggs and sausage one morning; french toast and bacon the next. Plus yogurt, cereals, juice, and baked goods. And all of the staff were just wonderful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We came here by accident (construction detour) and ended up doing the self-guided tour. What a cool place. Worth the $8. So much history and detail of woodworking. The rooms looked very nice. I would love to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
Thank auryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

All but one room was full for the day...But we did see all the common areas and the bedroom that wasn't occupied...This is a absolutely beautiful old manor with beauty surrounding all of it...Will try and stay here sometime to get the full effect...

Room Tip: We just did a tour so can't really rate as is self guided also.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank culaugh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is an amazing place to stay. I cannot believe how relatively inexpensive it is for how magnificent it truly is. First, I was daunted by the BnB idea. A one room BnB is not appealing to me and sounds a bit to awkward and intimate. This place has so many rooms, it is nearly a hotel... but provides the perfect dose of hospitality. We feel lucky to have found this place and will definitely be returning if we are up in the UP again. BTW, perfect distance for the Houghton or Copper harbor ferries to Isle Royale. Less than an hour from either location. We stayed in the Kingston Room 11 which is on the first floor of the Victorian Hall. The breakfast was great and we really enjoyed the bakery treats left in the dining room of the Victorian Hall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaineDru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laurium
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
11.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurium Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurium Manor Inn

Address: 320 Tamarack St, Laurium, MI 49913-2141
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Laurium
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Laurium
Price Range: £42 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Laurium Manor Hotel Laurium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing