We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels Like Home”
Review of Oak Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lawrence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oak Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This resort and its guests have been lovingly nurtured by Owner/Operators Susan and Bob for 40 years. I came here as a child and had the privilege to bring my kids here to experience it. The food, setting, and company are top notch!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for writing, Tom. One of our greatest pleasures in doing what we do has been seeing our little customers grow up to become wonderful caring parents like you who want to share their vacationing experiences with their children. How many jobs can offer that? We are blessed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a great (and too short) stay at Oak Cove this past weekend! It's not often you can have a completely care-free and fun family get-together for 25 people, but Oak Cove exceeded all expectations. It felt like you were taking a step back in time (like the resort in Dirty Dancing - without the dancing),but in the best way possible. There was no need for television, cell phones or internet. There were tons of lawn games, bikes, and a game room available, but we didn't have time for much of that as we were too busy on the beach and in the water (both pool and lake). The adults and kids couldn't get enough of the UNLIMITED kayak, paddle and row boats! Bob and Susan are great hosts. They greeted everyone by name and really make you feel welcome. They seemed genuinely happy that we were there and all having a great time. The rest of the staff was helpful and kind - never making you feel like your request was a bother. Having breakfast and dinner provided was a bonus that went above and beyond. The menu was great (even for picky eaters) and it was such a weight off all of our shoulders not having to spend all that time away from the family in the kitchen preparing meals. There aren't enough ways to say how much we all enjoyed our time at Oak Cove. For a family coming from 4 different states and 1 other country across the Pacific, we couldn't have asked for more. By the first evening there was already talk of "when we come back next year..."

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Liz, Thank you so very much for the wonderful review. I especially loved the part about the picky eaters being satisfied. Very funny and true, I guess. We do want to please even the youngest guests. I loved reading all the things you did on the property. We don't always see that as we don't keep track of you and we are busy inside much of the time. It was really nice to have your report.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My son loved to go to Oak Cove when he was a young boy. This summer when he came to visit us from AZ he requested that we go to Oak Cove so that his two young sons could enjoy the "Oak Cove Experience" as well. All of us enjoyed the beach on Lake Cora, the crystal clear pool, yard games, a boat ride, and a visit into the quaint town of Paw Paw. Most of all we enjoyed the wonderful meals cooked and served by owners Susan and Bob Wojcik. Our son and his family have requested a return visit there next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you, Linda, for those kind words. We loved that Tom remembered so well his experiences that he wanted the boys to share them. They are so darling. I hope they remember their experiences, too. We look forward to seeing all of your grandchildren with you next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had a wonderful week at Oak Cove Resort! Great place to have a family reunion! My mom and and dad celebrated their 50th anniversary and wanted all the family to be with them. Lots to do! Golfing was included and a blast!! Meals were all included with a very friendly staff. All home cooked meals which were absolutely delicious!!! Just a great place to hang out with your family. Very relaxing. We came July 4th week and had a wonderful display of fireworks. I highly recommend this place for all ages.
Thank you Bob and Susan for great vacation!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMS42041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

What a great review you so graciously gave us! Without our terrific staff, we could not do the things to which you eluded. We are blessed by them and by the wonderful guests like you who find us and trust us with your precious time and treasure. Thank you for writing it down and for spending your very special anniversary with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at Oak Cove for a family reunion in June 2013. Oak Cove is such a wonderful place that I want to come back! We have three kids and they loved it as well. They kept very busy at the pool, playing in the lake (paddle boats and playing on the sandy beach) and the fun house. They even used the large open field for capture the flag. There were lots of life jackets readily available in the shed (to ease a parent's mind for sure). We stayed in one of the houses, however, we were able to tour the entire place because the reunion took up just about every room - all rooms were very nice! I really loved having our own laundry in the house.
The food was such a great treat - I felt seriously spoiled. I loved not thinking about meals at all during the week. Breakfast and dinner were served everyday we were there. We could relax by the lake and when we heard the bell ring we knew there would be a delicious meal. All the meals were just super yummy and the portions were way more than enough. I also really enjoyed the salad bar at dinner every night! And there was also dessert - again delicious. Breakfast was so great that we really didn't feel we even needed lunch. Bob and Susan were amazing hosts - if we needed anything they helped us out and also made suggestions of fun places to go. I was super impressed that with such a large group they knew all our names (even all the kids) early on and addressed us by name at meals.
I would highly recommend Oak Cove resort. :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

What a great review. Thank you so much for expressing your views so eloquently. We appreciate when someone writes because we know it takes thought and effort to do so. But we also know how valuable those reviews are to perspective customers, so we doubly appreciate the time you took to do this. We are grateful for all the nice things you said.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a resort that has been in business 100 years, and it did feel like it was stepping back into time, in the best of ways. The lake is a perfect size, and was warm July 1 even though the weather wasn't. There is also a pool, there is shuffleboard, a game room and good wifi. It's a family resort, and it is idyllic for children of all ages. My 12 year old daughter and 9 year old daughter did not want to leave. The very first day they made friends with our neighbors, who had a 10 year old girl. Their 4 year old boy made friends also. We could only spend 4 days, but a week or more would have been preferable. It's very relaxing and the kids love having such a great lake and beach. No review would be complete without mentioning Susan and Bob, who are remarkable people. To just call them friendly would be to call the ocean wet. They are hospitable, interesting, and what's more, they are doing what they love. And they have a nice staff of students to help them out. This is a true mid-western family treasure. Then I had to leave and go back to the rude world on the East Coast : ). Thank you so much for a great few days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Brian, thank you so much for your very nice review. We were sad you had to go back to the hussle and bustle of "the real world", too. It was a pleasure making your acquaintance and the girls, too. We hope you will come again and again so we can watch them grow up. I enjoyed our visits and talks. We have the best job, meeting people like you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Bob and Susan were wonderful hosts. They were attentive to very detail of our stay. It was my mom's 80th birthday celebration and their care made it extra special. The entire staff was friendly, kind and caring. We stayed in the lodge (10 of us) and had the entire upper floor to ourselves. Beds were super comfy, bathrooms were nice and clean; all was great. The homemade food was outstanding at every meal. What a treat to not cook or clean the dishes after a delicious meal. We had so much fun and would love to come back again. We enjoyed the Fun House - pool table, pinball machines, playing cards and watching movies. My grand-niece loved the pool and playing at the beach. We rented the pontoon for my mom's birthday cruise and really enjoyed our time on the water. My sister had found Oak Cove online and what a blessing it was to find this wonderful resort where the owners and staff made us feel sooooo at home and cared for. Thank you, Bob, Sue and staff for an awesome get away. God bless.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you so much, Jody, for saying all those nice things. We are so blessed to be in this business where we meet nice families like yours and are able to provide you an atmosphere where you can enjoy each other. Your mom's birthday was fun for us, too. As you observed, our staff loves to come out to the dining room and sing our special song to our birthday guests.It is so silly and so much fun.
We hope to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oak Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Cove Resort

Address: 58881 46th St, Lawrence, MI 49064-9771
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Cove Resort is nestled on 16 lovely wooded acres overlooking beautiful Lake Cora. Row boats, canoes, paddle boats,kayaks, five piers and 500' of sandy beach plus a crystal clear heated pool awaits your arrival. Full breakfasts and dinners are included, meals like Grandma used to make. Bikes, volley ball, badminton, horse shoes, shuffleboard and a mile of groomed paths are for your pleasure. Enjoy 18 holes of free golf every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oak Cove Hotel Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing