We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oak Cove Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Lawrence
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
156
32
1
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
32
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and dinnerfun housepaddle boatsfamily reunionwonderful weekbeautiful lakeoak coveshuffle boardgreat vacationlake corawonderful hostsoutdoor activitiesgreat caregreat place to get awaythe entire stafffeel like familyfeel right at home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

There were eleven in our group, six adults and five children ranging in age from 8 - 19. There are plenty of activities for the whole family - swimming in the lake or heated pool, use of canoes, row boats, kayaks, paddle-boats, bikes, and yard games. As one of our daughters mentioned - it feels like everyone there is family. Bob and Susan certainly treat you like family. I'm back home and sadly there is no dinner bell calling me to breakfast and dinner.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you, Judy. We are always grateful for an expression of satisfaction. We do love our guests. We meet so many nice families. It is a treat for us to serve you so when we receive nice reports such as yours, we are happy. It makes our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just came back from Oak Cove Resort, had a excellent time there. It's great to know that there still is a place to go for a family reunion, where everyone enjoys themselves and still gets along after a week with each other. Oak Cove resort is just that place , the Owners Bob and Sue welcome you with open arms. The food is out of this world with breakfast and dinner being provided, you never go hungry,( there really is no need for lunch. ) The cottages are clean and comfortable, overlooking the lake. You can wake up with the sun and take one of the many boats out on the very clean lake where you can actually see the fish swimming.., the kids would swim in the lake or run up the hill and jump in the pool. On rain days their is always the fun house where the whole family can easily go and enjoy a game of cards or a game of pool. The staff is exceptional always willing to help out in any way they can... Their were 16 of us that have been going for the past 4 years, every year the kids make sure we reserved for the following year... So Glad we found Oak Cove. Thank You Bob and Sue for continuing to provide such a great place ....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michele600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Hey, Michelle, nice review. It helped two people so far. I think people really trust what guests say so we are grateful that our guests write reviews. Since everyone comes here with a different perspective, it is useful to hear others points of view. We appreciate that you took the time to express yours and were very happy it was all nice things. Thank you so much. See you next July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The reviews for Oak Cove are exactly what we experienced; friendly and relaxing. The resort dates back to 1910 and is lovingly maintained. Bob and Susan are the perfect hosts, remembering everyone by name. The pool is super clean and the water temperature is perfect. The lake is clear and beautiful. There are rowboats, kayaks, canoes, and pedal boats waiting on the shore for guests to use. A pontoon boat can be rented for a very reasonable rate. There is also volleyball, bean bags toss, and a golf course. The fun house has several classic pinball machines, a pool table, interesting old vending machines, a jukebox, books, and a tv (with a good assortment of movies.) A short drive into town offers some great antiquing. Last by not least, breakfast and dinner are included. The meals are all home cooked and outstanding. The food reminds me of my grandmothers cooking. If you're looking for a beautiful place to unwind that is an easy two hour drive from Chicago, this is the place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you, Cathy, for the very nice review. I noticed it was helpful to someone so I will thank you now for that booking in case they read your review and made a reservation. Word of mouth is our best advertizement. The pictures you submitted are great. We appreciate your time in responding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Looking for relaxation, tranquility, and a slow paced getaway? Go to Oak Cove Resort. Breakfast and dinner are included and simply delicious. The meals are homemade and served in a charming resort from the 1910's. Owners Susan and Bob pay attention to detail, providing a warm and welcoming lodge for all their guests. I will dream of Oak Cove and plan to return soon.

Room Tip: our room had a washer\dryer.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Marge, Thank you for the very nice report of your recent stay, We don't have a sign saying "a little slice of paradise" for nothing! Our other guests have expressed your sentiments exactly and we feel the same way. We are so happy that we can share this unique property with guest such as you who appreciate our hidden treasure. We hope you will come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

In mid June 2013, forty-four members of the Mandeville clan descended on Oak Cove Lodge for a four-day reunion. Bob and Susan greeted us and before long were calling each of us by our first name. The stay at Oak Cove was very enjoyable. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The meals were exceptional. Breakfast and dinner were served each day, and together they made it unnecessary to eat lunch, because the two meals were enough for all day.
So, we did not have to do any cooking, or dishes or cleaning for the four days.
The activities were varied enough to allow each to do what they liked best. For the younger children, the swimming pool and the beach were favorable locations. The young to middle-aged adults spent much of their time in Lake Cora - swimming out to the "dock", swimming across the lake (only two did this), or going across the lake in paddle boats, row boats or kyacks. Some of the more energetic ones road bicycles or ran or took the trails through the woods.
Us older folks (past 70) found the fun house, Park Place or the lodge a good place to hang out. The facilities were perfect for visiting and catching up on what was going on in the lives of family members.
We believe every family unit said they really enjoyed the reunion at Oak Cove, and some said it was the best location yet. We wouls recommend it for any reunion up to 55 or 60 people.

Bob and Alma Mandeville
Springfield, Illinois

Room Tip: Park Place
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Bob and Alma, It was so nice celebrating your 60th anniversary with you. We were greatly honored to be chosen to host your family reunion. It was a pleasure for us and our staff to wait on you. You were one of the largest and most gracious families we have waited on this season. We are blessed to have been with you for your very special day. We appreciate your writing such a very nice account of your visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews