We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic resort run by exceptional owners and staff”
Review of Oak Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lawrence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oak Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our group of 6 (4 adults, 2 children) spent three enjoyable days at Oak Cove resort in mid-August. The resort owners, Sue and Bob, are two of the most genuine and accommodating people you’ll ever meet...after our first day we told Sue that she and Bob should offer seminars on how to provide exceptional customer service. They have mentored their young staffers admirably--any request was dealt with politely and professionally.
The food at Oak Cove is very, very good. We purchased Sue’s recipe/story book and look forward to reading her and Bob’s family stories as well as creating some of the truly delicious dishes that we enjoyed while at the resort.
One of our best memories of Oak Cove is the night we had a camp fire in front of one of our cottages. Many of the other guests joined in and it was a real treat to see all the kids out on the dock catching minnows and enjoying each others company. And in true Sue and Bob style, a young staffer soon showed up with all the ingredients to make “s’mores”, including skewers to roast the huge marshmallows provided. There are no tv’s in the cabins and even though wi-fi is available, I’ll guarantee each of those kids will long remember their “non -wired” time at Oak Cove.
Congratulations to Sue and Bob for creating a unique and memorable experience at Oak Cove Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank whirl093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for for your very nice review. We appreciate so much your mentioning the young people who work for us in your review as we like to print those mentions for them to see as positive reinforcements to their actions. We are so happy that your family enjoyed your days with us and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Seventeen members of our extended family gathered from all over to enjoy several days together. The cabins are cozy, the food was home-cooked and plentiful, the hosts very congenial. Lake Cora offered swimming and boating, plus there is a pool. I appreciated having breakfast and dinner included (buffet style). The Lake House offered a sizable living room for gathering in the evening for games, and we also enjoyed a campfire in the firepit circle (with s'mores as well!). I can understand why families return year after year, although that is not really an option for us. Glad we could find an affordable place within driving distance for some; the rest of us flew to Chicago or Kalamazoo. If you want family fun and don't need a lot of frills or fancy hotel amenities, this is a good place to come.

Room Tip: Bed arrangement varies so inquire for what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marigal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear M, Your group had the best and the least of our accommodations so we can understand the inequity. That happens sometimes with a large group getting what is available at the time they choose. You selflessly gave us your comfort up for other family members which was kind and noble of you. We thank you for coming and writing even though we would have loved to have earned five stars. Susan and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I met our daughter and son in law for a relaxing and fun weekend. The food was great! We went golfing, swimming and boating. The lake view was beautiful. It was nice to get to know Susan and Bob and the other guests, too. It felt very comfortable and welcoming!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for writing, Shelley. We thought the fireworks were particularly good this year and we have nothing to do with it. It is just spontaneous around the lake to our great enjoyment. We are glad you found us on a weekend that is busy and fun. We were happy to meet you. Hope you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at The Oak Cove Resort with 12 adults and 14 children, and we had a fantastic time! The grounds were beautifully maintained and the view was simply spectacular! Activities abound at Oak Cove from water activities including canoeing, kayaking, paddle boating, and fishing to yard activities such as whiffle ball, volleyball, and shuffleboard! You say you don't like swimming in the lake? Well, then take a dip in the ample sized pool with plenty of seating to sit out and enjoy the sunshine. The Fun House has pinball games, video games, an old fashioned juke box, board games, and pool. My children LOVED listening to oldies on the juke box while playing pin ball and watching the adults play a euchre tournanent.

Who wants to cook on vacation? NO ONE! At Oak Cove, you don't have to cook! Breakfast and dinner are provided for you and attentive service is given with a smile. My one suggestion...get seconds on peanut butter pie night...I didn't and now I regret it! Speaking of food...Bob and Susan were extremely accommodating to those in our group with food allergies, and we couldn't have been more pleased with the care we were shown.

Bob and Susan go out of their way to tend to their guests, remember their names, and strike up a conversation. We had an absolutely delightful week without the need for electronics or a TV (GASP!!)

For a week filled with relaxation,family, and fun that is free of modern day stresses, visit Oak Cove Resort!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for that glowing report. Wow, that was so nice. We enjoyed the Hall Reunion, also. The peanut butter pie recipe is in my cook book and I expect you to be making that for your family by the time you come back here for another reunion! Well, maybe not. It tastes good, but one or two pieces a year should suffice. We are always happy when families mention that they survived without electronics.That means they talked and played together. That's the old fashioned way..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Bob and Susan are simply the best. We had a wonderful time...they've developed Oak Cove into a hidden gem. Our time at Oak Cove and with Bob and Susan reminded me that the true joys of life are often the simplest: time in a beautiful place with family, friends, great meals, warm welcomes, outdoor activities and a break from the rush of modern day life. Susan's touches throughout the cabins and rooms unfold with delight; Bob is the most welcoming of hosts. We can't say enough good things about them or the resort! Thanks!

Room Tip: Cabins are camp-like and have a mini fridge, which was convenient; rooms in the lodge are beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Jean, Thank you for those wonderful words. Your visit truly enriched our summer with an unexpected pleasure. We are so grateful you travel light and were able to move around so that we could enjoy your company for a week. It was such a unique experience to have a family from China find us and enjoy your short time in the states with us! We are glad you had some good R&R before going to TX to see the family. It was a treasure for all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This resort is very family friendly with many activities in a beautiful green setting. The meals served for breakfast and dinner were deliciously filling. Proprieters Bob and Susan are so welcoming and sweet. Our family includes two toddlers and a 7 year old, all who loved their adventures. This resort is perfect for children of all ages with many activities. We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Website is helpful displaying accomdations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Libby, Thanks for the review. We know you are a busy mom so it means all the more that you took the time to mention these things. That was a busy weekend so I am glad you felt that we gave you a bit of attention. That is our goal. The kids were great and we love to seem them growing up. It was fun visiting with you. Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We visited the week of July 4th this year. The resort is all inclusive. There are things to do all day long and into the evening! You never have to leave if you don't want to. However, if you do, there are plenty of small towns nearby with great agri-tourism things to do and antique shops to visit. If you're looking for a family fun spot - you've found it. We had three young children with us, all under 7, and the resort was very family friendly and accommodated our two toddlers. Bob and Susan really make you feel at home. We will absolutely be back for years to come! The food was WONDERFUL! All homemade!

Room Tip: Pick a cottage by the lake. Your view every morning is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraFG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Laura, As a busy mom of young children, we know your time is precious. So we appreciate your comments. Your family is idea for us. We feel we can provide the young family with a relaxing time simply because we love children and they are our best customers. Oh, and the parents, too! But the idea is to provide a safe, nurturing atmosphere for the family to enjoy each other and not work too hard. Mission accomplished.! Thanks for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oak Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Cove Resort

Address: 58881 46th St, Lawrence, MI 49064-9771
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Cove Resort is nestled on 16 lovely wooded acres overlooking beautiful Lake Cora. Row boats, canoes, paddle boats,kayaks, five piers and 500' of sandy beach plus a crystal clear heated pool awaits your arrival. Full breakfasts and dinners are included, meals like Grandma used to make. Bikes, volley ball, badminton, horse shoes, shuffleboard and a mile of groomed paths are for your pleasure. Enjoy 18 holes of free golf every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oak Cove Hotel Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing