We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUCK, YUCK, YUCK”
Review of Las Palapas

Las Palapas
Ranked #6 of 268 Restaurants in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“YUCK, YUCK, YUCK”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I went here a couple of years ago, after hearing it was good. We will NEVER go back. First of all, it is no way Authentic Mexican food. I was served mashed potatoes with my chilies rellennos (sp?). The guacamole left a lot to be desired and the rice was bland. It was SO LOUD in there we couldn't hear each other. We couldn't get out of there fast enough. My only thought as why some others enjoy this place is because they are inebriated on the margaritas.;)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi78480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    44
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pinckney, Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Eccelent food and good service”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife's family recommended this place so we went over to give it a try. We were seated right away and brought a basket of chips with salsa when our drink order was taken. I had the chicken Chimi and my wife had a combo plate. Our server kept our pops filled and our food was brought out pretty quickly. My chimi was very good and had lots of chicken in it. It had a tomato sauce on it. My wife's combo plate was good as well. The refried beans good use a little something but the rice was very good. When we are in the area again we will have to stop by.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nitroxscubadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Me”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Food is good. Service not so great. Prices high. Drinks are ridiculous.9.00 for a small sangria margarita. If you want frozen margarita you have to go top shelf. Unfortunately they used to be better and there isn't much choice in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Place to go”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Big menu and loved the food and big selection of drinks and happy hour to boot. Service was great!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank valenci1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter, Michigan
Level Contributor
388 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“If you want large portions...”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We went on a cold snowy day to the restaurant at 5 pm. The heat was just being turned on. Not an auspicious beginning to the evening. The restaurant has a very limited appetizer menu which does not include soup. The main menu has an array of Tex/Mex foods with some limited vegetarian options. One issue is that many of the dishes look the same a pile of rice, a pile of beans and something under a load of cheese and sauce. Hard to know the difference based on appearance's. I had the pork tamales which were hastily thrown together, bland but tasty. My wife had a chicken verde dish which she liked.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Palapas also viewed

 

Been to Las Palapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing