We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Childhood memories”
Review of Bates Hamburgers

Bates Hamburgers
Ranked #1 of 270 Restaurants in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Jackson, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Childhood memories”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Passed the restaurant awhile back with my son in tow on business. I had been working nearby on service for a few years but had forgotten about it totally. When we finished our business I suggested we have lunch there, & so we did.
I'd forgotten how much I had loved the burgers & fries that I had not had since the 60's. I now stop whenever close & typically grab some to go. I was choked up to sit at the same seat I had sat with my Grandfather at in 68. Man that was good!
When my three little grandkids are old enough to keep the memory of it I will bring them as well.
I hope they never leave or change.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    55
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Little burgers, big taste.”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

After years of driving past this place and hearing how good it is, I decided to stop by this small unassuming burger joint. Not being a huge meat eater, I decided to get the cheeseburger and large fries. Very delicious. I would definitely return when I'm in one of my meat eating moods. There is nothing fancy about the food but it's great for the price. Cash only.
The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best little burgers this side of anywhere”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

If you want a little burger, sometimes called a slider, then this is the place. What is bigger than a white castle but smaller than a regular burger? A BATESBURGER. Get it with everything which ketchup, mustard pickles and lots of grilled onions... the chili fries are the best around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TK2012114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I liked it”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Ok, I had very high hopes after reading the trip advisor reviews that this might be the greatest burger joint on earth. And while I can't say it was that, I can say that I will absolutely go back here if I get the chance. The double was so thin I thought they only have me a single--but it was delicious! And I tried to order cheese fries, but that was not allowed. Either plain fries or chili cheese fries...which were excellent, but I wish I could have had cheese fries. The environment is a classic, the staff was extremely nice. The chocolate shake was too much, I couldn't finish it. I am so glad I found this place thru trip
Advisor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haroldHood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Life doesn't get any better than this!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Nothing like having a Bates hamburger to start your day off. I can not think of anything better to eat, than a Bates. The place is an icon and has stood the test of time. A classic place to remember when you were in high school driving a Mustang Mach1 and pulling into the parking lot at 2am after seeing a rock band at West Side 6 and ordering a sack of hamburgers with everything. Ah the smell of grease seeping through the white bag with french fries and a pop.
You just have to stop at Bates on your travels through Detroit. I even have a Bates t-shirt to wear to show my loyalty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nutmagnet101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bates Hamburgers also viewed

 

Been to Bates Hamburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing