We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smokey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Livonia
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence
Belding, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Smokey”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

When we walked in the door to the lobby we were hit with a strong smokey smell. The only ones in there were two staff that were chatting and I believe the smell might have been them. We checked in quickly and as I am handicapped our room was closest to the lobby. It was late so we went straight to bed. Then the noise started, our neighbor above us I think might have been doing some exercise routine because all we could hear was walking back and forth for about an hour. Once that was done he started his shower and that sounded like a waterfall in our room. I actually had my husband check to see if there was something happening in our bathroom. Oh well he was done quickly then we thought we could get some sleep it was after midnight. Then the giggling started in the lobby. Which got my husband and I talking and he went out to get me a drink from the vending machine. When he came back in he said "It smells like home out there" my husband is from Amsterdam. It smelled like they were smoking more than just tobacco.......The staff giggling kept going through the night but we finally went to sleep. At 5am I was awoken by a weird sound that my sleepy brain thought sounded like a turkey. But after listening to it for awhile, it would start and stop for quite awhile and then start again, I believe it was a washing machine on the spin cycle and the belt was slipping or something. We were obviously next to the utility room. Which we found out when we were going to breakfast the next morning. At breakfast we observed a group of about 5 staff just hanging out in the lobby on the furniture chatting and having a great time, and still there was quite a strong smokey smell. When we went to check out they all sat there when we went to the desk and then one guy yelled for some girl and she came out of the back to check us out. It was very unprofessional. It was a weird stay and I cannot say I will ever stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Livonia, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel management and staff work diligently to exceed all of our guest's expectations and we apologize that we were unable to deliver 100% satisfaction. We can assure you that all of the issues mentioned have been completely resolved and we look forward to another chance to deliver the best overall hotel experience during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    61
    26
    9
    9
See reviews for
51
39
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Looking for a place just for the night, it was a nice surprise and very comfortable. Location very good for our needs and places we had to be around our Thanksgiving trip. Bedding was good, clean and comfortable and so was the shower.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landscapechaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Livonia, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel staff and management strive to deliver the best overall hotel experience for each of our guest's and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us when your travels take you to the Livonia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPRING GREEN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This place is tucked behind an Olive Garden and IHOP-easy to miss. Otherwise convenient location to shopping and restaurants. Admittedly, I had fairly low expectations, but Comfort Inn usually offers a decent product.

Upon my arrival staff were exceedingly welcoming and friendly. My room was a bit nicer than expected. King sized bed, sitting chair with ottoman, desk, flatscreen tv, decent bathroom with second exterior sink and mirror.

Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was great. Lots of variety, from waffles to omelets and ham to multiple bagel and muffin varieties, cereal, yogurt and hard boiled eggs.

Sure there were some little details like bad coffee and tea, but it's what I'd expect. I'd have no qualms about staying here again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Livonia, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
The hotel management and staff take great pride in exceeding all of our guest's expectations and we are pleased that your stay was great. We will be certain to pass on your feedback to the management & staff and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Livonia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I read a couple reviews after I had made reservation that made me a little nervous about hotel conditions.But was pleasantly surprised by how really nice this hotel is.Everything from hotel lobby to room was clean and smelled great(no stale smoke smell). Bed was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Will definitely be staying here again when we go to Detroit Tiger games. Only 25 minutes from Comerica Park and Ford Field.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smd9572016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Livonia, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for sending us your comments regarding your stay with us. The hotel management and staff strive to deliver the best overall experience for our guest's. The hotel's location is very convenient to take in a Tiger's game and enjoy all of the activities in the Detroit area. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Okay I didn't really stay at this hotel bc I live in novi witch is 10miles away so I was on a bike ride and my phone died so I went to the front desk of this hotel and also my dad owns two comfort inns one in atlanta and one in Augusta Georgia and it was really beatiful and I asked the most friendliest hotel clerk Delano to charge my phone and he was nice

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris69409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Livonia, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Chris,
The staff and management are always looking for ways to assist each of our guests; and in your case a fellow Choice family member. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us in the near future and we are certain that you will enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed for 6 days here and the front desk and manger were very helpful, while the room service personnel were only fair. Every time we had a problem the front desk addressed it but we had things going on every day with room service, dirty sheets not changed, no towels being delivered to the room, trash not emptied. We plan to return only because of the manager and his attempt to take care of our concerns.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Livonia, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
The hotel management and staff take great pride in exceeding all of our guest's expectations and we are pleased that your stay was great. We will be certain to pass on your feedback to the management & staff and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Livonia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel was a bit hard to find as we initially went to the other "easier-to-find" Comfort Inn in Livonia. The hotel sign out by the main road was not lit at night making it more of a challenge to find. I reported it to management but it was still unlit during our second day of stay. Also, the covering over the main hotel entrance did not have the lights turned on either. Our room key did not always work properly and had to exchange it once with front desk. On the positive side, the room was clean, well appointed with 2 queen size beds and 4 pillows per bed and a Jacuzzi tub. The beds were good and the WiFi worked without any problems. The breakfast was very good with a large variety of items including some fresh hot eggs and sausage. Overall we were pleased with our stay and would stay again. Would give 5 stars next time if they fix outdoor lighting issues.

Room Tip: Booked with Expedia for our best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedGoat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Livonia, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for sending us your comments regarding your stay with us. The hotel management and staff strive to deliver the best overall experience for our guest's. The issues mentioned in your review have been resolved and we look forward to delivering a 5 star experience on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livonia hotels
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Banquet Center
5.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
4.8 mi away
Detroit Marriott Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Livonia

Property: Comfort Inn Livonia
Address: 29235 Buckingham Avenue, Livonia, MI 48154-4573
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Livonia
#6 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Livonia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn hotel in Livonia is at the crossroads of southeast Michigan, just off Interstate 96 and Middlebelt Road. Downtown Detroit, Detroit Metropolitan,Wayne County Airport, Ann Arbor and Oakland County are all easily accessible from this Livonia Michigan hotel. During your stay, explore the award-winning cultural attractions of the Henry Ford Museum, the Detroit Institute of Arts and the Fox Theatre. Enjoy world-class shopping and dining at Twelve Mile Crossing at Fountain Walk in Novi, Fairland Town Center and Laurel Park Place mall. Sports enthusiasts can catch one of Detroit's fine professional sports teams in action at The Palace at Auburn Hills (Detroit Postons), Joe Louis Arena (Detroit Redwings), Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers) and Ford Field (Detroit Lions). Our peaceful suburban location is freeway close, but nestled in a quiet residential enclave, perfect when visiting friends and family or relaxing after a long productive day. Our hotel is just minutes away from fine dining, shopping, parks and world famous cultural attractions. An unforgettable destination for both leisure and business travel, come and discover the Comfort Inn Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Livonia Hotel Livonia
Livonia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing