We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service and terrific pool, whirlpool and excercise room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Detroit Marriott Livonia
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Livonia
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Hotel that is directly connected to a mall with numerous restaurants is great in a Detroit winter. Overall, very clean room, but on the small side. Everything worked and was clean. No complimentary lobby coffee or tea though, and I never saw a business center, but overall very friendly and nice service. Pool, whirlpool and workout room were terrific. Overall, except for the smaller size of room, it did have a large flat screen, and everything worked in room! Had a large closed, but lacked a refridge or microwave. Internet service in room was very good as well. Very good hotel.

Room Tip: Use the pool, whirlpool and excercise room off the lobby and walk to the mall without a coat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Senior Contributor from Cleveland, Ohio;

We at the Detroit Marriott Livonia wish to thank you for your detailed assessment of our hotel. Even though our guestrooms are newly renovated noting that we are clean and friendly relates to our service performance and we are pleased you found them to be "very good". Because our hotel is a full service Marriott, typically a mini refrigerator is not usually in each guestroom but we would be happy to provide you with a refrigerator upon request. Also we do have a business center which should be expanded within the next year. I was disappointed to hear you mention that we did not offer complimentary coffee/water, which is usually always available right next to our front desk, so I will be sure to pass along your comments to our team to ensure this is being done daily.

Again thank you for your insight; it is extremely helpful in helping us to provide all our patrons with the expectations they have and deserve when staying at a Marriott hotel.

With regard,

Danielle Bastianelli
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

My wife, myself and our toddler recently stayed the night at this property for a little getaway. We were treated extremely well, even getting an unrequested room upgrade. The restaurant in the hotel is top notch including their buffet breakfast. The hotel is connected to the very nice Laurel Park Place mall with nice shopping and a couple of more nice dinner restaurant options including Bar Louie. Great location, great customer serice. The hotel itself is a bit older but had been updated and is clean. Great pool area for kids too. We absolutely LOVE Marriott Jamison beds too.

Room Tip: Sorry, I clicked spa thinking hot tub but it does not have a spa that I am aware of. There are a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pb70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you kindly for your positive remarks of our hotel, the Detroit Marriott Livonia. It is rewarding to know that our team efforts to go above and beyond have been recognized by our guests and we are ever so thankful to you for applauding them. I will be sure to share your kind thoughts with our entire team. Please know that we greatly value your loyalty and support and hope to continue to be your hidden retreat when looking for a weekend away.

In gratitude,

Danielle Bastianelli
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed at the Marriott for a wedding close by. The price was great. The beds are so comfortable at Marriotts. I could sleep for days. The only downfall that I would have to say is the breakfast costed $13. Overall loved my stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Diane;

Thank you kindly for taking the time to note your thoughts and concerns regarding our hotel, the Detroit Marriott Livonia, on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your stay and found our guestroom amenities a comfort. Often when working with contacts on a social event such as the one you attended we will offer both a breakfast and non breakfast inclusive rate and it is at the discretion of the person working directly with the hotel to select. Please know that if you were to wish to reserve a block of guestrooms for a special event such as the one you attended, we would be happy to include breakfast in the rate. Please know we greatly value your recommendations and suggestions and hope you will still consider us a nice local home away from home retreat.

Sincerely,

Danielle Bastianelli
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This is an average Marriott property. The room we were assigned was fairly small. Strange, not much space for towels in the bathroom, so towels were placed on small table outside of bathroom. Staff is really nice and check-in is a breeze. The room was clean and up to Marriott standards. Hallways could definitely use a facelift. If you are looking for decent nights sleep in a reliable hotel, its a good place for you. Don't expect luxury or anything above average (in terms of amenities, the room, etc.).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funandrelaxation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Hello FunandRelaxation:

Thank you for submitting a review of our hotel through TripAdvisor. As a Senior Contributor to TripAdvisor your thoughts and concerns are truly appreciated. I am pleased to learn you felt our hotel to be clean, efficient and comfortable. We just recently completed an extensive guestroom refresh. We likely completed the hallways just after your stay therefore I am happy to inform you that we have new carpeting, light fixtures and wall vinyl in our hallways too. Please know we greatly value your loyalty and hope you will consider us when returning to the area.

Sincerely,
Danielle Bastianelli
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Typical Marriott experience. Super-convenient location for auto industry road warriors, reasonable room size and amenities, friendly staff. As is often the case in these types of secondary market properties, however, attention to detail was lacking. Example: Bathroom sink drained leaked like a sieve, notified housekeeping, next day it was still flooding the bathroom floor. On a very positive note, concierge level snacks and light meals were terrific. I'd stay here again if the rate was right.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4richer4poorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear 4Richer4Poorer;

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor; as a Senior Contributor you remarks are truly valued. We are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and our concierge food terrific. You are 100% correct in noting that the details are equally important and it is important to understand where we can improve in order to offer our guests not just a predictably satisfactory experience but a superior experience. Your thoughtful review will help us to do more better, and for that we are most appreciative.

Thank you once again for your thoughtful review!

Sincerely,

Danielle Bastianelli
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This is a nice full service hotel, great facilities. Everything you need is here, restaurant, shuttle service, 24 hour store. There is a mall connected to the hotel so its very convenient. The staff is great too, everyone is so nice. What I did not like was the value and price. The standard room is small, and for what I paid I dont think it was worth all that money. I felt I paid a high price for the number of amenities instead of a better room. Nevertheless, the room was very clean and nice. On Sundays, this Sweet Lorraines has a great brunch buffet!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lasvegaschamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

What a nice review; out of 6 categories, in 4, you ranked us 5 out of 5. I was happy to learn you felt our staff was great and that our hotel had everything one would need when traveling, including a great brunch buffet and attachment to mall. I know you had some misgivings about the value of your stay, and I want to assure you we keep a keen eye on the market and are very competitive. We offer many options to obtain discounted pricing such as our package offers and advance purchase rates. In fact we are unique in that our advance purchase rates do not have a "no refund" policy associated with them which most of our competitors require. We continue to strive to offer our guests the best of accommodations at a good value. Knowing that you have submitted many hotel reviews, you understand the importance this medium has in helping us to achieve this goal, and for that we are most grateful.

With regard,

Danielle Bastianelli
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

The Marriott hotel is just another Marriott hotel. You can't expect anything more or less. This is just a 2-3 star hotel. They do have great customer service though. The staff is always friendly and accommodating. The rooms are outdated. The carpet in the room had a very heavy deodorizer smell. The AC/heater unit is the old school kind where you see at motels. Super loud at night when you are sleeping. One cool thing about this hotel though is that it was attached to a mall. :) Aside from that, if you aren't expecting a 4-5 star hotel you probably wouldn't mind staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweeteAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear SweeteAmy ~ Thank you for submitting a review of our hotel. As you may know we just completed an extensive guest room renovation (December 2012) inclusive of new carpeting, wall coverings and accessories so I was disappointed to hear you felt the carpet had a heavy odor. I was thrilled to hear you felt our staff is always friendly and accommodating. We continually strive to not only provide a clean up to date environment but also recognize that without great consistent customer service we would not succeed, therefore it is with reviews such as yours, that we place great value. Please know we greatly appreciate your loyalty and patronage but even more importantly your candid thoughts.

Sincerely,
Danielle Bastianelli
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livonia hotels
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Livonia
Comfort Inn Livonia
#9 of 16 in Livonia
181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Detroit Livonia
0.5 mi away
Towneplace Suites Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Livonia

Address: 17100 N Laurel Park Dr, Livonia, MI 48152-2651
Region: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range: £72 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Livonia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Detroit Marriott Livonia is conveniently located near all of Detroit's major expressways and is easily accessible to downtown Detroit, Ann Arbor, and Southeast Michigan. Our on site transportation providers will be happy to extend our discount to you when traveling to Detroit's Metro Airport, a mere 18 miles from our hotel. Connected to Laurel Park Mall our hotel is just steps away from a variety of dining and entertainment options. Once inside the Detroit Marriott Livonia hotel you will enjoy guestrooms and suites featuring luxurious down comforters and duvets, HD flat screen TVs and recently upgraded wireless internet. Treat yourself to relaxing diversions in our indoor pool, whirlpool and extensive fitness center. Our on site restaurant and home town favorite Sweet Lorraine's is sure to please your palate with it use of organic and locally grown catering fare. Discover the finest of Detroit's hotels in Livonia, Michigan - at the full service Detroit Marriott Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Detroit Marriott Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Livonia Hotel Livonia
Marriott Livonia
Livonia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing