We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raises the bar on customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Detroit Livonia
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Livonia
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Raises the bar on customer service”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I like the spacious suites at Residence Inn and this one did not disappoint. The hotel is conveniently located near wonderful restaurants, nice supermarkets, and service providers.

The friendly, caring staff at this location is truly exceptional! The breakfast attendant was friendly and accommodating. The Housekeeping staff was attentive and conscientious. Hope, evening reception attendant, was bubbly and efficient. Justin, the assistant General Manager, was a tremendous help when an important legal matter came up. He generously allowed me to use his office and equipment to handle matters and he effortlessly answered my questions about overnight delivery options. He saved me hours of hassle and delay by this simple act of kindness and Even though he had his own work to do. Even maintenance staff I passed in the hallways and on the grounds greeted me every day and asked if everything was alright. I can't remember the last time I met such a consistently excellent staff.

I am amazed at the hiring genius of Residence Inn - Livonia!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Livonia, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Thank you Becky for taking the time to write about your experience here at the Residence Inn Livonia! As the person that does the hiring and training it fills me with joy to hear about how blown away you were by the service that our staff provided. Thank you again and we hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Regards,
Matt Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    17
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
7
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Setubal, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

The room its ok altought a bit old in some aspects but its nice if you stay for long periods of time.
The breakfast its a bit poor and the lack of continental breakfast was a bit frustrating.
It could be much better bit its ok. The proximity to the shopping its cool if you are a foreigner

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Livonia, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Thank you Pedro for taking the time to write about your experience here at the Residence Inn Livonia. I'm very sorry to hear that you were a bit dissapointed with the complimentary breakfast buffet. Though it has a wide variety it is quite may not have all of the items that our guests from different countries are accustomed to. As you may have noticed we also have Japanese Breakfast items do to the high volume of Asian travelers. I would really like the chance to speak to you the next time you are in the area so that I can get a better understanding of what we might be able to add to the buffet to have a more European or Brazilian options.

Thank you again and I hope to see you again the next time you are in the Livonia area.

Regards,
Matt Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We have hosted a weekend-long hockey event in the Metro Detroit area for 8 years, and for the past two, our group has stayed at the Residence Inn Detroit Livonia.

The rooms completely fit our needs (space for hockey bags, full-size refrigerators, oven, cooking utensils) as well - they are huge!

Since we are a group, we deal directly with the hotel, and dealing with Sarah has been an absolute pleasure! The staff is excellent - they have always been courteous and friendly, and remembered us from the previous year, which made us feel even more welcome.

We're already looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Livonia, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Thank you JR for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor. I am so glad to hear that all went well with your stay early in December. Sarah does a great job making sure that groups and teams have a positive experience. As an extended stay hotel winter months work great with teams because our occupancy is a bit lower and we have a better chance of getting the rooms close to eachother. During our peak months (May through October) with a high occupancy of guests that stay for weeks or months at a time putting larger groups together is more difficult.

Hopefully you and your team choose the Residence Inn Livonia should you have another tournament in 2013.

Thanks again,

Matt Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Our family has been here for a few months. From the first day, we have had a great experience. Matt, Justin, Steve, Hope, Jessica, other front desk staff, dining staff, housekeepping and maintenance staff members, have always treated our family with respect and kindness. It's always great to see people bring their A game every day. They all give good service and they enjoy taking care of people. You just want to do or say something, to make their day brighter too. I enjoy talking and laughing with the staff. Each staff member brings something different to the table. Ms.Hope really is special. There is no one like her. She takes care of everyone, but she makes you feel special too. I really appreicate all of them!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Livonia, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you Terri for taking the time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor! We greatly appreciate the feedback and knowing that what we do every day makes a positive impact on our guests is a wonderful feeling. We at Residence inn pride our selves on making all of our guests feel at home and really enjoy the opportunity to get to know our regulars as well as long term travelers on a more personal level. We believe that it makes being away from home a bit more enjoyable when you have friendly faces that know you as a person but still treat you like our guest.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Regards,
Matt Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2012

My family has never had as wonderful an experience as we did at this facility. Everyone on the staff, from the General Manager on down, is friendly, courteous, and helpful - often without being asked.

Many on the staff learned our names and our preferences in food, seating, services, and kitchen/bathroom supplies. It was wonderful to be held in such high regard.

While everyone on the staff was great, we must note that one particular person exemplified customer service like no one else we have seen before. Her name is Hope and she was so good with evening meal service that we all felt like royalty each night. Hope made anyone feel special if she saw and served you more than once.

We highly recommend this facility, and plan to come back for additional stays.

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the pond are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbc12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Livonia, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. As the General Manager I pride myself on having such a great team to keep our customers feeling like we are their home away from home. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I know Hope is happy to hear that she made such a positive impact for you and your family.

Regards
Matt Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermillion, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Great staff and updated suites. Have been staying here for 8 years. This is my first choice of all the hotels in this area. Steve and Justin are always friendly and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Livonia, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you Gary for your kind review of our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for your loyalty to our Marriott and to the Residence Inn Livonia! Looking forward to seeing you back the next time you are in town.

Regards,
Matt Bennett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Worst hotel I´ve ever stayed at. Most staff very unfriendly (with some good exceptions!).
Stayed there for 2 months and experienced stolen stuff, on the floor thrown clothes, used parfume, terrible room service, hardly bed cover change, dirty carpet, running toilet flash, for 1,5 month 2 out of 2 broken treadmills, and so on....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Livonia, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Reviews of this sort are difficult to resond to so as to not sound defensive or that we are making excuses. Our goal is to meet and exceed our guests expectations and despite our best efforts we were not able to do so in this case. I wanted to take a minute to respond and clarify on a few of the points that were made. When the guest said that items were stolen from their room we were told that they felt that their laundry detergent and perfum had been used. None of our other guests reported any issues with missing items or or items being used a problem but we offered to replace anything that they felt was missing and our offer was refused.

In regards to the photos there is little for me to defent. It appears that the bathroom floor was poorly cleaned or foot prints were left behind. The second photo is not of a cleanliness issue but an old closet track that the glass door slides on. The last photo is of dirt kicked up by landscaping that landed in the well of the window. Not in the room but under the window. This is an item that we will discuss as a traning topic to better serve our guests in the future.

For anyone that has not stayed or is considering staying at a Residence Inn linen changes are done a bit differently than a hotel geared toward short term travelers. Though beds are made daily while cleaning sheets are changed 2 times per week during long stays. Linens are always fresh and clean for new arrivals. Also, our team members do our best to try not to touch our guests personal belongings. When items are left on the bed they must be moved so that the bed can be made. Our staff is trained to put those items in a safe and secure location off of the floor. If you prefer your items to not be bothered best to keep the off of the bed or other areas that you want cleaned.

Both of our Treadmills were down for close to 6 weeks. The parts were on backorder and rather than wait 10 weeks for repairs we opted to purchase two brand new "life fitness" treadmills with larger TV's and Ipod docking stations that allows you to watch your movies while working out. We realize that the time that the equipment was down was a major inconvenience so we were able to get our guests access to a near by fitness center.

Our goal is to have all of our guests leave satisified. Even though we made our best efforts we still fell short of this guests expectations. We do however appreciate all feedback both positive and negative so that we can make changes to better serve our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livonia hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Towneplace Suites Detroit Livonia
0.6 mi away
Detroit Marriott Livonia
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Detroit Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Detroit Livonia

Property: Residence Inn Detroit Livonia
Address: 17250 Fox Dr, Livonia, MI 48152-3961
Region: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Detroit Livonia 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Detroit Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Livonia
Livonia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing