We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the best State Park in Michigan!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ludington State Park
Spring Arbor
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This is the best State Park in Michigan!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

My family and I have enjoyed Ludington State Park for years. It has miles of beach front and dunes, trails. The Campground is actually separated into three campgrounds, the Pine, the Cedar, and the Beach-wood with the Beach-wood being my favorite because it is closest to Hamlin Lake. Although we spend most of our time on Lake Michigan's beach where there is a beach Bath House to change your clothes and buy food and snacks. If you like to camp or just spend the day at the beach, this is the place.

Room Tip: If you plan on camping here, book early (January)
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Resseguie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We camped here for 11 days in July 2012 and loved every minute. The park is very busy, and we were very lucky to have an outside campsite in the Beachwood Loop which felt less cramped. We made our reservations 6 months in advance with a mid-week arrival. Most campers are repeat visitors to the Park, having camped there year after year. The restroom are heavily used, but cleaned twice a day. Showers are busy in late afternoon, but never had a cold shower, always warm to hot water available. Waits were never more than 6 to 8 minutes even at the busiest times.

There is so much to do without ever leaving the State Park. We hiked nearly every day. The trails are well marked and of varying lengths and difficulty. Our favorites are the Lost Lake and Island Trails. Beautiful views of dunes and water that never get boring. We saw lots of wildlife, including an eagle who had just snagged a fish out of the lake. We did the dune hike out to the Lighthouse and the gravel road back one day. A long, hot trip, but well worth it.

Hamlin Lake and Lost Lake are excellent canoeing and kayaking spots. Tubing down the river between the dam and Lake Michigan is a relaxing afternoon. The Lake Michigan beach extends for miles. Parking is available along the 3 miles of road into the park. Just pop over the dune, and you have a front row spot on a beautifulm nearly empty beachfront. Your nearest neighbor will be 100 feet or more away! A bike trail winds between the 3 campgrounds, and we saw deer in the woods along the trail every day. (I would suggest bringing a bike as the dumpsters are at the beginning of each loop and your campsite could easily be 1/4 to 1/2 mile away.) And, of course, there is nothing like a Lake Michigan sunset, and the ones in Ludington are no exception.

A great place to spend a day or a week, or maybe ever two weeks! We shall return!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenKST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This is a beautiful park. Lake Michigan is so blue. It rivals any Caribbean destination. As you approach the Park on M-116 you travel with the lovely sand beach and blue water to your left. There's ample parking on the left with numerous paths to the beach. Remember to stay on paths. The dunes are fragile. There are many hiking paths in the Park (unlike Charles Means and Silver Lakes). If hiking is on your list, this is a good choice. The Lost Lake Path is easy, lovely and shaded in the afternoon. The other path that is considered easy is the gravely path to the Lighthouse. The four campgrounds are large and appeared to be crowded and cramped and loaded with kids. The beach is long and lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DPD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We weren't sure what to expect, as you have to drive through the Ludington town and the beach park and drive a little ways to get to this park, but it was well worth it. There are quite a few trails to select from. We were short on time, so did a one hour along the water. The facilities are very clean, and the staff was helpful, would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlhardy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This park deserves its popularity. Its size means there are many areas that feel wild. There is a beautiful Lake Michigan sand beach, a lake beach where small children feel more comfortable, a "sky trail" on which you see long distances, a lighthouse which you must walk or bike to, a huge campground with 3 loops plus walk-in sites, and an extensive and well-marked system of hiking trails. There is a huge lake for fishing and boating, a canoe trail, and a fun-to-ride bike trail. The campground is often fully booked months ahead, but we have always been able to get a site by calling the reservation number daily, because there are always cancelations. Sites on the outside of loops are more private and spacious than inside sites. The city of Ludington has many interesting shops and galleries, and a beautiful marina park.

Room Tip: The Pine loop seems most crowded. Outside sites on Beechwood or Cedar loops are best.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is one of the most beautiful, pristine beaches I have ever encountered and I am European - used to ocean type beaches! The sand is sugary, the water pristine, love the beach house with the food and tourist options.... love ... love .....love!

Room Tip: Just great - didn't think much of downtown Ludington but this place is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackieog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Not every state park compels a family of four to visit several days in a row. This state park did.
On day one, the guys arrived by canoe from Hamlin Lake while the rest of the family joined with the minivan. Then we hiked to the dam, took our canoe from Hamlin tup the Sable River hrough to Lake Michigan. We spent an afternoon at the beautiful beach area at Lake Michigan. On Day two, we took the island trail which was beautiful and well named. We saw a group of local swans. On Day three, the lighthouse tour provided enough of a trail with dunes for me (mom) while the guys did an alternate strenuous dune hike back. Then on an evening we enjoyed ranger led all group canoe tour of Hamlin Lake. The highlight was seeing a pair of Bald Eagles playing together. ?Good souvenir T shirts at the camp store too.This is a great week of activities for nearly free---after we paid the $29 all Michigan State Park Pass.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludington hotels
0.9 mi away
Nader's Motel & Suites
Nader's Motel & Suites
#6 of 17 in Ludington
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#10 of 17 in Ludington
148 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
2.8 mi away
Best Western Lakewinds
Best Western Lakewinds
#2 of 17 in Ludington
761 reviews
1.1 mi away
Summers Inn Ludington
Summers Inn Ludington
#1 of 17 in Ludington
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ludington State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludington State Park

Property: Ludington State Park
Address: Lakeshore Dr., Ludington, MI
Region: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Ludington
Number of rooms: 373
Also Known As:
Ludington State Park Hotel Ludington
State Park Hotel Ludington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing