We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not recommend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ludington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Haven Resort Motel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Not sound proof, electrical issues, hot/cold water problem in shower, not smoke detectors

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILoveMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2010

Where to begin? Perhaps the mousetrap we found behind the dresser-- evidence of a clear problem. Or maybe that the provided flatware and dishes in the cabinets all had remnants of food on them and had to be washed before we could use them. The refrigerator smelled terribly from the last visitors. There was no air conditioning (not mentioned on the Web site, btw, but perhaps that's my fault for not asking), and one of us was asthmatic. The only ceiling fan in the 4-room suite was in the common area, so we went out and purchased box fans for the bedrooms. The internet connection didn't extend to the side of the motel we were staying on at all. Not really a problem for me, but my stepson was devastated. We ran out of toilet paper on our 3rd day (out of a 7 night stay), and no one ever asked us if we needed anything. Luckily, my mother had brought a roll or two for just such a situation. The final straw was the roaches. One crawled across an arm. Another scuttled behind the toilet when the lights were turned on in the bathroom in the middle of the night. I got an up-close view of that one myself. We left a day early. I realize now that the requirement to pay in full in advance, preferably by check was not a quirk of a small town motel but a defense against any attempt to stop payment.

All that said, the wrap-around porch was quite lovely. We spent most of our time at the motel out there. Would I return to the Country Haven "Resort" Motel for that? Not on your life.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank knittermom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirl56, Owner at Country Haven Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2010

First and foremost we would have appreciated it if this guest would have brought these concerns to our attention immediately so we could have addressed them. We pride ourselves in operating a resort which is known for its cleanliness and family orientation.
Our resort is located in the country and although it is rare we do ocassionally get small rodents that do their best to get into the units for the warmth, hence the mousetrap located behind a dresser.
This situation occurs in the Fall and we merely forgot to remove it from the unit.
We have ample supply of toilet paper in our main office located within the main lodge. All this guest would have had to do is merely ask for more and we would have graciously provided it. We generally leave additional rolls of toilet paper in each unit but it is very possible that one of our housekeepers failed to restock. They are human and do make mistakes despite there every effort to be thorough.
We are completely puzzled at the comment regarding the 'roach' as this would be the first time in 21 years that one was sited on or in our properties. This summer was hot and humid which certainly provides for the perfect environment for bugs but we find it very hard to believe this siting is accurate. Once again had we known there was a concern we would have addressed it and applied the proper spray to immediately eradicate this matter. We have never had a complaint of this type from any other guest prior to or since. Again, we pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our resort. Just this summer we received a call from our area Chamber of Commerce informing us that a guest had stopped in and was raving about how clean our resort was.
We do not have air conditioning in our units, however, ceiling fans can be found in all units with box fans and stand fans available upon request. Many times we leave portable fans in each unit during our summer season but to save on storage space within the units we will often times store them in our office. All these guests would have had to do is ask and we would have graciously provided them for their comfort. We try and provide our guests with privacy and depend on them to let us know if there is anything at all they may need. With our resort located on Hamlin Lake and just miles from Lake MI we frequently get prevailing west winds off the lake causing our guests to request more blankets than air conditioning. With the hot humid summer we had we found this the first year in our history where we actually could have used air conditioning. If this becomes typical summer weather for us we will certainly consider installing it.
Again, we pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our resort and the family atmosphere consisting of free use of kayaks, paddleboats, bassboats w/electric trolling motors, canoe and bicycles. We have to believe that 19 of 21 years in business being record years, with an increase of over 40% this year must say something about our goal of satisfying our customers, at least most of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

My significant other and stayed at cottage # 9 at Country Haven in mid-October for a long weekend. Prior to arriving, the owners Shirley and Bill were very pleasant and helpful. We also booked a day of ATV rentals for this trip, which Bill very kindly helped us with. The cottage that we stayed in was recently updated and very clean. Newer bathroom, windows, floors, kitchen, deck, etc. The cottage was on a small hill overlooking Hamlin Lake. JUST GORGEOUS! We are actually going back up there again in about 2 weeks for another long weekend. I highly recommend a stay at Country Haven. The Resort is very clean and quaint. You can stay in the hotel part of the resort, or the cottages (which I recommend the later). Pricing is VERY resonable. I just love this place! We plan on continuing to go back there every so often. You can also rent from Country Haven several types of different boats, snowmobiles, and jet skis (again, we rented the ATVs). I was also told by the owners that they have a jacuzzi in the boat house, which we plan on using when we go back this November. GREAT PLACE!!

Stayed: October 2008
3  Thank DetroitGrrl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2006

During our three night stay, we enjoyed talking with the owners. They were very friendly and helpful. You have the use of kayaks, paddleboats, and bass buddy boats (as long as there is enough juice in the battery). The resort is off the lake - you can see a little of the lake from the front yard of the resort, but mostly you see the canal that connects the lake to the bayou.

Our room was fine (until you turn the sofa into a bed, and then it gets cramped). Our biggest complaint was the smell of the water. It smelled like it was coming directly out of the lake. I know that well water can cause smells, but this was the worst that we have experienced. On top of that, the shower stall was very small and it was plastic. For the price of our stay, you would think they would have an actual shower stall, not a plastic home depot kit. So, small plastic shower with smelly water made for some fun clean up time!

For our next visit to the Ludington area (and there will be one), we will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank SunshineSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2006

A very nice, cozy place to stay. Very clean and friendly.
Close to the beach and close enough to town.
I'll be checking in twice this summer and looking forward to both trips.

Stayed: July 2005
7  Thank camper59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Birgitbarbara62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludington
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
447 reviews
4.2 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
162 reviews
3.6 mi away
Nader's Motel & Suites
Nader's Motel & Suites
#7 of 17 in Ludington
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
4.1 mi away
Ludington Pier House Motel
Ludington Pier House Motel
#5 of 17 in Ludington
244 reviews
19.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Haven Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Haven Resort Motel

Address: 3263 N Lakeshore Dr, Ludington, MI 49431-9023
Region: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Price Range: £53 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Haven Resort is located approx. 4 miles north of Ludington, MI on Hamlin Lake. During the summer months, included in your lodging is unlimited use of SUPs, kayaks, paddleboats, canoe, bassboats w/electric trolling motors and bicycles. The Ludington State Park is just minutes away where you will find miles and miles of sandy beaches. We enjoy awesome sunsets and cool breezes off Lake MI.During the winter season our guests come to ice fish popular Hamlin Lake, participate in scheduled fishing tournaments and/or rent a snowmobile and ride the miles of groomed trails in northern lower MI!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing