We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired wanting a local hotel/motel”
Review of Viking Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viking Arms Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I really hate to take a chance on locally owned motels,but trip advisor takes most of the chance out. We lucked out again. Clean and well maintained. Close enough to walk downtown and enjoy the evening.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Located on Highway 10 about a mile west of downtown Ludington, this is a privately-owned motel
equal to motels of the upscale chains. Rooms and large and quiet (albeit a trifle dim). Whirlpool suites are available. Restaurants and convenience stores are nearby. Rates are competitive.
The Viking Arms is definitely a worthwhile choice for those touring the Lake Michigan dunes or
traveling on the 'Badger" car ferry.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Outsider33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our family and friends take a trip from Detroit to Ludington every single year and we always stay at Viking Arms Inn. The rates are always low, the rooms always clean, and we always feel at home while we are there. We would never choose another place to stay while at Ludington. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wojtekorlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

We so enjoy seeing you and your parents every year. Your Mom & Dad are always so nice and smiling all of the time. Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in the whirlpool suite with fireplace. I loved the cleanliness of the room, the gorgeous Gazebo outside. The whirlpool was relaxing after a day on the lake. I enjoyed the coffee in the room as well. It was simply a very nice room for the price; in fact it was nicer then I had expected. I will definitely recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LMKnapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you so much for doing such a nice review. We appreciate you giving us a chance to accommodate you during your stay in Ludington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The owner is very personable, keeps an immaculate property with reasonable rates. Close to amenities. Quiet with off street parking, owner was able to recommend dining options and had knowledge of local attractions to provide information in addition to brochures available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Just ask about our local restaurants and Ill always be happy to tell you all about them:) I'm glad we were able to help you have a nice vacation. Thank you for taking time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We pulled into the Viking Arms and found it to be quite nice and at a rate of $145.00 instead of the Holiday Inn Express for $485.00. The room was clean and had a jacuzzi in it and the front desk staff were very helpful.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you so much for giving us a try and taking time out of your day to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Can't wait to come back to this friendly little haven--a ten minute bicycle ride from the ferry! It lived up to all the reviews and more--exceeded our expectations---a vintage quaint motor court motel, yet adorned with the cutest decor...extremely clean, meticulously maintained rooms, pool and hot tub; darling mid-court gazebo draped in beautiful flowers and surrounded by comfortable adirondack chairs for "morning coffee fans" or sunset gazers.. Dave (and family) extremely friendly and accommodating..and we met the nicest guests in the pool/hot tub! Most beautiful beach in Michingan (and the midwest as far as we are concerned) only a 9 mile bike ride, 10 minute car ride--Ludington State Park, complete with brand new beach house...beach as nice as some of the ones we've visited in Maine. The food at the downtown restaurants was delicious and reasonable---less expensive than many of the typical tourist towns in WI.. See Brenda's or Old Hamlin, Jamesport Brewing Co., El Rancho Mexican, House of Flavors...Plus, the ferry offered a discounted rate for passengers without cars returning within 48 hrs. Instead of $69 each way, It was $89 for each passenger and $12 round for bicycle! Hints to bicyclists: try to avoid riding on Hwy.10..use back streets to Viking Arms--Loomis St. right turn off James St., east until it ends, Hwy.10 only for 1/2 block to Viking Arms. Bring insulated ice bag for room---ice machine at motel. Right next door to Viking Arms is a Rite Aid..(Walgreen's style) for everything from Michigan Wine/spirits to pharmaceutical...laundry facility 1/2 block around corner...See Dave in office for any concerns, as he has the best recommendations and gives great attention to detail! This was an outstanding 48 hr. getaway for 2 teachers/highlight of the summer! We'll be back!! Thanks so much to this wonderful family!

Room Tip: Great selection of room choices---queens with tub/shower, or just shower...if 3 are traveling can ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebW29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

What a great review with some wonderful details. I don't think I could have done better myself. I totally agree about Ludington ave. I would not recommend bike riding there. Thank you soooo much for taking time out of your day to write such a nice review. You were so nice to talk to and such a pleasure to meet. Take care, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludington hotels
1.5 mi away
Nader's Motel & Suites
Nader's Motel & Suites
#5 of 17 in Ludington
178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
161 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
445 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ludington Pier House Motel
Ludington Pier House Motel
#7 of 17 in Ludington
244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#17 of 17 in Ludington
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Arms Inn

Address: 930 E Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-2438
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ludington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ludington
Price Range: £57 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Arms Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viking Arms Inn is located centrally in Ludington. We have been one of the highest AAA quality rated facilities in the area for over 30 years. Offering exceptional quality and warm hospitality. Shopping, the beach and the SS Badger are all as close as a mile away. We are open all year for the summer as well as the winter traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Viking Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Arms Hotel Ludington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing