We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Return Visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lamplighter Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 11 Ludington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I visited the Lamplighter for the second time a few weeks ago and it really couldn't have been better. The rooms are quite comfortable, Bill and Jane and their dog Maggie are fantastic hosts, and the breakfast is amazing! We can't imagine staying anywhere else in Ludington!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelers2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I visited Ludington two weeks ago for the first time. I researched B&B in the area and found wonderful reviews about the Lamplighter. I absolutely love this place. The room was so comfortable and decorated beautifully. The best part of all was the breakfast which was spectacular. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papajohn078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband & I recently spent a weekend at the LampLighter Bed & Breakfast. The experience was wonderful & we are anxious to visit this B & B again. Jane & Bill were extremely accommodating-and made us feel like family. Maggie was an added delight. We were very comfortable in the honeymoon suite. The room as well as the entire house was beautifully furnished and comfortable. We enjoyed the back patio in the morning while sipping coffee. The breakfasts were FABULOUS and there was always plenty of food if you wanted a second serving. Bill served our breakfast & both Bill & Jane were delightful. Coffee, tea, soda and plenty of chocolate cookies were always available. We were able to relax and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I were vacationing in Ludington for our 2 year anniversary. I researched all the different bed and breakfast's around the area and I'm glad that I chose this one. Jane and Bill were wonderful! Jane's breakfast's were so delicious, and her ingredients are local which is what I enjoyed. And Bill was wonderful and extremely kind and sweet by serving us and making sure we had plenty of coffee and had enough to eat. The house is absolutely beautiful! We stayed in the Cassatt Room and it was lovely, some might say it is little small, but that didn't matter to us at all. If we ever come back to Ludington, we would come back to stay with Jane, Bill, and Maggie (their Wheaton Terrier who is so sweet)!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I had the unfortunate experience of having to try a case in Mason county circuit court this past January during about 10 feet of daily snow, 60 mph straight line winds off the lake, -19 degrees...and this lovely b & b is only three blocks from the courthouse! They took great care of me and my associate, let us take over the parlor each night to work on trial prep, made sure we had food we liked, brushed off our cars endlessly, helped us heave our briefcases through snow banks...and made sure I had ice for my bourbon every day after court. Very, very comfy beds, fireplaces everywhere.....the best polar vortex business trip ever!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank genieb071065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My fiancee and I stayed here over the weekend. All I can say was that it was perfect. Jane, Bill and Maggie were delightful. The house and rooms were splendid. I absolutely loved the breakfast by candlelight. The meal was prepared with great care and pride. It is not everyday you can go from a fast paced lifestyle and step back in to a time where life slows down, I am pleased to say that here you can. This place is wonderful and well worth every penny spent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amnixo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I almost hate to detail all of the great care that Bill and Jane took of me while I was staying with them, as so much of it was personalized to my own needs and desires, I would expect that everyone's experience would be quite unique to them. But over the course of a couple of weeks, they helped me with a dead car battery, with my need for a humidifier in the room, an irritated stomach, a car wash, the need to get my laundry done, and more. This is all not to mention the delicious breakfast they gracefully placed before me every morning. I miss it all already.

Room Tip: I had the opportunity to stay in three different rooms in the course of my two visits, and each had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molierelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludington hotels
0.9 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
161 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
0.9 mi away
Ludington Pier House Motel
Ludington Pier House Motel
#7 of 17 in Ludington
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ludington House Bed And Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Cartier Mansion Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Ludington
The Inn at Ludington
#5 of 11 in Ludington
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamplighter Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamplighter Bed & Breakfast

Address: 602 E Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-2223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ludington
Price Range: £106 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lamplighter Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated 5 stars on TripAdvisor and 3 Diamonds by AAA, the Lamplighter Bed & Breakfast is conveniently located near miles of white, sandy Lake Michigan beach, four lighthouses, S.S. Badger car ferry to Wisconsin, Ludington Area Center for the Arts, the all-new Port of Ludington Maritime Museum and Michigan's beautiful Ludington State Park. Situated along Ludington Avenue, it’s an easy walk to shopping, antiquing, restaurants, breweries, ice cream and entertainment. Loaded with Old World Charm, the Lamplighter is an 1890’s Victorian that features its original oak pocket doors and brass hardware, handcrafted oak staircase, and tiled fireplaces. The comforts and conveniences of today come alongside the antiques, family heirlooms and other objets d’art that decorate the elegant, yet casual old home. Outdoors, a cozy gazebo, deck and patio allows guests to enjoy the beautiful gardens and outdoor spaces making the experience at the Lamplighter a time of rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Lamplighter Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing