We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stearns Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ludington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stearns Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Beautiful, historical hotel! When you walk into the lobby, you feel like you are walking back in time. They have up-to-date amenities including a tanning bed! Very quiet and love the closet space! It is in walking distance of great restaurants and shops and close to the beach. Stearns has convenience mastered.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    34
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
27
28
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Had not been back in 10 years, I stayed on the 3rd floor it was quiet peaceful restful 2 nights. Pricing was right and the staff very nice. Jeff B. can give you an impromptu history lesson on the majestic property and his family has been running this since the 60's . The Tiki Nightclub has a personality all it's own and Is a must see after dark venue. Located right inside the hotel. Yeah There is no pool but the beach is just up the road. The property is living history and within walking distance of everything you would ever want in a small charming little town.

Room Tip: Slept like a Baby on the third floor, knowing there was a high energy nightclub downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed on 3rd floor very nice clean room! Quiet and comfortable beds. Great view of downtown ludington. Front desk very friendly. Lobby clean and fresh coffee every morning.. Bathrooms clean and extra towels

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
342 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

If you want a HI this is not for you. Historic hotel in downtown Ludington at a great rate!!! Love the old pictures hanging & also the banquet room w/ the wood floor. Walking thru you almost get the feeling you have went back in time!! Very comfy, firm bed & hot shower!!!! Very quiet at night too!!! It reminded me of when we stayed at the Ludington Hotel in Escanaba!!! Perfect place if you want to shop downtown and it's less than a mile from beautiful Lake Michigan!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cinnilouwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was a cool historical hotel at a great price, best price for lodging in the area. I wasn't sure what we were going to get but was very happy. We stayed at a higher priced place the first night and this place was a better deal. There's a lot of unique features in the building to see and it is vintage, so don't stay here if you want pristine and updated. It's just cool. Clean, comfortable beds and spacious rooms. Right downtown so close to shopping; lake is a small hike away. Check-in lady was very nice, though there was a younger girl at the desk when we left who was reading and didn't even look up or acknowledge us when we turned in the key.

Room Tip: Other travelers mentioned a particular room for a view of the ferry but they gave the wrong number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paperwrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeeland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at the Stearns about five years ago, and enjoyed it very much..but it was in need of a little sprucing up. We decided on a whim to stay there again this past weekend. The cool old timey charm is still there AND much of it has been updated! We had a king room on the third floor..huge! And absolutely spotless..not so much as a speck of dust on a lampshade! The décor was dated, but in an intentional way. The very comfortable club chairs in the room appeared to be recently reupholstered, but with a fabric that had a vintage vibe to it. The carpet in the room and the hallways were new. The Stearns is like stepping into a cool old movie..from the sweet desk clerk who pulls your paper reservation from a file that looks 100 years old, the actual room key, and the cool 30's sounding music playing in the lobby..the stearns is a wonderful respite from the cookie cutter chain hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Marys, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I came back to Ludington for a family vacation, love the new historical artwork, and music. Hotel continues to be upgraded, but keeps the classic charm. Enjoyed the location and quaintness of downtown Ludington. We would not have that if we stayed on the outside of Ludington with most the other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludington hotels
0.9 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#11 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lakewinds
BEST WESTERN Lakewinds
#3 of 17 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viking Arms Inn
Viking Arms Inn
#8 of 17 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stearns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stearns Hotel

Property: Stearns Hotel
Address: 212 E Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-3013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Stearns Motor Hotel Ludington
Stearns Hotel Ludington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing