We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Secluded swimming pool with views of the Quantocks
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded swimming pool with views of the Quantocks
Sitting room Sitting room with dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Secluded swimming pool with views of the Quantocks
Sitting room
Sitting room with dining area
Dining area
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom with shower over the batch
Coach House from the garden
Coach House drive
Old Rectory Coach House garden
Old Rectory Coach House - Farm View on the left; the Elms on the right
Trampoline and garden
Cottage garden
Dogs welcome!
Sampford Brett village
Sampford Brett village and the Quantocks
Swimming time!
Brendon hills - fabulous cycling both on and off road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sampford Brett, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
hayleyd33
2 reviews
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Lovely accommodation in a gorgeous location. The Elms was clean, comfortable and prettily presented with everything you need for a home from home stay. It was lovely to arrive after a long drive to find milk in the fridge to make a cup of tea and then to see a box of chocolate macaroons on the table, a lovely vase of fresh flowers on the windowsill and then a bottle of cider for later! Jan and Phil the owners were very welcoming and helpful. The gardens were lovely, and the village of Sampford Brett very pretty and peaceful. A good base to explore nearby Dunster, Porlock, Porlock Weir, Watchet and Old Cleeve. My dogs enjoyed a good scamper on Blue Anchor Bay beach and other lovely walks including The Mineral Line from Washford to Watchet and a walk up through the woods near Dunster Castle to Bat's Cave, the site of an Iron Age Fort. We were blessed with beautiful weather so saw this part of the world at It's best. A lovely break and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2018
Thanks Hayley. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay and managed to visit lots of different places. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Our C
1 review
“Great vacation!”
Reviewed 12 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

What an amazing place to stay, lovely hosts and such a clean house. Great part of the country to be in

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2018
Thanks Archie - we're so glad you enjoyed your very short stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobATFC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Once again, 5 stars”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Returned from another brilliant, peaceful and enjoyable week at the Elms.
The weather wasn't the best but thankfully plenty to do in and around Sampford Brett and luckily the giant trampoline is usable even during a downpour.

Jan and Phil are great hosts, greeted with a smile, complete with flowers, tea / coffee , cider and delicious cakes. The Elms is so cosy and comfortable, the perfect place to stay. The garden has a pool, a trampoline and kids climbing frame.

If you're looking for a base around the Quantocks then look no further.

Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2017
It was great to see you again, and glad your weren't disappointed with a return trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali B
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second stay! Beautiful”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We just stayed for 7 nights at The Elms for the second year running. We absolutely love it there. It even gave me inspiration for a new book to write!

The cottage is cosy and has everything you need and the gardens are beautiful. Our son loved exploring and playing on the trampoline! The two cats that wander and roam are also very sociable and friendly.

Thank you again for having us, we already miss it and the beautiful village that the Old Rectory perfectly sits in.

Please do visit the church, it's peaceful and as most churches are, steeped in history.

Lots to do nearby from Dunster, the steam trains, Watchet, the Quantocks and of course Exmoor itself. There is a beautiful and huge park in Dunster if you have little ones. Right by the old Bridge near the mill.

We will be back because it's beginning to feel like home from home. Please visit and enjoy the serenity.

Ps. Thanks for the cider and macaroons! What a treat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2017
We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves and found lots to do. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iajbradsh...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow! What a hidden gem!”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just had a lovely 6 days stopping at the elms. From start to finish loved it. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by both Jan and Phil and shown to our accommodation and shown where everything was located.
Lovely surprise to have tea,coffee milk biscuits...and a bottle of cider and freshly picked flowers from there lovely garden provided for us on arrival. Can't fault the accommodation,it's been beautifully restored with modern bathroom and kitchen and comfy beds.
Free Wi-Fi was great and my daughter made most of the nice strong connection .
Lovely swimming pool kept lovely and clean. Having only 2 separate accommodations made us feel we had our very own pool....not shared...
Everything you could possibly need from the accommodation was included.
Such a lovely village location and the sounds of the country with the sound of the passing steam train in the distance made it even better. Great base to explore the sights.

Can't wait to visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thanks Ian! Happy guests are always a bonus and we love seeing families make full use of the area. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CressidaR...
1 review
“A little gem”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have stayed in lots of cottages on the English coast over the years and this one has to be one of the best.
A lovely welcome including cider, cookies and fresh flowers. The cottage was immaculate and had lots of lovely features such as big fluffy towels, very comfortable beds a bath with power shower, big TV and an idyllic garden. The pool was very clean and a huge hit with the children.
A very peaceful setting , wonderful beaches nearby and friendly hosts. What more could you want ? !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review. The pool seems to have been a particular hit this year! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buoying
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little village very peaceful”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Enjoyed our stay at elm cottage
Very comfortable lovely garden lovely walk around village.
Close to sea and major towns

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
We're glad you enjoyed your stay. You were our first visitors from Australia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing