We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Crown by Marston's Inns
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wychbold
northeast england
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“weekend break”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

we got a good deal on the price here, and so had a long weekend. the room was at the front of the inn, and had a small balcony affair, which we couldnt use as there was no door. no air con ment the only air you got was through opening the windows....but with there being the main road out of the front, and another small beer garden, it could be noisy. The room however was nice, clean and well appointed. There was a good choice of meals and at reasonible prices, and the full english was filling....it had a lovely beer garden, which seem`d to be well used. staff were friendly but seem`d a bit busy at times...and if you like rare steak dont order one....my husband was disappointed being asked how he wanted his steak, and when it arrived it bore no resemblence to what he had order`d!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bliscoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    84
    39
    15
    8
See reviews for
38
118
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Beats a travelodge only paid £40 inc B&B nice clean tidy hotel with all facilities -would recommend. Modern decor and free wifi throughout the hotel. Good pub attached, but not noisy. "............................................................

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed here before in Nov 2010 and really enjoyed it. Returned with parents for a weekend break. Rooms still well presented, clean, good decor, love the extra touch with the bottle of water. Check in simple and friendly. 20% residents discount on food makes already decent prices really good value. Waitress on first night was charming - displayed a good knowledge of the menu, friendly and attentive and all the food was served hot and was delicious. Second night waitress almost disinterested. Food still hot but not as good as first night AND although our free drink from a voucher was eventually knocked off the bill, when the change arrived she had still charged us for it!! Couldn't be bothered to wait and argue but bang went the tip!! This wouldn't put me off a return visit - still a great value hotel, decent food and great location. Would still recommend

Room Tip: You can hear the motorway at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The Crown is a busy pub, restaurant and hotel situated on the A38. - very convenient. It is an old building but it is well-maintained and regularly updated. The gardens have been recently re-designed and are very good.
The staff are particularly friendly and cheerful, working well together as a team. They are always willing to help and to give time to talk to guests.
The accomodation is fine - comfortable and well-equipped.
The restaurant has a huge range of dishes at a good price. Breakfast is excellent.
The Crown offers superb value for money - better than anywhere else!! We would heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Over time, we have tried most of the upstairs rooms. Each has some advantage - balcony rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed here for 4 days whilst working at the NEC. Room was clean, bed comfortable. No complaints.
Staff were fantastic and made our stay really good, nothing too much trouble. Ate in restaurant 3 nights as the value was unbeatable (you get 20% off all food as a resident).
V close to M5 - recommended

Room Tip: Room 1 is the only room without a bath. Room 11 has only velux roof windows no side windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncuk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed here for one night in August instead of staying at Chateau Impney (where I've stayed before and won't again). Room was very clean, clean bathroom, blackout curtains. Reasonably good shower, free wifi. Food there is usual pub/harvester style, I.e.not bad but not great. Good 241 deal though, reasonable range of beers.

So, that'd the good stuff out of the way.

Bad stuff mostly concerns the bed and the sleep quality. Bed is a double, not a king, and hence tiny. Also a bit lumpy and suffering slightly from roll-together syndrome. Worse is that the door on our room - room 3 - was literally an inch short of the carpet (I kid you not) and hence let in a lot of light and noise. I threw two pillows down at stupid o'clock to block out the light it was that bad. The noise was on a level comparable with travelodge etc - you could hear people upstairs moving, bit of noise through the walls etc. nothing more than you'd expect really.

I would stay again I suppose - for the money it is hard to beat - but I wouldn't rush back.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank youaremessedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed there on friday 10th August, pleased with room spacious and clean with all the usual touches. comfortable bed and fairly quiet even though close to the air conditioning unit.
Served reasonable draught beers and food.
We booked the room a while at a bargain price and got a lot more for our money than we anticipated.
The breakfast was included and again was fairly substantial and reasonable quality.
A good place to rest your head.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wychbold
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5
1.5 mi away
Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Droitwich
Travelodge Droitwich
#2 of 4 in Droitwich
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
St Andrews Town Hotel
St Andrews Town Hotel
#3 of 4 in Droitwich
483 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
2.2 mi away
Grafton Manor
Grafton Manor
#7 of 8 in Bromsgrove
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown by Marston's Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown by Marston's Inns

Property: The Crown by Marston's Inns
Address: Worcester Road, Wychbold WR9 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Wychbold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wychbold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Crown by Marston's Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Droitwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing