We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Points and Bad Points”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Crown by Marston's Inns
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wychbold
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“Good Points and Bad Points”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Stayed for one night whilst visiting friends in the area....took advantage of a really good deal of B and B for £35.00 for a double room booked directly with Marstons Inns. I was not expecting much for £17.50 each but was surprised that the room was not too bad at all. It was quite small but clean, comfortable, warm and had a nice bathroom. It also had the most important requirement of a good comfortable bed! We ate in the restaurant and the meal was reasonable for chain pub food. The bar and waiting staff were young people and they were friendly,welcoming, enthusiastic and provided really good service.

As we retired to bed we passed the large sign stating breakfast was served between 7am and 10am ( No information is provided in the room itself )

We had a great nights sleep and the secondary double glazing did a great job of masking the traffic noise.

All good so far...then it went downhill rapidly.

We went down for breakfast at 9.10am only to be told that it had finished and all the breakfast items had been cleaned away! I pointed out the sign next to the till that the guy was standing behind which clearly stated that breakfast is served until 10am on weekdays.

I was told that that sign referred to members of the public who were coming in from the street who could have breakfast until 10am but hotel residents could only have breakfast until 9am!! I asked how this could happen when he had already cleared everything away!

I think the guy John was a little embarrased and I told him that I was going to write to Marstons Inns and I took a photograph of the sign stating breakfast was served until 10am. I also told him very sarcastically that I was going to reccommed him for the West Midlands Tourism Awards for the great service we had been afforded! ( I think he got the message that we were really pi**ed off ).

We went back to our room and made a cup of tea before we set off with our tummies rumbling and I think he must have had a bit of a rethink!

In fairness he apologised and did not charge us for our meal we had had the previous evening so credit where credit is due. We left feeling that he had made a genuine effort to make amends.

If they could address this very silly rule I would stay again as the place itself is great value and they have some really good staff.

Do not let our experience put you off but do confirm what time you can get your breakfast!!.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cags1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    83
    39
    15
    8
See reviews for
38
117
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
515 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 936 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed on New Years Eve. Had a really good three course meal and then stayed overnight in very clean, decent room. Then had a great breakfast on New Years Day. Would highly recommend and we would certainly consider staying again.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed pretty good for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times but are sad to note that there had been some deterioration in care for customer comfort and satisfaction.
It is a lovely hotel, situated in a useful location for getting out and about in the area.
Rooms vary but are pleasant.
Sadly the last time we stayed we had no warmth of welcome or even a smile from any staff member, except the lady who does the cleaning.
The television did not work in our bedroom and a light in the bathroom wasn't working either. Our ground floor bedroom faced the carpark and there was no privacy from the window so we had to keep the curtains closed.
We were disappointed and intend to look elsewhere on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Visited with a group of friends for a meal and out of 10 of us everyone was pleased with their choice of meal. Served quickly, presented well and good value. Staff friendly and great choice of menu - will definitely go again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathandDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stopped off here en-route to South Wales from Cambridgeshire. We found the whole 'experience' to be 'value for money'. We had the Christmas special menu of £25 for 3 courses for 2 people. It wasn't the best food we have tasted, but neither was it the worst. We retired to our bedroom - wow how good was that? great facilities - it was just so right. Breakfast was good. we will come again!

My OTM buddy Ron Hill was spending the same weekend in Manchester -I just hope he had as good as time as we had!! over to you Ron.......

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Accommodation in Droitwich being pretty limited we thought we would give the Crown a try. The staff were friendly, room No1 was large, fairly well equiped, quiet and clean. The food menu was extensive and the food was good pub food standard and freshly cooked . It was also very good value especially with the two for one deal plus 20% off for residents. The cooked breakfast (other options were available) was included in the price and was good. The bar and restaurant area were well decorated and had a good atmosphere.The beers were very well kept and included Marston's, Banks's and a guest beer (Jennings The world's Biggest liar). I think the Crown is probably the best value accommodation in the immediate vicinity of Droitwich and we will certainly stay there again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Did not what to expect but were pleasantly surprised, on checking in the staff were friendly. Room was a good size, clean and warm, had everything we needed. Bathroom also clean and warm. In the morning we enjoyed a good breakfast, also served with a smile. Very good value.

Room Tip: Room 14 is situated at the end of the corridor, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wychbold
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5
1.5 mi away
Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Droitwich
Travelodge Droitwich
#2 of 4 in Droitwich
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
2.7 mi away
St Andrews Town Hotel
St Andrews Town Hotel
#3 of 4 in Droitwich
480 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grafton Manor
Grafton Manor
#7 of 8 in Bromsgrove
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown by Marston's Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown by Marston's Inns

Property: The Crown by Marston's Inns
Address: Worcester Road, Wychbold WR9 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Wychbold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wychbold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Crown by Marston's Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Droitwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing