We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything on the island is getting pricey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Mackinac

Fort Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historical site of the re-enactment of the fort's 1763 Indian capture and massacre.
Ada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Everything on the island is getting pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have been to the Fort several times before but our daughters must have been babies the last time we visited. It was informative and enjoyable but it seems like it is getting a little pricey at $12 each, same for the Island in general.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    901
    426
    77
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEST $ SPENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you visit Mackinac, you must go here!!! From the historic buildings, with great artifacts and information, to the non-stop events taking place on the parade lawn (rifle firing, music, etc), it is great family fun with a educational side. Our ages ranged from 12-66 and everyone had a great time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ame_Sanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A must for when you visit the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I've been coming to the island and the fort as long as I can remember. If you are on the island, especially if you were live in Michigan, you have to visit the fort. It's also great way to get kids interested in history.

There is a fee for the fort. If you by the Heritage Pass, you will get entrance to the Fort on the Island, some other historical houses on the island, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Mill Creek and Mackinaw Lighthouse in Mackinaw City.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gmerrill44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Save the $12”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Ok its beautiful, but it does not feel authentic. Just didn't feel like it took me back to that era. The reenactments were ok for little kids, your teenagers will be shaking their heads.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RBP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“A step back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This fort was a great portrayal of the soldiers' lives. There was a great kids' area of interactive fun. We saw rifle and cannon demonstrations too. The staff if friendly and informative.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank clabnk06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Mackinac also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Fort Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing