We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a pleasure experience from the get-go!”

The Grand Hotel Luncheon Buffet
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just a pleasure experience from the get-go!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just picture, walking up red-carpeted stairs onto a porch that is 660 feet in length. Turn around and see the most beautiful lake view property ever, America's Summer Place. Walk into the parlor of Grand Hotel and take a slight right down the hallway into the Main Dining Room of the hotel. Chandeliers line the room down the center that sits over 750 people. The staff seat guests from 12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.

The legendary Grand Luncheon Buffet is one of the highlights of the Grand Hotel experience. Garden-fresh salads, savory cheeses, slow-roasted meats, seafood and more than 20 varieties of fresh-baked pastries are all featured at the buffet. Grand Luncheon Buffet has been awarded a 2012 Certificate of Excellence by TripAdvisor.

Now keep in mind that there are dates when the buffet is high in volume with day-visiting guests and in-house guests. So call ahead and see when would be a good time for you to visit as individual guests or as a group. Group Discounts are available to motor-coach groups, family gatherings and military discounts - just ask for Victoria Leonard, myself and I can help you get the best rate for your guests.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    111
    73
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
columbus, ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth the Cost for One Time Experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We went to the Grand Hotel and paid the $10 entrance fee to the grounds. We walked around inside and sat on the porch before going to the main dining room for the lunch buffet. Yes, it is expensive ($40 per person), but you have to consider it a one time experience that is worth it. The waiter was prompt with our drinks and refills. Yes, it was crowded, but there was plenty of space to move around. The food selections were great, with many choices of meat, fish, poultry, side dishes, salads and desserts. The dining room is beautiful and a gorgeous view!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank audnlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“OMG! Do this!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

What an absolute treat to enjoy lunch at the Grand Hotel! Don't be scared off by the price! It is worth it. We spent almost the entire afternoon lunching, sitting on the famous porch, touring the hotel and gardens. The food was delicious. The dining room was beautiful. You don't have a dress code at lunch so it was perfect....plus, the $10 you pay to tour the property is deducted from the buffet price. Love it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lunchlandqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

What a character filled location. The buffet lunch was excellent value at $45, with a huge range for you to work your way through. Word of warning - wear an elasticated waistband! !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gaylee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Incredbly bad service”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I paid the $10 fee to wander around the public areas of the Grand Hotel.
We decided to have a snack lunch in the area next to Sadie's ice cream shop.
It was the worst service we have had in many years.
There was confusion about who had the job of getting us menus.
We ordered sandwiches, a coffee and a tea. We got the meal, and a bag of chips were thrown on our table.The coffee never came, so we asked again. Later, as we both had our mouths full, we were asked how we wanted the coffee and we said "with cream". It came, black.
The meal was OK and somewhat overpriced, as expected at a fancy location, but the service was not up to the standard of a roadside diner.
Later we had a similar lunch at the fort restaurant, which is also run by the Grand Hotel. The staff were all very well trained and very solicitous, and the view over the town and harbour was amazing, fully justifying the somewhat above average price.

Helpful?
1 Thank JOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grand Hotel Luncheon Buffet also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Grand Hotel Luncheon Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing