We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay View of Mackinac Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 14 Mackinac Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This place is in an exceptional location. It is just far enough away from all of the hustle and bustle of the center of town, yet is close enough that a short walk will get you anywhere on Main/Market Streets in less than 10-12 minutes! There is a wonderful sun deck that overlooks the harbor. It was our favorite spot in the place. Our second favorite spot was the front porch, beautifully decorated with gorgeous flowers in bloom and wonderfully comfy furniture to sit and watch the people go by. We ate our delicious breakfast outside on the side patio each morning and watched the boats come in/go out of the harbor. It was a fantastic way to start our day. Speaking of breakfast, Rosie & her team do an outstanding job with hot breakfasts (quiche, baked french toast, and filled eggs souffle), homemade cookies in the afternoon and dessert between 8 and 9 in the evening! And they do all that with smiles all around. This staff is exceptional and, even though our room was disappointing, we would stay here again because of them.

The room (see "tips" below) was very small and looked as though it needed a thorough cleaning (comforter, rug, drapes seemed like they hadn't been completely cleaned in a long time). The walls throughout the house needed to be painted (lots of scuffs and marks lined the walls). The broken bricks leading to the front door need to be replaced. The third floor staircase landing was filled with gnatty bugs that come in through the windows. This was quite disgusting and I had to see it every single time I went up to my room on the third floor. A quick wipe down of the window sill each morning would have done wonders for guest morale! Quite honestly, for the money you pay, I expected the place to be in much better shape. Further, the front desk staff was a bit sketchy too. Some were helpful, some were downright clueless. Luckily, we do not need a lot of assistance, so we were fine on our own, but had to do some research while we were there and that takes up our valuable time on vacation.

All in all, the location, the food and the sundeck/front porch would get us to come back, but only if we have a better (unfortunately this means more expensive, the master suite goes for $455 a night) and bigger room. Not sure if this place is worth $455 per night, I think they would have to do a LOT of spiffing up for me to fork over that kind of money for a room in this B and B!

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 304 or any of the smaller rooms on the third floor. You barely have enough room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gl0betr0tter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

Knowing that Mackinac Island had no vehicles, we wondered how problematic it would be to transport our suitcases to the hotel from the dock. There was no need to worry.  The ferry porters were waiting at the dock to get our bags, they gave us easy directions to the hotel, and we enjoyed a short 10 minute walk to the hotel.  The hotel is located on the bay and is lovely. It is close to the main street but far enough away to provide a retreat from the noise of restaurants, bars, and shops. An abundance of flowers fill the front garden and hanging flower baskets decorate the porch.  Becky greeted us warmly and quickly got us settled in our room.  Our room was very small but very cute and quite adequate for a two night stay.  The dining room had nice Victorian decor with a wall of windows looking out on the bay.  Chef Rose and Harold, our waiter, were happy, friendly, and wonderful!  Delicious cookies, warm from the oven, were served each afternoon, and a generous dessert was served every evening between 8:00 and 9:30.  We were served lemon cheesecake and strawberry shortcake with ice cream, respectively, on the two evenings we were there.  Yummy! Coffee and tea were always available, as well as muffins. A large breakfast was served each morning with great presentation.  The bed was comfortable but the pillows were not, so replacing them with fluffier, better quality ones would certainly add to an even better night's sleep.  Our time at Bay View was relaxing and we loved our experience with this hotel and its staff.

Room Tip: If you are staying more than a couple nights, I'd recommend a larger room. We stayed in 204 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaidMarion2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Love it! We have 2 days left and just love this place. Fairly priced for ALL of the value you get here. Ms. Rose is a phenominal cook and bakes breakfast...snacks and dessert from scratch every day. The help here smiles...wants to help and are a wonderdul asset to the Bay View.
Try the Bay View...you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrfairandtrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Excellent homemade desserts and breakfast. The ambiance and the hostess make everything worthwhile. You can't go wrong on Mackinac Island in general because of its serenity but Bay View was in a perfect location and was exactly what we were hoping for on our Honeymoon. Thank you Bay View!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We only stayed for one night. We found that this B&B badly needs renovation of all upholstery, carpet and curtains. The bathroom was very small, and the wahsbasin is in the room, with a shelf on top that makes its use nearly impossible. The sheets were clean, but very old, with stains. The bed is very soft.The room is very small too. We liked the idea of the dessert at night and the breakfast was decent. They kindly hold the baggage after check out. We wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EnSey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Everything you would expect from a B&B, and then some! The staff is hands down the friendliest group of people you will ever meet. We stayed the last weekend the island was "open" and we were treated so great even when most of the guests left on Sunday and everyone was closing down. It is a long season and everyone is usually ready to go home and say good bye to the tourists, but you would have never known that based on the hospitality and kindness from everyone at Bay View.
Our room was a beautiful, and comfortable suite with a kitchenette, and a nice living room area on the first floor. We were able to peek in at other rooms once everyone checked out and they were just as beautiful, but our suite was really roomy and had an outside entrance and balcony.
Every morning they serve a very nice breakfast in the dinning room that is sure to please. It isn't buffet style (thankfully), and is brought to your table. I was blown away, at the yumminess they created every morning. On our last morning, they made the very few of us that were left, blue berry pancakes with scrambled eggs, bacon and fruit. They serve their signature Bay View coffee (which is so delicious) all day, as well as cranberry muffins. At 3pm they set out warm cookies, and every evening delicious desserts! These are not just desserts...they are bowls of gooey, yummy, and mmmmmmm! The last evening was vanilla ice cream with caramel sauce and chocolate cake.
I must say that even though the rooms were clean and beautiful and the food was fantastic, the staff hands down were the reason for this review. Every time I've been to the island, I like to stay some place new, but because they were so wonderful, this will be my first choice every time. That doesn't mean I haven't been happy at the other hotels, but Bay View just adds that extra bit with the staff. They were so happy and ALWAYS greeted us with a smile, it just lifted us up and really made our visit over the top!

Room Tip: If more than 2, I suggest one of the suites over looking the lake. Best view is on the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gbortner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This was our first time on Mackinaw Island and the first time to stay at a Bed and Breakfast. Both were beyond our expectatons. The inn was well maintained, clean and nicely decorated. The big thing is the wonderful breakfast, afternoon cookie break and evening deserts. The staff were friendly and charming. At our opportunity we will certainly return here.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank CyndiI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,030 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,120 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View of Mackinac Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View of Mackinac Bed & Breakfast

Address: PO Box 448, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0448
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £72 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Bay View At Mackinac Island Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing